We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Siam Guest House II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Siam Guest House II
Save
You added New Siam Guest House II to your Saves list
50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 467 Bangkok B&B and Inns
The Hague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Looking for a convenient hotel in Banglampu? New Siam II is your place. Since 2002 i have been here for the sixth time. Nothing changed in THE rooms or services. Simply good. Although the hotel has doubled size since 2009. Simple rooms, good location, rest and good staff and food in restaurant downstairs. My tip: book in advance via website to avoid disappointments. Always fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    276
    121
    34
    21
See reviews for
69
241
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
traveling rtw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at the New Siam II for a few days and absolutely thought that the facilities and location were excellent. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had very nice hot water.

The pool is a little awkwardly placed and doesn't offer much space for sitting out or even get much sun.

I would have really liked the guesthouse except that they charge for absolutely everything. The room rates are pretty competitive for the area but they nickel and dime you for the stupidest things and there are signs (in engrish!) all over the place telling you to do things as if you have no common sense.

Additionally two of the front desk people were either short or rude to me on multiple occasions. Also the WIFI (not free) was horrible slow. The "queen sized" bed that I had was just two twins pushed together with a single sheet covering it.

All that being said, it you want a western style guest house check out New Siam II. Just don't expect western service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We paid 790 baht per night for a double air-con room. We didnt really need the aircon though. The room was lovely - very clean and comfortable with lots of space and even a dressing table and big mirror! The bathroom was very basic and in need of a revamp but it was adequate.
It is a very busy hotel so the staff at reception are rushed off their feet. They are very efficient but it is quite impersonal and you are just a number to them.
We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was cheap and the eggs were good! The staff were quite miserable though and not very helpful.
I cant believe that they dont do free wifi in this big chain of hotels. It is cheap though - 10 baht for 10 hours or 45 baht for 3 days (24hrs a day).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Been to Bangkok 3 times in last couple of years and we have always stayed in this hotel (twice also with kids). Capacity has been extended with new building, but we stayed in the old part, so I cannot judge on the new rooms. Old ones are basic but they still serve the purpose. Restaurant serves good food for fair prices. Wifi is available at a symbolic cost of 20 THB for 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here 3 times. Great location near Khaosan but 5 minutes away from craziness and right across the road from river and pier (no views). Rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff are busy but mostly very friendly and efficient. Restaurant serves good breakfast (loved the oats) at reasonable price, though so much food in the area not worth it for lunch and dinner. Pool donwstairs is not great but good for an end of the day dip or a bit of midday sun (very public though). Booking compnay is overpriced, cheaper next door or around the corner. Phra Athit road has quality restaurants for a little bit more than typical Khaosan/Rambuttri guest house menus.

Room Tip: You can save 80 baht and get a room in the "older" wing that is pretty much as nice as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

From JAN to MAY 2006, I stayed for a few months in Bangkok. I decided to check out for the first time the Khao San Road sceen. After checking about 30-40 different guest houses in the area, there is no doubt im my mind that the best one for me was New Siam 2 - The true home away from home !!! Its the best value for money : great sized rooms with good ammneties, including a digital safe, great color TV, 24 hours reception with cctv, electronic key card and a very safe & secure feeling in a nice and quite part of the neighberhood - just between the noisy Khao San Road and minutes away from the river and the pier !!! A nice small pool, a very good restaurant with a good western & thai menu, a very well operated and reliable Taxi service (24\7), no "local women guests" allowed, and above all : a great atmosphere from all the staff - specialy in the restaurant - and at the reception under the profesional guidence of Ms. Gem - all this together - you get the ultimate safe and comfortable Home away from Home !!! I cant wait for the next time ! ! !
since 2006 I've been back 4 times for weeks at a time, and every time its like returning back home.

Room Tip: Lower floors ( 2 + 3 ) have better water pressure, Great location for quite rooms just minutes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked this hotel based on my son and his friends experience.It was not near the sky train so we ended up taking cabs back in the evening. It was in a good location for our day trips to the Grand Palace and some of the Wats. We stayed 3 days over the course of 2 visits.Check in was really easy. The second time, they had already opened the newer wing but we stayed in the older room for the lower rate. They allowed us to leave luggage for a small fee between visits. We also booked our taxi to the airport with them on two occasions and the drivers were really good. The computers had problems during the time we were there and no one on staff would help fix them. The restaurant staff on the other hand was always available. The hotel gave us a twenty minute foot massage as part of their promotion. Great massage! The reception tried to be helpful. The rooms in the old wing really need to be refurbished, or at least the ones we had. There was a sign to keep the windows locked to avoid theft.

Room Tip: I would go for the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Siam Guest House II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House II

Address: 50 Trok Rong Mai, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Siam 2 is an affordable, charming guesthouse with a swimming pool, and a restaurant. Every room comes with: refrigerator, satellite tv, and safety box. Located in the heart of old Bangkok, New Siam 2 is only minutes walk away from Khaosan road, the grand palace, and a number of beautiful temples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House Ii Hotel Bangkok
New Siam Hotel Ii
New Siam Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Siam Guest House II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.