We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the zoo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Zoo

Dusit Zoo
71 Rama 5 Rd. | Dusit, Bangkok 10300 , Thailand
66 74 325 037
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 218 Attractions in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 362 Reviews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Koalas, elephants, zebras and pandas are just some of the 1,600 animals on display in this fairly well-maintained zoo. The zoo also boasts large green spaces and a pond with paddle boats.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A day at the zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You can spend some pleasant time in this zoo, however do not expect to see anything spectacular. There aren't that many animal species inside and many of them look tired. The feel of the place is good though, and you can rent a bike and go through the zoo.

Also expect some difficulty to get to Dusit Zoo (and then out of the zoo back to where you are staying) because though it is in a central location near the palaces, the area is not accessible by MRT or Skytrain. The closest BTS station is Victory Monument, which is not exactly close to the zoo.

I got down at that station and had to find my way from there. I didn't want to take a tuk tuk or cab because of the risk of being charged a disproportionate fare by the driver (which frequently happens in Bangkok). I therefore had to try to guess in which direction I had to go (using my map), then taking a bus going in this direction. Same tactic for returning to the BTS, which caused me to change buses and walk on several occasions!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    116
    101
    45
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“As a zoo - average, but overall - a lovely day out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If I was a Zoologist I would probably not say this is the best zoo in the world, but I am not a zoologist. I am a parent, with two small children, living in Bangkok, and as such I think this zoo is great. It has all the usual animals you would expect, which you can get quite close to, and the children can even join in the feeding of the animals at certain times, hand-feeding hippos, giraffes etc. They also have a 'sea-world' type sea-lion show, which (morality of trained animals reservations aside) was very entertaining.
Most of all, the tree-lined walkways around the zoo are very well shaded against the sun, which avoids kids getting too hot or burnt, which makes it probably the most scenic and relaxed place in Bangkok for a stroll around. Crowds were not too bad either, and we went on a Sunday afternoon. Allow at least 4 hours to see even just the main attractions.
Warning - A fair amount of steps and kerbs making strollers a bit of a hassle for one person.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So sad..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Maybe we were not lucky. The zoo was full under construction. The animals in their cages look very sad. If I really had nothing else to do any more, I would maybe go again but thank goodness Bangkok has lots to do and see.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattaya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dusit Zoo,a must to see,in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Dusit Zoo,is full of attractions,both for adults and kids,one visit there is never enough,so make sure to bring your camcorder,camera and mobile phone.The snakes,including thai python,are in sealed units with glass fronts,in underground caves.All kinds of birds and animals.Take the pedal boat,around river,see so many different fish.Buy bread and feed the fish.One trip here isnt enough,so go back,and see what you missed on first visit

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so many different way of thinking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

one thing: if you like, love and want to see animal enjoy life, don't go to any zoo specialy bangkok. I am 20 years old and i go with my boyfriend 21. we find that the zoo have to much animal. There is some picture. 20 different kind of big fish in one small aquarium, this is not normal and fun to see. a small swimming pool for 2 leopard shark, 2 big ray. and many other fish....terrible. We feed 2 hippo and they waiting for that all day long. they have only a area for swimming with 1 poor meter of water. trust me, even if you are an hippo , you dont want to go in this dirty water. And what can i say about the elephant? .. they are maltreated for shure cause they have somes mecanic mouvement that is created when they are treated badly... I put picture and I hoppe i change your idea to go their. Every entry help to keep the zoo and the poor animal...think of it and trust me please.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dusit Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Dusit Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.