We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River cruise a definite to do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chao Phraya River

Chao Phraya River
Bangkok, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit Chao Phraya River like an insider
Private Tour
$78*
and up
Private Tour: Bangkok Evening Experience with...
Ranked #18 of 412 things to do in Bangkok
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This scenic river, flowing through the heart of Bangkok, offers convenient boat transportation and sightseeing cruises since many of the major city attractions are easily accessible from various points along this waterway.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“River cruise a definite to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Liked the river cruise. I will definitely recommend it. A great family evening out. Also recommended for couples.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,597
    2,292
    800
    116
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So much to see with very little fee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Before you take a trip on the river - a word of warning - Tuk Tuk Drivers will tell you they will take you to the river for a small fee - you think "great!" then they try and push you into getting a long tail down the river - If this is the case - get out and get a cab - otherwise you are going to get absolutely SATURATED!

Now, onto why you MUST have a trip down the river!

Imagine this... sitting on a ferry, watching the world go by, when all of a sudden out of nowhere, this magnificent temple building just appears.... just as you've finished taking in the wonderful architecture of said temple, there's another one just appearing... The river has plenty of places to stop and sit and have a cup of tea and watch life pass you by, as well as plenty of tourist attractions (The Grand Palace, Temple of the Emerald Buddha) and a million other temples to see as well.

A ride along this beautiful river shouldn't be missed. It's peaceful, beautiful and intriguing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A good view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My travel agent told me that the Chao Phraya river cruise would be a romantic event. Unfortunately I realised that the river cruise was along with another 3500 other people and we ended up sharing our table with another family of four...'How Romantic' never the less the food was good and so was the sight of the city of Bangkok from the vessel...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took a longboat tour across the river. It was very interesting to see how the Thais live, it also gave us a better understanding of why Bangkok is known as the Venice of the east. We saw tons of little boats filled with fruits and veggies. We fed the fish outside a middle school. Fun trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Average Boat Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to do a boat trip as it was my husbands birthday and we were looking at something to do, other than shop. We booked through our hotel and were picked up in a mini van, taken to the wharf area, had a sticker slapped on our chest, an orchid pinned on, a photo taken then told to go and wait and pier 1. Well we went outside to an absolute shermozzle. People and boats everywhere. Nobody seemed to know what to do, the announcements (the few that they were) were indecipherable so if you choose to do a boat trip, keep your ears open.
Our boat finally arrived but to get to it we had to go through another of the boats tied up at the pier. If you are disabled either in a wheelchair or use a walking stick I'd forget it. There are no ramps to the wharf. Just stairs. The food on our boat was below average. They cater for the western tourist so if you like western buffets then you'll have a lovely feed. If you think you will get something Thai, forget it. The cruise itself was nice but a bit disconcerting to have the commentary provided by the male singer in the band, so mid sentence in his song he'd suddenly say "and on my right is the....." and then go straight back to his song again. If you have nothing better to do, then go for a cruise but I wouldn't rate it highly

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Phraya River also viewed

 

Been to Chao Phraya River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chao Phraya River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.