We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A river runs by it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibrik Resort by the River

Save Saved
You added Ibrik Resort by the River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibrik Resort by the River
256 Soi Wat Rakang, Arunamarin Rd., Bangkoknoi, 10700 | Arunamrin Rd, Bangkok 10700, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Near Todi, Umbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A river runs by it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

It's not for the feint-hearted and maybe the decor is in need of a dab of a paint, but we loved our stay here - in particular the view, the helpful staff and the two excellent restaurants next-door. There's a local shopping street down the way, with a good massage shop and the short ferry hop across the river to the city centre is fun. Best of all, you're sure to leave feeling that you've really been in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We have just arrived home after finishing our holiday with five nights at Ibrik. We stayed in the River Room. I have mixed feelings about our stay. I was really looking forward to it after reading previous reviews and having a look at their website. However, I was a little disappointed. I found the room to be a little shabby and in need of a touch up paint and a detailed clean. It was also alot smaller than I was expecting, which made it a little uncomfortable for such a long time and with last minute shopping. The air con is very loud. The bath had no stopper. The shower head was not attached to the wall which made showering more difficult than needed. I knew the River room had twin beds, but they are a standard single size, not a King single. The location is very far away from the shopping areas, weekend market etc ( obviously not the resort's fault! )
However, when you step out onto the balcony and have that amazing view in front of you, and when you wake up to the sounds of long tail boats and whistling ferries then everything is forgotten. It really is an amazing place to stay for a different perspective on Bangkok. We probably wouldn't stay there again, but we are really glad that we have had the experience.

  • Liked — The location by the river
  • Disliked — It really needs a revamp to maintain standards
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

Gives a different perspective of Bangkok away from the madding crowds.On the other side of the Chao Phrpyara, tt's right opposite the Grand Palace and you can cross the river easily on the ferry for 3.5 baht. Hard to find by taxi - you'll need their directions. It's very small (only 3 rooms) and very local - right next to a local food market and temple on one side, the theatre, and good local shopping market (you'll be the only foreigner) on the other. Also great restaurant - the Supatra on the river- next door which serves amazing Royal Thai food, plus the theatre outdoor cafe is also good. You need to do your research first and be the sort of person who's happy to find your own way around, as the receptionist is very helpful but has almost no English. But if you are you'll be richly rewarded. We stayed in the River Room (twin four poster beds) right on the river as if we were on a houseboat. Great shower tub (it's not a bath so no plug). We loved it.

  • Liked — it's locality
  • Disliked — more guidance would have been useful
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed at the Ibrik for a couple of nights and have to say the location was a brilliant experience, especially as we were staying in the river room, surely nothing in Bangkok comes closer, literally, in terms of the view! The area itself was also great, right next to a ferry pier so no problem getting around and the restaurants next door, Studio 9 and the Supatra were also great for the river view experience and good food.

The back streets around the Ibrik remined me a bit of Khao San Road days from many moons ago. However, I've obviously become more fussy in my old age as the bed was rock hard and the pillows like boulders, in fact I went out to buy a pillow the next day! Otherwise the room itself was clean and had the essentials (although the air con unit was probably on its last legs) but it would have been a bit cramped for anything more than a couple of days as there wasn't much space for storage or unpacking.

Breakfast is pre-ordered but on the first morning was stone cold, even though we weren't late. The guy on duty that day didn't speak more than a few words of English so we didn't bother saying anything. We showed up 10 minutes early the next morning, different guy on duty anyway so it was fine. In that regard, if you have anything more than the basics to ask, you need to leave a message for the manager who I assume must come in every day.

Overall, I really enjoyed the experience of staying there, but if you're a soft pillow princess, then bring your own!

  • Liked — location on the river
  • Disliked — pillows like boulders
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ibrik, it's a perfect location for a couple of nights and although it is right on the river (busy all it's traffic and noise) somehow it is still very relaxing. We stayed in the Sunshine room which has a large balcony (also used for Breakfast) overlooking the river. It doesn't have a services a large hotel would have, internet access, restaurant, conceige etc, but there are plenty of hotels in Bangkok if you are looking for that. Ibrik has lovely contemporary style rooms and the location makes you feel that you are more part of Bangkok than any old hotel in any old city.

  • Liked — the out of the way location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

If you want to stay in what is probably the smallest hotel in Bangkok, then look no further than Ibrik Resort by the River with its three rooms. Tucked down a small soi across the river from the Grand Palace and next door to a dance theatre, you would probably miss the hotel if you didn't already know it was there. All that marks the location is a small "Ibrik" sign over a gate that leads down a narrow bamboo-lined passageway, ending in a small courtyard. Our room was of a nice size, with a very comfortable metal-framed four-posted bed and a small balcony overlooking the entrance courtyard--the other two rooms have river views, but this was all that was available during our trip. The room decor is eclectic and well thought-out. The shower in our bathroom was open in the sky and wouldn't have looked out of place in a Wallpaper magazine article. Although the hotel doesn't provide internet access, at the time of this writing you could pick-up the free network from the theatre across the street. Hotel staff were very pleasant and accomodating. Breakfast is served on a second floor terrace overlooking the river, though the quality of the food was only adequate. The hotel provides taxi directions in Thai, which is very helpful considering how many winding sois you have to go down to get here. If you're taking a ferry to get here, the nearest station is Wang Lang, which has both cross-river and normal ferry service. The hotel is approximately a five minute walk down a very narrow soi lined with market stalls for most of the way. The whole experience at Ibrik is great.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Incomparable location. The River Room (with two beds) had an amazing balcony from which you could practically touch the river. The views of the grand palace and wat arun from the balcony were fantastic as well. Breakfast on our own balcony was a great experience.

Staying on the "other" side has pluses and minuses. It's very convenient to the main tourist sites (there is a ferry stop steps away), but not so convenient to some of the shopping and nightlife, and cabbies are not going to easily find the return route (though the map on the hotel website was good).

Service was quite good--I left my power adapter in the room and they delivered it to another hotel after I had checked out. But being a small hotel (3 rooms), there isn't quite the level of completeness that a larger, more 'professional' place may have (bathtub, though beautiful, was missing a stopper).

Great for couples, I would say, who want to max out on atmosphere and don't need to spend too much time in the more urban areas of BKK.

  • Liked — riverside location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibrik Resort by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrik Resort by the River

Address: 256 Soi Wat Rakang, Arunamarin Rd., Bangkoknoi, 10700 | Arunamrin Rd, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#77 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ibrik Resort by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibrik Resort By The River Hotel Bangkok
Ibrik Resort Bangkok
Ibrik Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibrik Resort by the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.