We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of an Era?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eugenia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Eugenia to your Saves list
The Eugenia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Soi Sukhumvit 31 | North Klongtan, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“End of an Era?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sadly what could be almost a perfect boutique hotel is fraying round the edges. The good news is that the staff are excellent, the food is good and value for money, the public areas are charming and there is a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool - sadly, overlooked by a block of flats but very pleasant as the sun starts to set. Our room could have been wonderful - full of period colonial ambience but now rather run down, poorly decorated, with lots of niggly things wrong including a/c which made you think you were sleeping beside a working jet engine!
Outside was a terrace with a broken lounger and not much else where we had to sit on our first night as the hotel was hosting a teenage party and we were told that there was nowhere else and by the way we couldn't have a meal either - not a good start.
Help may be at hand - the hotel has just appointed a new Manager who listened carefully to our comments and hopefully has enough about her to start sorting things out. So who knows ... it may turn into a new beginning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear JandPEngland,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment and for your generous praise of our staff, food, public areas and lovely courtyard!

Yes, the good news is that we are initiating a program of improvements for all the small items you mentioned and hoping that you will soon again be our honored return guest to enjoy the remedies and our friendly Colonial Era Tranquility in the heart of Bangkok.

Please feel free to contract me directly by e-mail if you have and more sage suggestions or questions—your input is most welcome! gm@theeugenia.com

The entire Eugenia team and I are eager to please and are looking to serving you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    41
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
89
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

6th time to Bangkok, so we decided to skip the big hotels and go "Boutique" A very enjoyable experience. 4 nights stay.This hotel is located in a more residential area, with upscale neighbourhood bars and restaurants within an easy stroll. But its still a bit of a walk down to Sukhumvit Rd. shopping & Sky train(20 minutes) and several times the taxi driver could not find it even with the instructions written in Thai! We stayed in the Eugenia suite, a very generous sized room. If your familiar with the company "Restauration Hardware" its just like their catalogue, but the real thing! You really get the feel of the old colonial days. A few negatives to mention. The holding clamp for the shower head was broken. When we reported this, the desk clerk shrugged and said just to take a bath! TV had limited channels, and the pool looked a bit dirty and unattended. Breakfast was great (Buttery Croissants & Eggs Benedict) and we had dinner one evening. A bit pricey, but worth every Baht.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Devon2325,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our Eugenia, particularly that it is real colonial with very generous sized room and that the food was great and worth every Baht.

Also, we appreciate your comments for improvement and action has been taken.

I and all our staff are always trying to make your visit feel like your comfortable home in The “City-o-Angles”. We hope that you will return soon and honor us with another visit.

Please, if you have any more comments or questions e-mail me personally at: gm@theeugenia.com

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights here and we simply love the place. Every nook and corner of the place is beautifully decorated and it just feels like home because it's so comfortable. It's about 20 mins walk to BTS but the good news is they provide free tuk-tuk ride. If all else fails, the butler will actually hail a cab for you. Service was superb and courteous with a smile.

Breakfast was amazing. You get to select based on the menu provided under different categories- healthy option, oriental etc. We chose egg benedicts, healthy oats, American breakfast and French toast with maple syrup during our stay. Every breakfast came with a set of fruits, yoghurt, croissant with butter and juice should you wish.

Room was spacious, four poster bed was comfortable and clean, came with welcome fruits, cookies and coke in the minibar. Nice touch.

The spa was good too! Another plus point.

A true colonial charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear jan1ce_csh,

You are you very much thanked for your kind words complementing The Eugenia’s superb and courteous service with a smile and amazing breakfasts.

The staff and I are always trying to pleasurefy our guests (whom we feel as special “family”) to the utmost.

We are hoping that you will soon return to us like a long-time guest, and we will have the honor or serving you again!

Kindly contact me directly by e-mail if desire more communication or have questions—will always be happified hearing from you! gm@theeugenia.com

The entire Eugenia “family” team and I are eager to please and are looking forward to serving you and your friends again soon!

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had not expected to love Bangkok so much but after spending 2 days and 2 nights at the delightful Eugenia Hotel I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised. The Hotel has an olde worlde charm that is simply fantastic. You would never know that you were staying in downtown Bangkok, such is the old fashioned, colonial influence in this hotel.

The rooms are just lovely. We are staying in the Sawasdee Suite - complete with 4 poster bed and claw foot bath and a gorgeous outdoor balcony area. The pool area does not get a lot of sun, so the pool is quite cold, but it is still a lovely place to sit for a pre-dinner drink.

Breakfasts have been very nice, substantial but not over the top. We will dine in the restaurant tonight - the menu looks to be delicious.

Staff at the Eugenia are wonderful and today arranged a tour of the Bangkok canals for us - they have been most helpful and accommodating during our stay.

I would not hesitate to recommend this quirky but delightful hotel to my friends and family - just far enough from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to all that is going on in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Sawasdee Suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear AussieTravellers264,

My staff and I thank you greatly for appreciating The Eugenia. We are all ways trying to please and when reading that we have helped you enjoy we are fulfilled.

Happified that you found The Eugenia, its staff, rooms, location, ambiance and food to exceed your anticipations. We are continually trying not only to exceed our guests’ expectations but continually improve.

Thank you also for saying that your will not hesitate to recommend our quirky but delightful hotel to your friends and family.

We are hoping that you now feel like a member of The Eugenia “Family” and will come back and stay with us again soon.

Please feel free to contact me personally on gm@theeugenia.com if you have any further comments, questions or suggestions for our even greater improvement.

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I just had a dinner in the restaurant. I tried some pasta, salad, as well as wine. Every tastes was excellent.
And I have to write about the very nice and warm atomosphire. It's like a gorgeous privete room! We could relax a lot as we were in my room. (maybe more than that!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ryo,

You are much thanked by me and our staff for your kind words about our restaurant and its “very nice and warm atmosphere” where “every tastes … excellent”.

Our chef’s pride and joy is pleasurefying your pallet with exciting cuisine.

Yes, your comment about our restaurant being a “gorgeous private room” is exactly what the staff and I strive to create because each of our guests in our restaurant and hotel are special and deserve their own special place in the hustle wondrous Bangkok.

Kindly know that you are our special guest and are welcome again to visit us and enjoy our tasty dishes, special wines and tranquility often.

Please feel free to contact me on gm@theeugenia.com if you have any further comments, questions or special requests—for example a private party for you and your friends.

Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice hotel, feels like 'home'. Good atmosphere, nice rooms, very friendly, good food, very good spa with massage.
Michel, the manager, is very friendly and helpful with tourist information.
Lots of nice restaurants near the hotel.
Monorail nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, General Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Linda K,

Your kindness in commenting so positively on your stay is very much appreciated—Thank You!

All the staff thinks of our esteemed guests as family and strives to please as if you are visiting “home” on a special occasion.

The spa is particularly attentive to please all our patrons with famed authentic Thai massage.

Please feel free to contact me on gm@theeugenia.com if you have any further comments or questions. You will always be WelComed “home” again in The Eugenia Hotel & Spa!


Warmest regards,

Olga Kovshanova,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spend 5 days here in februari of 2013. Hands down one of the most relaxt and ambiatic hotels I have ever visited. The Cononial interior is extraordinarily well sought together and feels like it has been there forever, even though the hotel is just short of a decade old.
The staff is really nice and very friendly. It is a magnificent environment to work in, so I can only imagine were their ethic comes from.
The in house spa is worth visiting. A most refreshing Thai massage after a long trip was soothing and very welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia-HM, Manager at The Eugenia, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear tgeraedts,

Thank you for taking your time to write such an amazing review of our hotel.
We indeed want to transport anyone back in time to the era of the olden generation and colonial times the moment the person walks through our door. I am happy to know our decor and theme is successful.

I have encouraged my team and the Spa team with your kind words to keep up their good work in assisting our valued guest as much as we can.

Thank you once again and please do not hesitate to contact me at am@theeugenia.com should you come to Bangkok again.

Till then, take care and send our well wishes to the entire crew.

Best regards,

Michiel
Assistant Manager
The Eugenia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Eugenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eugenia

Address: 267 Soi Sukhumvit 31 | North Klongtan, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#75 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#162 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Eugenia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Charming Embodiment of Fine Living" " The Eugenia ", an old world style architectural beauty, is embodied in a late 19th century colonial-style house, charmingly decorated and tastefully furnished by its owner in the heart of down town Bangkok for travellers with refined taste who seek to enjoy more than a touch of the Fabled East.Each of the 12-suites of The Eugenia is appointed with antique furniture and fittings. The four-posted beds, settees, dressers and desks in the suites are of various vintage as are light switches and light fittings; they bring you back perhaps eighty or a hundred years, or more. The period decoration even extends to the bathtubs that were made of hand - beaten copper and aluminium-alloy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Eugenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eugenia Hotel Bangkok
Eugenia Bangkok
Eugenia Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eugenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.