We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in good area with minimal western tourists. Authentic Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Tower Inn Rama VI to your Saves list
Grand Tower Inn Rama VI
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Soi Rewadee, Rama VI Rd | Samsennai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Sarn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #562 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Located in good area with minimal western tourists. Authentic Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The view of Bangkok from our room on 15th floor was excellent . the hotel is older but everything is really well maintained and the hotel is spotlessly clean. It has a large sauna and steam room available for 100bht which are attached to the Spa which offers good traditional Thai massage. There is also a large gym but I did not use. The food in the restaurant is excellent and inexpensive. It is not far from the weekend market at Chatuchuk 10 min taxi ride and the outstanding food market at Moochit - Must visit - Best fresh market out of five visited in Bangkok. The Skytrain with links to the MRT is 5mins taxi ride or a 25minute walk on Pradiphat Rd past interesting local shops and food outlets. At night this street comes alive as a street restaurant and is well patronised by locals. It is very easy to explore Bangkok from here using the train and you feel very safe walking in the street at all times of the day.. We travelled as a couple but it would be a great hotel and location for a family to stay in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
22
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The only good things I could think of for this hotel are it's quite near to the Chatuchak weekend market, also the swimming pool is really big (but i had no chance to use at all because i was dead tired everyday after back from shopping in town)

Other than that everything else are below par for me....
- Location, it's really far away from city center and we had to pay quite a lot for the tuktuk or taxi to come back to the hotel. There is a BTS station 'nearby', 15 minutes walk as told by the hotel staff but it actually took me more than 30 minutes and it's around 2km....I walked once with my wife at night and the streets are really dark with rats around....
- Hard to find nice restaurants nearby...
- My wife and I both woke up with red and itchy spots all over our hands and legs and we suspected it's from the bed bugs !
- No free wifi provided, no complimentary coffee and everything else need to pay, but they have complimentary mineral water everyday.

If it's not because my dad got an offer for this hotel then I would not stay in this hotel...definitely not recommended for people who wants to go Bangkok city center for shopping !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

if you have some food from outside and you expect to borrow some plate, spoon or fork here they does not allow you to borrow dinning tool even you are customer who stay in this hotel just want to have 1 plate and 1 spoon. i'm very disapoint about staff service or stupid policy of this hotel. i khow you have outlet food for sell here but you should use your brain and consider about what i'm going to tell you. if you have this policy you should have a nocification board at front desk like "this hotel are not allow food from outside because we don't have dinning tool for borrow" then.

Room Tip: see above comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was one of the worst we have ever stayed, location is dreadful nothing around, no complimentary coffee (had to pay, extra pillow had to pay) feel the bed springs when you sleep. TV was as old as my grandmother with minimal clear transition. Tuk tuk drivers scam you however that's part of Thailand and we expect that but when the hotel tour company also scams you its very disapointing and when you question the service the so called manager says LISTEN TO ME!!! then my wife new what was the point. On a positive the house made was efficient and friendly ultimately we have now left.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to deal with the hassle of the Bangkok tourist scene as it is off the beaten track, but good value for its price. The hotel is very well run, and caters largely to groups. Rooms are large and well maintained. The roof pool is looked after and often completely empty, despite the hotel clearly being quite popular. The BTS is a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride from the hotel (transport is easy to get from there).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The city is congested but orderly disorderly if you know what I mean. Transport within the city is abundant, taxi, bus, trains, skytrains and even tuktuk or on foot. Beautiful temples and golden buddhas are enthralling. Lots of organised tours (recommended) elephant rides, bamboo rafting, travel over bridge of the river Kwei. This is a city of contrast and all within reach from bangkok. Food is abundant from local to the fast foods if it's your preference. People are friendly and if you are a tourist the taxis and tuktuks will try and get as much money from you for providing their services, fare bargaining is a must unless metered but mostly not operating. Fun place, exotic and a traveler's paradise.

Room Tip: Mainly City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As we have 1BR & 1std apartment, We had a great fun at hotel.
Room service , cleaningness , general a/c, Good water facilities, 4 bottles of water per day with no charge, Glass view for outside, Open swimming pool at top of the floor makes u very excited, Gym, , , bla bla...bla.. as much u say , U get there, Just a little problem with language conversation & u feel a little odd with TV channels at room.
But overall once u go for roam a city u will find a very gentle touch around you, People are so kind & nice & a good thing is you can bargain everywhere except malls, like for shopping, Taxi service and all...
One should visit a spectacular hotel Like Grand rama VI...

Room Tip: More over take a room upon 15th floor for a better view outside. But overall Every room is a specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Tower Inn Rama VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tower Inn Rama VI

Address: 402 Soi Rewadee, Rama VI Rd | Samsennai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sarn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Tower Inn Rama VI 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Tower Inn Rama VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tower Hotel Bangkok
Grand Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Tower Inn Rama VI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.