We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place in the midst of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarntawan Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tarntawan Place Hotel to your Saves list
Tarntawan Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quiet place in the midst of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tarntawan Place greets you on check-in with a form already completed with your details, awaiting only your signature. With you key you are given a small sachet of 10 personal business cards with the hotel's logo and complete contact details and address; under your name, it says: 'In Residence.' A touch of personalised genius!

The place is comfortable, clean and very well organised. The staff are efficient, friendly, and in some cases exceptionally so; they all wear elegant Thai-style uniforms in various styles. 24 hours a day there is a security man by the lift, serving the functions of keeping the upper floors safe and making you feel welcome every time you pass by.

My small suite was clean and pleasant; large bed and well stocked mini-bar; a TV in each room, DVD system and sound system in the living room. I had to ask for an armchair to supplement the two flat, Thai-style couches, but it came within minutes. There were small vases of orchids in all three rooms, and a generous plate of fresh fruit on arrival. A last minute request to press a crumpled jacket was met quickly and on time.

There was an adequate breakfast buffet with warm fresh bread, and a range of cooked Western and Thai dishes to order. The bar and restaurant were open all the hours I passed through them and service was smart and efficient. Outside there is a small courtyard, shaded by an old tree and dotted with potted shrubs and small trees; a cool and peaceful place to read and smoke. There is a spa and massage service neither of which I explored.

At 4,800 Baht per night (about GBP100), I wondered if I had not been a bit extravagant for my birthday weekend, but the pleasure of being within easy walking distance of Silom, Patpong and BTS was a great bonus. One night I had a guest, and the visit was handled courteously and pleasantly, with a security check-up call to the room when the visitor left and before the ID card was returned. There were a good number of farangs with their Thai partners of one kind or another, but also Koreans with golf bags and other virtuous types.

I would think that a normal room (not a suite) would be really excellent value, though the pleasures of even a small suite are worthwhile occasionally if you want to treat yourself. They offer access to a local sports centre with swimming pool, but I did not look into those facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    33
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
79
113
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked 2 nights at this hotel, due to the fact that my flight was leaving to London after midnight. I kindly inform the front desk, that despite the fact I was paying 2 nights, I would free it at 9:30 ,pm and therefore, if needed, my room could be used. I slept one night, went out the following day went back at lunch time, my room was not cleaned. Went out again, advising the maid that it should be cleaned, I came back at 7 pm, and guess what, my room WAS NOT CLEANED !!!!!! They did not cleaned, they did not change the towels, toilets were dirty, they even did not supply the mini bar. BUT DESPITE MY PROTEST THEY CHARGED 2 NIGHTS. UNACCEPTABLE. UNFAIR !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarntawan, General Manager at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
As I have told you in person when you complained at the reception desk, you switched on the "Do not disturb" sign and therefore our room maid could not enter the room to clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For the first time in Tartawan Place. A quiet place, although in de midst of the 24 hour BKK life. Friendly staff. Rooms are spacious but a bit outdated; but comfi and quiet. My room did not have a view at all; did not bother me. Breakfast ok. Seems to be a secure place. Downside: No safe in the room. Good: Free WIFI, with acceptable speed. For sure will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As a regular visior to Thailand and Bangkok, we tried the Tarntawan for the first time this trip.

If you are looking for a negative review ...here goes

No, it could not be more centrally or idealy located for the best spots of Bangkok.
No it could not be more easily accesible
No, the staff could in no way be more freindlier than they were.
No, The rooms couldn't be more spacious or well appointed
No, the hotel couldn't be more restful and tranquil than it is

So if you are looking for a loud, brash, noisy, impersonal corporate hotel, where fruit and flowers are high on your list of expectations then the Tarntawan is not for you.

For me and my partner its has everything we need in a hotel, Comfort, Friendlyness, Great Location, Excellent Bathroom, Good Breakfast and of course free WiFi throughout the entire hotel.

We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: if you smoke, the 8th floor is where you will be and it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I’ve stayed at the Tarntawan three times now and the staff are so friendly and even remembered me from my visit from four years ago! Rooms are basic but large for the price, breakfast is good too. Not too many frills here but very secure and a great location. Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed twice in the Tarntawan. First, passing through Bangkok for a night, then again a couple of weeks later for two nights. For us, there are three primary considerations for hotels (1) location (2) staff and (3) the room.

LOCATION, for us, was great. Bangkok is huge, spread out. There is no perfect location. In general, we prefer to be close to where we want to spend the nights, as opposed to the days. Tartanwan was perfect as a nighttime location.

STAFF was extremely helpful and friendly. Could not have asked for more in a hotel. It's not a gay B&B, so you don't get quite the personalized service as that -- but for a "hotel" -- it is as good as we could have wanted.

The ROOM was fine. Large enough, clean. A bit worn -- but quite acceptable.

Overall, a very good stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and it never changes much which suits me just fine. Very central , very clean and with REALLY good staff who ahve been there a long time and cloearly enjoy working there. It may not be the glitziest , newest or best hotel in Bangkok but it's cool, quiet, safe and incredibly handy for day and nightlife in the chaos which is Bangkok

On this trip I ended up staying several nights elsewhere in a 5" suite and although very nice it did not have the 'human touch' the Tarntawan does and was pleased to get back to the T at the end of the trip having started and finished a 3 week trip at the Tarntawan. btw - you can leave winter jackets.clothe stc for free at the hotel whilst you travel elsewhere and so long as you are staying again this is a very handy free service. I stayed 5 nights then more nights again 2 weeks later

On this trip I satyed in a whole cross section of hotels-mainly 'posh' ones but I love the laid back feel of the Tarntawan - the amazing longtime staff - and the hygene. Dated ...yes.....bit worn in places.....yes.....BUT.....it reminds me of 'old Bangkok' before the multinationals got in and a rally nice change

Room Tip: The Suriwong room prob is worth the little to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarntawan Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarntawan Place Hotel

Address: 119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarntawan Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarntawan Place is a well established, modern hotel. The rooms are stylishly appointed, spacious and light, creating a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Our personalized service and attention to detail ensure a special comfort and charm. Situated in a quiet courtyard off Surawong Road in the heart of Bangkok's business and entertainment district, the Tarntawan Place is within walking distance of international banks, shopping centeres and major airline offices. The Skytrain overhead railway (Sala Daeng Station) and Subway (Sam Yan and Silom Stations) are both just a few steps away.The famous shopping and nightlife areas of Silom and Patpong are just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Tarntawan Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarntawan Place Bangkok
Hotel Tarntawan Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarntawan Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.