We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bangkok Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Mansion to your Saves list
Shanghai Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Bangkok Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Shanghai Mansion is in the heart of Bangkok's Chinatown. It never fails to please. Stepping out of the colors, smells and sounds of Bangkok I entered the calm, quiet and sophistication of Shanghai Mansion. The reception is friendly and helpful, the rooms are fun and comfortable and the atrium and balcony areas are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    437
    104
    35
    15
See reviews for
103
725
108
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Totally loved this hotel. The rooms were an oasis in the middle of the chaos of China Town. Our standard room was wonderful, simply cannot beat the price. We would have paid twice as much. The hotel was beautiful. If I had anythng negative thing to say, it would be the service in the restaurant. The staff were very nice and polite. However, once we received our food, it was difficult to get follow on drinks. The hotel had a great lounge with a wonderful blues/jazz band. Highly recommend this hotel and the great price was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is an excellent Bangkok hotel in the heart of Chinatown. For the money, it's the best boutique hotel I've stayed at. Fantastic decor, quiet rooms, and very professional staff. Best of all, there is an amazing street food scene just steps outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pictures don't do justice to this charming and alluring hotel in the heart of Chinatown. The hotel unfolds itself beautifully like the blooming of a flower with well-thought details from the lobby all the way to the bedroom. Every nook and turn is a surprise and it keeps you wanting to unfold its secrets. I regretted staying here with my girlfriend here only for a night as it was such a memorable experience!

Usually the location would be a huge consideration for me as there was no train services or airport links nearby and it was about 20 mins ride away from the city centre. But the hotel made up the shortfall by offering free tuk-tuk services to guests at designated timings. What was missing was also an indoor pool to indulge in the beautiful ambience.

Breakfast buffet was superb with its delectable and authentic spreads. Guest officers were also warm and welcoming, ready to answer queries and to engage in casual conversations. Thank you for this memorable, beautiful experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon on the first leg of our honeymoon and were welcomed with a big smiles from all the staff to showed us to reception, checked us in, took us to our room.

We were given an upgrade also which was wonderful our room was amazing and I wouldn't doubt there being any problems with any rooms in this hotel.

The décor is great, the hotel is clean and fresh and cool which is needed in Bangkok.

We ate in the hotel our first night and the restaurant is well priced for a hotel but is obviously more expensive than the street food stalls but the quality was very high and the service yet again brilliant.

Breakfast is great a wide selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, breads, buns, hot and cold food along with a hot plate were eggs are cooked fresh if you wish.

The staff are brilliant very helpful with anything you ask and we would choose to stay in this hotel again if we were to stay in Bangkok in future.

Thank you to all for making our first two honeymoon nights very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a wonderful hidden gem in Bangkok. It is in Chinatown which is a lively neighborhood with so much choice for dining (mostly on the street but the quality is so good it hardly matters).

When you arrive at the hotel you don't know what to expect. The entrance with a small bar area seems out of place as does the escalator. However, when you take the escalator up to the lobby area you are immediately immersed in serenity. A cold cloth and a refreshing drink are a wonderful touch.

After the check in procedure you are taken to your room and this is the first view you have of the tasteful atrium and lighting.

On arriving in your room it is a mix of trendy and traditional. A wooden four poster bed, lacquered closets but a modern sink and bathroom. The bed is comfortable nice linens and pillows. The shower is hot and the towels fluffy. There is drinking water provided and free snacks in the fridge which is a nice touch. The air conditioning works well and is not overly noisy.

Breakfast is a mix of Asian and western food and of good quality. It is buffet style and was included in our room rate. The bar on the ground floor is a nice place to have a cold beer after a long day sight-seeing.

All the staff is very friendly and helpful. They truly know what the word "service" means here.

If you are looking for something that is not a big hotel in the central business district of Bangkok the Shanghai Mansion is a wonderful alternative

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This chic boutique style hotel is fantastic. The staff are super friendly and attentive, the rooms are beautifully decorated, very big comfortable bed. We booked a garden suite it had a huge beautiful bath which was a great way to relax after running around Bangkok sights. The court yard is stunning beautifully lit up with colourful lanterns. Ideally located at the start of Chinatown madness, easy guide taxis to...

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the suite well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#60 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Boutique Hotel is the winner of "Best Value Hotel in Asia and Australia" in 2010 by London Sunday Times Travel Magazine. Shanghai Mansion celebrates the romance of 1930's Shanghai in the center of Bangkok. All guest rooms are uniquely designed in a very chic Chinese style with great attention to detail to provide a most distinctive experience. Cotton Jazz Bar features live Jazz nightly and Mian Hua restaurant features delicious Chinese food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shanghai Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.