We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of the way, great beers, eclectic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mikkeller Bangkok

Mikkeller Bangkok
26 Ekkamai 10 Yaek 2 | Phra Khanong Nuea, Watthana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+66 2 381 9891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 7,185 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Pub, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: 30 rotating draft taps and dozens of bottles from the best brewers in the world. We carry beers from all over the world and continuously bring in new, innovative creations, many of which are exclusive to Mikkeller Bangkok and cannot be found elsewhere in Asia. We also carry spirits, meads, ciders and juices and frequently host tap takeovers and pop-up dinners, making every visit a unique experience that redefines the norm and pushes the boundaries of the craft. All prices are inclusive of tax and no mandatory service charge is added!
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“out of the way, great beers, eclectic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I loved this place. It is a little pricey, but the beers are excellent, mostly European. The food was brought in from other restaurants and was a great mix of odds, ends and good things. Owner (the one I met) was very cool. Great atmosphere, cool crowd.

If you don't know Thai well, you'll probably want to have your driver drop you off near Ekamai 10 and use google to walk your way in. It's not far. A friend with us peaks decent Thai and our driver thought we were nuts until we actually saw the place.

Either way - highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best of the best of the best Sir, with honors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Best beer, english speeking staf and taps that go to heaven (30). Interior is very scandinavic and if it is hot you can sit outside on fatboys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best bar in Bangkok (and Thailand, and Asia)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bangkok has always been bereft of excellent beer until very recently. Belgian ales began trickling in, followed by a few American craft beers (Rogue, Anderson Valley) and then, the Big Kahuna rolled into town - Mikkeler. The 30 taps overwhelm all other bars not just by sheer number, but by the breadth, depth and quality of beer. For anyone with taste buds (who knows how to use them), there's no other choice. The Thai and English speaking staff are incredibly knowledgable and are happy to help you explore the wonderful world of craft beer. Mikkeler is tucked away in a quiet and serene area of Bangkok off the main drag Sukhumvit Rd. The best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great Selection of Great Beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Gypsy brewer's hangout place in Bangkok is quite hard to find but well worth the trip. This is more of a sophisticated brewpub than anything else. Think about it as winebar but you drink beer.The food menu was quite limited and nothing really stood out. Back to the beer - about 30 brews on tap - not only Mikkeller's own beer but well sought out craft beers from around the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunei
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beer paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great place to hang for beer lovers. Lots of craft beer to choose from on tap or bottle. Nice quiet area and great place for conversing with friends. Nice bright decor. Food menu was not appealing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justinbkk, Owner at Mikkeller Bangkok, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hey Junjin,

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to offer the most amazing and unique beers and follow a strong international brand. As such we purposely keep the food menu to a minimum to maintain our focus, however the food we do offer (i.e. platters, sandwiches and desserts) is very high quality and selected to complement beer very well. For example, the New York cheesecake is served with a porter reduction and lambic infused raspberry sauce and pairs exceptionally well with a heavy dark beer. Likewise, the chiliwurtzerl or spicy meatballs have the perfect amount of spice to balance well with a hoppy IPA. Our selection of cold cuts, cheeses, olives, stuffed peppers, breads and dips come from the best suppliers and we are frequently complimented on their quality. I personally find the pulled pork and smoked salmon sandwiches served on daily baked charcoal buns to be amazing. I apologise if you found the limited selection unappealing, but a full food menu at a beer centric place such as ours was never our intention.

Keep craft alive!



We also do pop-ups that feature local food artisans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikkeller Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Mikkeller Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikkeller Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.