We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Khaosan Inn

Save Saved
You added Sawasdee Khaosan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sawasdee Khaosan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Chakapong Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #638 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money.

We had a problem in our shower and aircon. We complained and the staff gave us another room right away.

The breakfast is ok (not great).

I would stay here again.

Perfect to explore the city and have a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Joao C
Thank you to stayed with us and your value reviewed , first of all i 'm so sorry for the facilities problem that made you feel inconvenience . I hope for your next visit will be everything going smoothly .
See you soon
Best regards,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    36
    48
    28
    29
See reviews for
7
31
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two weeks ago and woke up at 4am covered in large bed bugs! I informed the reception staff and they did not seem surprised at all or apologise. I can't be certain but I think they sold the room again the next day! Better, cheaper hotels available in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Globelcruise

First of all , I have to say sorry for that issue . As we have monthly fumigated about Bed bug killer which didn't get report for long time already . By the way , Thank you for your comments and so I have to check deeply which room happened and will get rid of them soonest .

I hope to see you again and hope you will see our improvement .

Best Regards,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very simple. The room is not too nice. Old furniture , smell a little. They even provide condom in the room for 'emergency'. But quite clean but very very small toilet.

I like the free wifi in the room. Best thing about the hotel is the location. Minutes away from grand palace and Wat Pho.

Dont take tuk tuk to the palace, not worth the ridiculous price that they offer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Rabiatul
Than k you to stayed with us and your value comments which I can be take to present our team to improvement higher level of their duty . Sorry for TUK TUK outside is out of our control , for more safety and saving your budget , TUK TUK or taxi who drive pass by is more honest than TUK and Taxi who stop by . And also hotel staff can give you a bit trick to avoid or suggest the way of right thing .

I hope you can enjoy crazy wired experience of Thailand and hope to see you again soon in our place .

Best Regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there only one night in a triple with two friends. The location was great and easy to find. Room was ok but bathroom very small. My friend complained about noise all night. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Andy 7780
Thank you to stay with us and like our hotel . Just have say sorry for the noise from roof top neighborhood BAR that's really annoying us too , BTW, this without our control so i hope you all guys will understand .

Hope to see you again in nearly future for BKK Trip

Kind regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa de Calamuchita, Argentina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends when we first arrived in Bangkok. The location is excellent and close to the famous Khoasan street and other attractions. The room was very small, fitted with a TV and shower. It was clean but didn`t look anything like the photos on their website. The staff at the reception and restaurant was not very friendly. I have also noticed places at the door where you can hang your own lock. It gave me the impression that they had problems with security. I placed a lock at my door and didn`t ask to have my room cleaned. Breakfast was good. My friends complained about noise all night. Their room faced the street and there are many nightclubs so noise could be a problem if you are looking for a good night`s sleep. Good value for money,great location and ideal for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Lock your room if you want extra piece of mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Nelmi

Thank you for nicely review and i have to say you 're being observant in detail . Please don't worry for secure problem since we have CCTV on floor and monitor is all time present to security guard down stair .
Sorry for noise form neighborhood night club but it every where on this area is too much party . If you don;t mind i willing to having you here again when your next visit BKK .

Best Regards,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place certainly isn't the Ritz, however it serves it's purpose if all you are looking for is a room for the night. Room was small which didn't really bother me and it didn't look anything like the nice photos on the website! Close to Khao San but far enough to avoid the noise.Stayed here for one night with no problems to speak of. Good place for a no-frills traveler. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the tuk-tuk drivers outside. They won't take you anywhere for 10 baht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mike

Thank you to stay with us previously and will stay again . Sorry for our room a bit too small but we can provide you a good service , Value price , I hope all times of your stay would be smoothly and still convenience for you .

See you soon and have a nice day .

Best Regards
Pittayakom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

location was great! there was a group of 7 of us so we had a triple room and two double rooms the double rooms were way to small the triple room had a lot more space. you have to go down an alley way to get to this hotel so made it a bit hard to find. witnessed two drunken middle aged men dragged in here by two thai prostitutes. wouldn't stay here again but it wasn't awful and the staff were friendly and helped organised airport transfer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawasdeeHotels, General Manager at Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Galface

Thank you to stayed with us and wrote review to us . Sawasdee Khaosan Inn is actually situated on the main road find us . By the way , sorry that you met the crazy things that not really good impression for our hotel / country image .
I hope you can change your mind sometime and returning to our hotel in case if you still like our staff and our triple bed room .

Best Regards ,
Pittayakom Y
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawasdee Khaosan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Khaosan Inn

Address: 18 Chakapong Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sawasdee Khaosan Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Banglumphu Market and the National Museum, Sawasdee Khaosan Inn offers brightly furnished budget accommodation. It offers free Wi-Fi throughout the residence, shops and a restaurant.Sawasdee Khaosan Inn is 3.5 km from Chinatown and 1 km from the Grand Palace. Suvarnabhumi International Airport is 35 km from the hotel.Air-conditioned rooms are fitted with cable TV and a telephone. A refrigerator and minibar are provided for guests’ convenience. The private bathroom has hot/cold shower facilities and amenities.Season Bar and Restaurant offers a range of Thai and Western dishes. There are also numerous dining options within walking distance of the hotel, along Khao San Road ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sawasdee Khaosan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Khaosan Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Khaosan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.