We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with good facilities amd services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Moc to your Saves list
Hotel De Moc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with good facilities amd services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and were very impressed. The rooms are large and nice, the pool very refreshing and there's a free shuttle (tuk tuk/minivan) to Khoa san Road). Rooms in Bangkok are more expensive than elsewhere in Thailand but this place compared extremely favourably to the slightly cheaper place we had pre-booked near Khoa san Road for the last night of our trip. Breakfast was ok and 1 evening we eat at the 'Beer Garden' hotel restaurant which was excellent food but we got a nasty shock when they added on a 10% service charge and 7% VAT at the end - everywhere else we went in Thailand (apart from 1) the tax was included and the service charge ie tip, was optional. The only other problem we had was the taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was, despite us giving them the address and showing them on a map!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Katrina721,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc beside the beautiful temple, Wat Tritosathep. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and comment on your recent stay with us.

We are sorry if you were surprised after receiving your bill at Thai Wah Restaurant. All correctly registered restaurants under Thai law must charge a 7% VAT charge on all food and beverage items.

It is also the case that most restaurant’s will charge a 10% service charge, the only places where this would not happen are the smaller family run Thai restaurants. Some restaurants choose to work the service charge into the menu price and other places will add it on to the bill at the end.

In the case of the Hotel De Moc we are very clear, every page on all our menus clearly states that these prices do not include VAT and Service Charge. Our prices are very clear and transparent and we are certainly not trying to overcharge our valued guests.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our hotel and hope you will consider returning again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    194
    85
    32
    20
See reviews for
35
124
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Able to walk to markets/nightlife - this hotel is in the old part of Bangkok. Had to catch a cab into the city to visit friends and in peak hour took just over an hour. Pool was nice and deep. Beer garden to relax external to the main hotel. Lift parallel to front door smelt quite strongly of bleach (ended up only taking the stairs- difficult sometimes in heels :D). Overall presentation of rooms was pretty good for price range of tour we were on

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear CM Simo,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc during your recent holiday to Thailand. It was a pleasure to be able to welcome you and your tour group to our hotel.

We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel’s outside swimming pool and our relaxing beer garden.

We hope you will choose our hotel again the next time you are in Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

First impression of hotel is very impressive. Retro 60s style hotel.Staff was very cooperative & friendly.Rooms are neat & clean.
Location is also very good,near to khosan road.Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Aniket S,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at our hotel in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ in Bangkok.

We were delighted to learn you had such an enjoyable stay and made the most of everything our hotel has to offer. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff’s high level of customer service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel De Moc.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights here and the room was spacious and clean. The food at the restaurant was excellent, both breakfast, lunch and dinner offered a wide range of delicious food. Location wise the hotel is in a good central position within walking distance to some of the attractions such as the metal palace and the golden mount. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear John 4017,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We are delighted to learn you had an enjoyable stay here and particularly liked the food offered during our breakfast buffet and the Tai Wah Restaurant.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Shabby hotel iin a shabby area Staff [reception staff especially] were rude on arrival and demanded I pay for 3 nights up front - I had booked on Booking.Com where the norm is to pay on leaving, I broke a cup in my room and was suitably chastised and had to pay 100 baht fine! Drab swimming pool and dirty bathroom. Some reiewers on Booking.com reported cockroaches and I could see why. There are simply better options nearer Khao San Rd. All of the hotels we have stayed at on our month long trip in Thailand have been very good and I do not complain easily but at 64 years old I find rudeness unacceptable. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid Hotel DeMoc better options nearer Khao San
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Eyewitness 26,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor. Our whole team is disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

The Buddy Group takes constructive feedback such as this very seriously. The incidents detailed above, as well as the unprofessional service from our team were obvious shortfalls on our side and we wish to reassure all future guests that these areas are already being addressed to prevent any future re-occurrences.

Please may we take this opportunity to respond to some of the points raised.

Firstly, the Hotel De Moc is an old building, not a shabby building and this hotel has been active in Bangkok for over 60 years. The current management took over the premises in 2009 and we have worked hard to renovate and upgrade the overall hotel experience. We feel the hotel now reflects a real feel of the 1960’s with plenty of charm and character.

Equally, the surrounding area is right at the heart of the historical ‘Old Quarter’ of Bangkok and our location is close to a number of key tourist sites such as The Grand Palace, Democracy Monument & Wat Pho.

Secondly, we are sorry if you felt our Reception Staff were inhospitable when you first arrived at our hotel. Your comment has been passed to our Front Office Manager, who will work with our staff to provide a higher level of customer care when they are checking-in new guests.

At the Hotel De Moc it is part of our check-in policy that all rooms are paid in full when the guest’s first arrive at the hotel. We understand that this might not be the case at every Thai hotel, but this policy is practiced throughout all 6 hotel’s which make up the Buddy Group.

Thirdly, it is a common hotel policy that any damage or breakages to hotel items is the responsibility of the guest who caused the damage. We understand that in this case it was ‘only’ a cup in your room, but the principle remains the same, this item would need to be replaced and the hotel has the right to recover this money from the guest.

We are sorry that Eyewitness 26 had such an unpleasant stay at our hotel, but we would like to reassure all future guests that the incidents described in this review are not the norm and most of our guests have both an enjoyable and relaxing time at our hotel.

Yours Sincerely

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at hotel De Moc and enjoyed the stay. Our room was big and had views of the pool and a temple. Staff was very friendly and helpful at all occasions. Breakfast was fine. There are certainly more central locations to stay at in Bangkok but this hotel is in a nice area and major sights are not far away by taxi or tuk tuk. Can recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Ferris XL,

Thank you for staying at our retro 60’s style hotel in Bangkok and for writing a review of your time there on the internet.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here and hope you will choose the Hotel De Moc again the next time you visit Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

well run. even had a king size bed by US standards. had no problem finding it. can be booked easily with Khiri tours. I just got back and was quite impressed. no city noise either. temple is across the street. great freshwater pool with a quite reasonable thai massage.(she did a amazing job) . its not offered as deluxe hotel but is quite nice. good walking location for tourism. I was coming from Chicago and after 2 days flying, was able to get a pick up at the airport. definably I would go back to this one. good breakfast also.

Room Tip: if you don't like the first room, ask for another one. they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Susan-travel priories,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc as part of your Khiri tour around Thailand. The whole team here are very pleased to read you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and it is also good to know you had a very enjoyable, professional massage from our Spa team.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review of your stay and hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Moc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.