We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drop Inn Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Drop Inn Bangkok to your Saves list
Drop Inn Bangkok
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   392/28-31 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If all you are after is a clean room in the right location with free wifi and is fairly cheap then this is it. A super little place where we spent a wonderful 3 nights. I think the sign of a good place is whether you would use it again and I certainly would.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DropInnBangkok, Owner at Drop Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Simon K.

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a hotel review and I am sorry if my response arrives quite late. We really appreciate your kind comments and your feed backs about Drop Inn Bangkok, it will definitely motivate us to improve more. Please feel free to send message to us anytime if you have any more complaints or comments. Have a nice day.

Kind regards,

Laura Salamone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
22
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very hard to communicate with the staff who only spoke a litle bit of english. Instead of accepting this the staff misguided us on several occasions. The breakfast was terrible. Located at small street with several ladies bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DropInnBangkok, Owner at Drop Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Daniel S,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a hotel review. We are sincerely sorry that you did not have a great time at our hotel and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused and difficulties you had encountered especially with communication. We will surely take your complaints and study them to improve our hotel.

Best regards,

Laura Salamone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Located about 50m down a quiet street just pass soi 18. A 5-7 minute walk to both the metro and skytrain as well as the Terminal 21 shopping mall (which has a great food court). This area is a great improvement over the Kao San Street "backpacker/white tourist" ghetto. Lovely lobby with computer available (free) and of course WIFI in room. Super nice staff with good English skills. Great rooms with huge windows for morning sun. Very pleasant breakfast. This ones a keeper! When back in Bangkok will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with morning sun...wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DropInnBangkok, Owner at Drop Inn Bangkok, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a hotel review, we really appreciate your kind comments for us and they will surely motivate us to do even better in the future. Please feel free to leave us any comment or complaints anytime.

Kind regards,

Laura Salamone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

this is not a flash, new hotel. it's worn on the edges, but it's clean, quiet, and the juliet balcony lets in a lot of light. the dining area is nice, the breakfast was nothing special but sufficient (they had bacon!) as hotel breakfasts tend to be.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The room was ok, small problem with the drains. Restaurant staff very polite especially at breakfast. Also lift seemed to be broken and one of the reception staff was a touch too familiar.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I was travellinhg from Beijing to BKK and couldn't find anything better online. I was looking for somewhere decent but definitely not expensive. It's not that the budget is tight. I really don't like paying 1st world prices for 3rd world accommodation

I know it's not The Drop Inn's problem but it's really not well known. I landed at Suvarnabhumi after 7pm and got the Skytrain into the city and got the taxi from Makassan. The driver passed it on the left and drove on down the road, turned 360 at the end and back up. Stopped to ask a security (actually my little honey did the asking) guard who said "no drop in here". I had to insist on him driving on up the road and spotted the sign on the left. It's directly opposite the sports bar down a lane.

I was expecting the wall of chill when I entered the lobby but they don't have the AC on in the lobby area. They hadn't got the booking details from Agoda when I got there so check in was somewhat delayed. The staff were very good, I know I can be a difficult customer and I feel they handled me well. They had room so there really wasn't a problem and we got up to our room on the front of the building. The room was clean and comfortable. the double bed was in fact 2 singles put together so when I cuddled in behind her I was lying on the divide and somewhat uncomfortable.

Breakfast was "included" but I went down on my own (for the second time in 12 hours) to the dining area off the lobby. Again no AC but the brekkie was ok. The bacon was all streaky, the eggs were all sunny side up and raw on the top side (no problem flipping them on the pan) and the sausages looked raw and pasty but tasted pretty good. All you can eat cereal and toast and coffee and whatever fry up you want.

The location is quiet and still convenient. I found the sports bar at the top of the lane and was able to watch Green Bay play San Diego in a real thriller (Nov 2011) and the action in BKK is a couple of Skytrain stops to the east at Nana.

I had booked it because I couldn't find anything betterbut I was staying in Thailand for 3 weeks. I asked them for a price for another week and the said to get back onto Agoda. No authority to negotiate there and then. Their loss. I'm in the Grand Inn BKK now. See my report after the weekend.


So the place is OK but not really great value, but then their job is to get as much as they can out of us and our job is the get the best value we can.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Good price for the location near BTS. It's simply, clean and very comfortable. We got softly service from lovely staffs as we're at home. The breakfast's delicious and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drop Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Inn Bangkok

Address: 392/28-31 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drop Inn Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Sukhumvit soi 20, at few minutes walking distance from the Asoke subway and skytrain station and Prompong as well as the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center. The hotel is located in a tranquil street at only 50 meters from the lively Sukhumvit road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Drop Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drop Inn Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.