We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst room i slept in Bangkok” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Joe Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Joe Guest House
Save
You added New Joe Guest House to your Saves list
81 Trokmayom Chakrapongse Rd | Taladyod, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Kepong, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
“The worst room i slept in Bangkok”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to there for 4nights, its been a bad choices. The room looks good, but the toilet always overflow and the fan cannot turning, keep stuck on a side. Okay that's fine, the staff has changed a room for me. After that, a same thing happen in the room and one more thing is the rooftop keep leaking after the rain, too bad. When the night come, there was very noisy. The WIFI u have to go down nearby the counter only can use, their restaurant selling food are extremely overpriced and not really good. this is a place for nightlife to pass out after drinking too much at khaosan road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
6
23
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarahbcn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My room was plain and simple but very clean and the mattress was excellent!!!
Located just off Koh San Road (good location for backpackers, probably not the best though) but not too noisy, very friendly and helpful staff, good services.
Not the cheapest but still very cheap compared to western prices, but worth it seeing the dumps you can find in Bangkok...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked an A/C room for four nights, and ended up leaving after one. The staff was pretty indifferent. The food was extremely overpriced and not very good. We had to kill a cockroach immediately upon entry. The A/C was like a cat sneezing on you. The room was dank and dirty. There was dirt on the bed sheets! It seemed like a room from a horror film based in an abandoned hospital, except that instead of creepy violin music, you heard loud, thudding bass until 4am. This is a place for kids to pass out after drinking too much at Khao San Rd, nothing more. You can get much, much better for cheaper, even if you walk 5 minutes up to Samsen Rd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to stay. We booked a double room with fan and hot water but there was an ac unit in there. So switched that on. Lovely. Free A/C.

But we saw a lot of cock roaches downstairs by the kitchen and my girlfriend saw a rat. Besides that and the building work next door its not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is perfect place for the right kind of person going super cheap. For a family, I definitely wouldn't go any cheaper! Next time we stay in Bangkok, I will avoid this tourist trap area like the plague and stay somewhere a little bit nicer. It was recommended to us by someone we should have realized was a little grungier. But what do you want for 400 baht ($12)?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not clean, dark & dingy, hottest room I've stayed in, the best part about the hotel is the restaurant bar. And it's only good for meeting people, stay somewhere else. Terrible staff, location right off koh San.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I just spent 4 nights in NJ's - and can't really complain about anything. It's a guesthouse where you get a room for less then USD 20 - and that's the benchmark I am judging it by. The room was relatively clean (new painting wouldn't hurt, but didn't offend me), there were no bugs in/under the beds and the A/C worked. Toilet/shower combo was worn, but very clean (to my sincere surprise).

I found the staff really nice and friendly - always ready to help and/or advice. They have a small travel agency in the reception area and the girls are able to help out with anything you need - day trips around BKK, transport elsewhere, visa and/or a 130baht transfer to the airport (better book a day in advance though).

What I ended up loving about the place was the restaurant - the food was excellent and the cooks were sweet (quite unlike the waiter guys who were sadly so inapt that I couldn't believe it was the same establishment... but hey, it's holiday so why stress yourself over a slow service... it's not like I was in some sort of rush anyway ;)). The entire restaurant area serves as a wifi hangout for the travelers since there is no wifi in the rooms, which makes up for a nice atmosphere (okay, I must admit that after 4 days, I was totally ready to tell them that they should expand their Norah Jones and Jack Johnson playlists ;))

Location-wise, it was great as you could easily do all the major sites (Grand Palace + Wat Pho, Wat Arun, Golden Mount ) by walk/tuktuk. Plus there is the Khao San Road and Rambuttri Streets just around the corner with all their markets and bars and restaurants. Plus there is a bunch of really nice massage places and a bigger 7/11 just a couple of meters out of the guest house. All-in-all everything one should need :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Joe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Joe Guest House

Address: 81 Trokmayom Chakrapongse Rd | Taladyod, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
New Joe Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Joe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.