We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta be the best river view for cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added River View Guest House to your Saves list
River View Guest House
768 Soi Phanurangsri, Songwad Rd. | Talad Noi, Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Gotta be the best river view for cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed at this guesthouse purely because I live in Bangkok BUT.... If you're looking for a great breezy view of the river, good food and reasonable pricing , the rooftop terrace here - Rivervibe - is a must.
Not at all pretentious, one can enjoy a panoramic view of Bangkok and all the dynamic activity on the Chao Praya river.

There is comfortable chaise-longue type seating or more conventional wooden chairs and tables overlooking the scenic river; coupled with a welcome breeze and cocktail.... Well.... It's a wonderful night out. Whether as a couple or as a large group, it's bound to be memorable.

This is one of my favourite places in Chinatown to escape Sukhumvit and the usual , same-old same -old.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    36
    26
    21
See reviews for
13
88
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our room was a dump, smelt like sewer was dirty and NOT cheap. The guesthouse itself was a dump. The ONLY redeeming quality of this guesthouse was their rooftop bar. I would not recommend this place nor will I go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Belgique
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent there a few nights. the location is near the riverside 5 minutes from the boat stops, easy to get by boat to the royal palace and temples.
Very difficult to get there as Bangkok is a little bit crazy, but once we was there was ok to go back to the train station by foot. 15-20' walk. The area is not to clean, and full of mecanical shops. The River shopping center is 5-10 minutes walk, full of street food.
The roofbar is excellent, althrough the prices are a little bit high. We spent the best Loy Kratong in Bangkok, with all the fireworks and the chinese lamps.
We had a city delight room booked direclty on their website and it was ok. The rooms were cleaned but the commun spaces not that much, specialy the public toilets near the reception Free wifi in the lobby and at the roofbar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed 3 different times in December and January and had a wonderful time, from the first arrival through to the final check out. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was spectacular Just a short walk to either the train station or the pier to catch the river ferry. As others have said, the neighborhood is a bit unusual if you are used to western cities - the narrow, twisty alleys full of shops with piles of car parts outside was disorienting at first (after a few days I learned which particular pile was at my street!)

The rooftop restaurant offers a spectacular view and a nice spot to relax with a beer or have some good food (priced above street stalls but still reasonable).

I stayed in two different dorm rooms, both of which had 4 comfortable beds, clean facilities, good water pressure and temperature, fans and lockers (with locks). What more could you ask for?! On another visit my friend and I stayed in one of the deluxe river-view rooms. So nice! With a little balcony it was the perfect place to watch sunrise or sunset.

Another nice touch was the very affordable rates for daily and weekly luggage storage. I left a second suitcase with my winter clothes, and added souvenirs to it when I passed through again mid-trip.

I will definitely stay here again if I find myself back in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Dorms are great, but maybe not in a heatwave since they are only fan cooled. The one "City Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is not a review of the guest house, only its restaurant on the top floor.
The view over the river is very good - and that is about the end of the positive stuff.
First, this is a 100% tourist place, hardly a Thai guest in sight. You can guess what implications this has.
The district is dirty and cramped.
Smoking is allowed in the restaurant so when we went there quite a few of the tourists were puffing aweay, some of them lounging about with their feet on the sofas, their eyes glued to their laptops.
The decor is absolutely terrible, bare, concrete-like - the owner obviously has no sense of style or warmth.
And finally, the food is quite poor. We ordered for example a green curry, but some of the basic ingrediwents were missing. Probably the clientele wouyld not notice this.
So absolutely a place to avoid. Maybe the guest house is better, but it's difficult to imagine.
However, if you are a cigarette-smoking backpacker type with little experience of what Bangkok has to offer, this place might suit you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I ended up staying at River View Guest House for a total of about 5 weeks (since I was living in Bangkok briefly). I think I can give a fair review of the place since I stayed there for so long. The place was both well located and poorly located in my opinion. The location near to the MRT, main train station and Boat Pier was fantastic. This made access to the city centre, the touristy area and places outside of Bangkok very easy. However, the streets surrounding the guest house were a bit dirty and noisy. Not ideal for tourists, but bearable.

The staff could be good, could be not-so-good - it depended on who was at the desk. Some of the waiters at the River Vibe restaurant were a bit rude and lacked decent enough English to take orders properly. On that note, the restaurant was overpriced and generally not that good. However, the view from the restaurant is amazing!

The rooms were usually cleaned on a daily basis which was very nice. The Wifi worked well. The dorms were quite nice and reasonably priced (for Bangkok, at least).

Overall, not a bad place to stay I'd recommend it, but just not for too long!.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

River View Guest House, although I agree extremely difficult to find is worth the hunt. What a comfortable, efficient place. Staff can guide you to the maze of wonders that await you. Being right on the river was so fantastic, 5 minutes to the river ferries and all the sights of Bankok without the traffic! You are right on the edge of Chinatown, fun to walk around. Although we did not have a balcony room, we were at the rooftop restaurant the rest of the time watching the action on the river and enjoying the very excellent food and drink very reasonably priced. We met some locals who were in awe of the 180 view from the roof restaurant and I think it might eventually be the place to go without those stiff Hiltonish prices for a drink. Our stay in Bankok was a great adventure, I think mainly cause of the Riverview Guest House.

Room Tip: We didnt really know we should have asked for a balcony room, we were in a newly remodeled 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Address: 768 Soi Phanurangsri, Songwad Rd. | Talad Noi, Sampanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated "River Vibe Restaurant & Bar" is open. With Thai and European menu, extensive cocktail and wine lists, you can enjoy the moment with definitely 7-star view over Chao Praya River. "See.., feel.., and breath REAL Bangkok living." Established in early 1980s, River View Guest House is a family-run budget guest house which offers a truly unique experience. It is hidden among small alleys of Chinatown’s Talad Noi area, but it is very famous the breath-taking view over Chao Praya River. Serves International tourists for decades, River View Guest House is recognized world-wide and honored to be listed in world’s most respectable guide books such as Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Frommer’s, Guide Routard, Fodor’s, so as to be named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Bangkok
River View Hotel
River View Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.