We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boat ride in an open sewer.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Klongs

Klongs
Bangkok, Thailand (Old City)
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 258 attractions in Bangkok
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These are the many small waterways or canals that snake through the city of Bangkok.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A boat ride in an open sewer.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A Thai friend convinced me to try this. Only once, never again.
It is an open sewer, and some of the dirty water will splash on you.
The smell can be terrible at times, and all I wanted to do afterwards was to return to my hotel and take a shower.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    84
    25
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Cheaper Faster way to travel. Khlong Boats - Saen Saep Boat Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I took the Klong boat at Pratunam to go to the Grand Palace. It took me only 12 minutes and Baht 12 to reach the last stop, Phan Fa Lilat. From there I took a cab to Grand Palace entrance (Baht 50). While coming back I too the same boat as my hotel was near the Pratunam klong pier.

Its very fast and reliable besides quite cheap. You also beat the traffic. You need to be a little careful at boarding or alighting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I love this is on here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Klong tour on a long boat off the river, awesome. Klongs off of Sathorn Rd, Sukhumvit, Silom, or anywhere else in Bangkok is an open sewer. Not sure I want to visit them :-).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Cool Experience but Dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Klongs or long boat's are pretty unique, we actually wanted to visit the Grand Palace but it was closed, so we ended up taking a ride on the klong as suggested by a local Thai
We took an hr ride on the klongs. We went thru some interesting canal's and eventhru a watergate.
Wonderful temple's, school's, building's and settlements along both side of the river/canal's
But, the canal's are very dirty because of the pollution by the ppl living of the banks
Interestingly, the canal's works as a mode of transportation for the locals to get to other parts of the city.
You can see, boats ferrying ppl, students etc from 1 pier to another.
Many hawker's will be selling their trade on their boat's.
The price's they ask is rather steep, so alot of bargaining need to be done.
The floating market is rather big and scattered around the many canal's
Ultimately, the boat will bring you to the pier and drops you off
Interestingly, a guy will collect 20 bhat as landing fee's when you supposedly land at the pier. That really tickled me.
The handcraft shops around the pier is very reasonable
Wonderful experience overall

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A truly Bangkok experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's ridiculously cheap, noisy, smelly, dirty, and absolutely fun! How much more authentically Bangkok can you get?!

Give it a go if you're feeling brave, a really special way to see a side of Bangkok that most people (apart from the locals) will probably never see. Take the public transport option (as opposed to any private operators), as it only costs about 10-20 Baht!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klongs also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Klongs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klongs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Klongs to your Saves list