We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - clean , good location & helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Siam Guest House II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Siam Guest House II
50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 440 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great value for money - clean , good location & helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was bright & clean. We were on the top floor at the back of the hotel & it was very quiet. Location is great - lots of restaurants close by & a 5 min walk to the Khao San Road if you want something more livelier! Would highly recommend this hotel & would stay here again. Only negative would be that they charge for wifi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    230
    91
    30
    14
See reviews for
56
199
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for a few nights and can recommend it. Very helpful and efficient staff, nice, clean rooms with a safe, and a pool if you want it. Slightly more than other hotels / guesthouses of this kind but you get what you pay for.

I cannot recommend their airport transfer. Sure, it is an outside driver but you can choose who your hotel works with. The guy arrived ten minutes late, was half asleep (it was before 7am) and chatted on his phone for the first half of the trip. He then drove at 120km/h (up to 130km at one point) in an 80km/h zone. With one hand on the wheel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Location is good, close to Khaosan Road (just a five minute walk) which is far away enough from the noise. The bed and shower are nothing special, but okay for the price you pay. The breakfast is nice, but not included in the price. No free wifi, and just a tip: if you decide to pay, you only have to pick the so-called one day formula since apparently that means you get 24 hours of actual internet (time only goes down when you're logged in - costs about 30 Baht). The people that work there are friendly and always willing to help you or answer your questions. They have a pool, which looks nice but we weren't tempted to swim since it's located just next to the restaurant/street, so it doesn't feel exactly private.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

At a few dollars more than our hotel room budget, we were hoping for the best, and indeed we got it! Helpful, friendly staff, clean rooms (with a safe and bottles of drinking water) in a such a central location we were surprised we got such good nights sleep! Well worth the extra few dollars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I foudn this place to be run more like a hotel than a guesthouse, staff we professional and check in out was great not the normal chaos or no professional staff at some gueshouses. Rooms were excellent and very very good value. No hot water but water is warm as water tank is on the roof in the sun all day. Beds firm but comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hi, We've been coming to new Siam 2 for a few years now. I got to know it through friends who stayed at new Siam 1 back in the days. Back then the New Siam ment comfort and cleanlyness compared to alot of other guesthouses.
New Siam 2 has a swimmingpool, is within walking distance of khoa san and only a Soi appart from Rambuttri. You have the hustle and bustle within reach but it is pretty quiet in the guesthouse itself.

This time for us was a bit different as it was the first time travelling with our 1,5 year old daughter.

The rooms are basic but clean. They dont come in to clean them anymore unless you ask for them. As previous revieuws state. They are non smoking rooms but both our stays in the beginning and the end of our Thai holiday the room smelled of cigarettes. The doors to the bathroom and other plastic things have changed from white to a smokey yellow. So smoking has been or is going on. Saying this we had a room in the old building on both times.

2 years ago we had a room in the new building and it was a little bit bigger and so was the bathroom. It was still pretty new back then so there was no smoke smell but maybe thats changed. I wouldnt be able to say. I did enjoy the room a bit more.

The staff is clear and friendly and they have always been. If you inform yourself well enough about the rules and you make sure they are well informed about what you expect en when you arrive and check out I dont see any problem there. They have notes hanging everywhere about check out times etc not to get any confusion.
One thing you need to be prepared for is a cash 500 baht deposit for the key. You get a receipt for this and I have never had any problems over this.
Internet is a paying extra. 30 baht for 1 day to 75 baht for 3 days. It might be a bit strange not to have free internet. But on our months travel it was the only internet that actually worked well.

The restaurant is dowstairs next to the pool and is pretty good and not expensive. It might not be the most romantic place to eat. But I definatly prefer the food over some other places nearby.

All in all its pretty good for what you are paying. This is why we kept coming back. Altough Im thinking to change next time. And this has nothing to do with the guesthouse. But with the changing of the area. Maybe it was because it was peakseason but everything was busy and also rambuttri now smelled of puke and garbage over new year. From my memories it used to be only Khao San. But I guess that is just me getting old ;-) So

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here a few years ago on recommendation from a friend and glad we did. Since then we have only stayed with the New Siam chain in whenever we visit. In a side ally just a short walk to khao San road, this place is great value for money. Rooms are very basic but are clean, comfortable, have air con and ensuite and ours even had a little balcony. The area surrounding is still pretty bustly, with street vendors, markets, 7/11 and restaurants close by. If you're up for an adventure you can walk to the royal palace in about 15 min and there is a ferry stop close as well. In our last few visits we have opted for New Siam III as you also got a mini bar and a bit closer to khao San but both are pretty similar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Siam Guest House II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House II

Address: 50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam 2 is an affordable, charming guesthouse with a swimming pool, and a restaurant. Every room comes with: refrigerator, satellite tv, and safety box. Located in the heart of old Bangkok, New Siam 2 is only minutes walk away from Khaosan road, the grand palace, and a number of beautiful temples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House Ii Hotel Bangkok
New Siam Hotel Ii
New Siam Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Siam Guest House II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Siam Guest House II to your Saves list