We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pantip Suites has seen better days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pantip Court Serviced Residence

Save Saved
You added Pantip Court Serviced Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pantip Court Serviced Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 South Sathorn 1 Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
San rafael, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pantip Suites has seen better days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place was formally called Pantip Court Residence and is now called Pantip Suites.
We are staying here because we are traveling with an american tour company (OAT), that pretty much uses this hotel exclusively when traveling in Thailand and through southeast asia with stop overs in Bangkok. On our own, we definitely would not choose this hotel.

When we first got here we were set up in a room (804) on the 8th floor. Yes, the room is very spacious. It's like a one bedroom apartment with a large living/dining room area and a small kitchenette area. This room and another room I saw on the same floor, and likely all the rooms on this and many other floors were old, dated,tired looking and run down. The carpeting everywhere in the unit was old, dirty and stained everywhere. The walls were dirty and stained as well. The kitchenette, living/dining room and bedroom areas were all in desperate need of updating. The bed(s) itself, was the only thing that was tolerable. The worst part of the unit was the bathroom. There was mold and mildew everywhere, in particular the shower and tub areas. I suppose it's a difficult area to maintain due to the high humidity, but still, disgusting.

We quickly requested a room change and pretty much knew before hand that it would likely happen from reading the tripadvisor reviews. The room change to the more renovated rooms on the lower levels were available the next day. There was an upgrade fee of 1,000 baht per day at the time of this writing. The public living areas in these rooms were updated with dark wood like floors and newer more modern furniture and decorations with an updated kitchenette and 2 flat screen TV's. The bedroom still had old tired dirty carpeting but not as bad as the ones in the upper floor rooms. The horrible thing is, no matter where we were, renovated or not, the bathroom and shower floors were still black with mold and mildew. They let us choose between 2 rooms that were available and both bath and showers were the same with the mold. The upgrade was still worthwhile.

Sadly, the room was given to us reported as cleaned but when we walked in, the carpeting was not vacuumed and the bathroom floor was not cleaned because we found toilet paper scraps on the floor and hair and shoe prints all over the floor as well. The housekeeping staff is not up to par here but the front desk and dining/breakfast room staff are efficient and attentive.

How Tripadvisor gave this facility a 4 star review in 2012 is beyond me. OAT needs to revamp this hotel or their
choice of hotels here in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Higher floors have very old dated rooms and the newer renovated rooms are on floors two and three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    141
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
95
74
38
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at the Pantip Court for 4 nights in February 2013 in an 'executive level' room (for which we paid a bit more but only means that you are on floors 20-26: the rooms are exactly the same and there is no private lounge) in this faded residential apartment building / hotel.

The Upside:

Location. I can't get my head around another reviewer's negative comments that this hotel is located 'off an alley' and that his taxi driver couldn't find it... Actually, Sathon Soi 1 is a very well known road and any taxi driver who knows BKK, knows Sathon. Most addresses in the city are located on a SOI (alleyway) off a major road.

Walking distance from Lumphini Park.

Free shuttle service to the Lumphini Metro station and BTS Sala Daeng station. Used this repeatedly.

Extremely friendly and funny staff at the front desk. The petite older woman who appears to be in charge was utterly professional and charming, she solved a few room problems for us with a smile.

Big Suites. Our one bedroom apartment was really massive with an amazing view from the balcony. Loved the size and space to spread out. Would be ideal for a family as there is ample space and heaps of storage. Also great for a longer stay.

The gym and health club is bigger than most, attentively staffed and very clean. Massive private garden and pool area.

now the downside...

This place is wayyyyy past it's prime. DO NOT come here looking a pristine, sanitized chain hotel or you will be very disappointed: not for this price. Once you get past the lobby, you'll see there are big flaws with this hotel... it is really showing it's age. Everything in the room seemed to be clean but very worn out. We received fresh bathrobes and bright white sheets and towels everyday from housekeeping that were visibly thin and worn around the edges. The beds, sofas, chairs and kitchen fixtures are chipped and knackered and very out of style... but not in anyway dirty or disgusting. The televisions are circa 1991, but they work fine. I am guessing that they built this place in the mid-1980's?? and fitted it out with the best of everything... then never replaced anything. The breakfast is pretty dismal.

I WOULD NOT recommend the Pantip Court for: those that are freaked out by worn, stained carpets and 1980's style furnishings and fixtures

I WOULD recommend this Pantip Court for: families with children looking for lots of space or young couples who have been 'roughing it' on the islands for three weeks and need a bit of inexpensive apartment-style living in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Superb, value for money, have been to Bangkok 4 times and always chosen this property, have taken a 2 bedroom apartment, staff is very friendly and helpful, cleanliness this time was not up to the mark, but overall awesome place to stay, will definitely repeat if I go to Bangkok again.

Room Tip: Suggest to take a room on higher floors and pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came with Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) which mainly uses lower cost three star hotels with decent locations. This was the reverse in that the location was not great but the rooms were above average. We stayed here twice for one night each time on the way to and from Vietnam and Cambodia. The first time the room was a really large two bedroom suite that seemed aged. The second time was a smaller one bedroom that had been renovated and was very nice. Decent buffet breakfast. Not much in the neighborhood but one good restaurant across the street.

Room Tip: try and get renovated rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights recently before meet up with my group members on a OAT tour going to Vietnam. The hotel lease a lot to be desired when it comes to cleanliness. You get this large apartment which you think would be great but when you start looking, the caulking around the tub is black, the dust lays in portions of the room, and worse all of the ventilation ducts look really bad, as if they were moldly and never cleaned. OAT will have to change the hotel before they are going to make any changes to the property because they obviously are the largest customer. When you look at the breakfast room in the morning it is a who's who of the different tours kicking off there. I will have to stay there one more night when I get back from Siem Reap, Cambodia but that it, no more laying in bed wondering if I,am breathing in that stuff on the ventilation ducks. breakfast is ok, public areas great, location doesn't matter, taxis are so cheap

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I think that this was originally set up for long-term stays. There are mail boxes in the lobby for each room. The rooms are about 1,000 ft. sq.

While there are some rooms that have been remodeled, the majority of the rooms haven't. I stayed there coming and going from Bangkok. It is located off of an alley. Even the taxi driver couldn't find it and had to stop and ask other drivers where it was.

Let me give you the good news--nice pool.

Now the bad news. My first room had black mold all around the tub/shower area and the mold ran up the wall. The grout was black with mold. The shower curtain didn't stretch all the way, so you had water on the floor. On top of that, it was moldy brown at the bottom. The carpeting hadn't been changed in 10 years and was soiled and moldy as well.

The second room that I had, had less mold (it was still present). However, you have to push in a button to get the water to go from filling the tub to operating the shower. It wouldn't stay in, so you had to bend over and keep it pushed in while the water poured on your head. The bathroom had five lights over the sink. Three of them were burned out and one was missing. I finally got one of the remodeled rooms that had a new shower.

Also, when you walk out of the room in the morning, you walk into darkness. None of the hallway lights are on except for the exit light.

This hotel would be closed by the US Board of Health.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, check your bathroom out first and insist on a remodeled room with a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been staying here for 4 nights and will return in a few weeks . Rooms are extremely large and comfortable-is furniture and carpet a bit dated - yes, but price is right, the hotel staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful, -maids, restaurant staff,front desk and bellmen/doormen are terrific. There is also a lovely garden area and huge poo. Large balconys overlook the skyline of Bangkok...Only suggestion would to put some chairs and a table on the balancy, as its a shame not to use it, As others have said taxis are very cheap in Bangkok so it's easy to get around. As has been suggeted by others, Mali restaurant down the street is certainly worth a visit, good food both Western and Thai and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantip Court Serviced Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantip Court Serviced Residence

Address: 68 South Sathorn 1 Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#168 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantip Court Serviced Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bangkok's prime business district of Sathorn Road, Pantip Suites Executive Residence combines the convenience of home with the luxury of a five-star hotel - all within a short distance from the Bangkok's premier office buildings, embassies, entertainment, and shopping zones. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Pantip Suites is also close to Lumpini Park, the largest park in the central business district of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Pantip Court Serviced Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantip Court Serviced Residence Hotel Bangkok
Pantip Court Serviced Residence Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantip Court Serviced Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.