We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Buddy Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Buddy Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is smack in the middle of Khao San road. Easy access to eveything. I asked a room facing the back of tthe hotel not to be disturbed by the crazyness of the street. My room was lovely. The pool on the roof is really nice. There is a great tour service in the lobby and a shuttle bis for the airport. Wi-fi worked perfectly. It was such a good stay, I stayed just three nights and was hoping to return on my way back (one month later) but there was no availabilty so stayed in another hotel. I went to B.T.A (the travel agency fo Buddy Lodge) for more day trips. The girls that work there, Ann and Jennie remembered me and were more than helpful in booking trips for me. They also booked my transport to the aiport on my return. If you are looking for nice trips and a welcoming service, this is the place to go. Ann and Jennie are absolutely fantastic!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Royalarouse,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, everyone associated with the Buddy Lodge was delighted to read it.

In particular I have passed your comments onto my colleagues at the Buddy Travel Agency, Ann and Jenny. The BTA staff were "over the moon" to be mentioned on Trip Advisor as they work very hard providing good, sound travel advice to new travellers in Thailand.

I am sorry to hear we were fully booked the 2nd time you returned to Bangkok. The Khaosan Road is a very busy location and at certain times in the year we fill up very quickly. If you ever need to make a booking again, or just need general information on our hotel please contact us directly on rsvn@buddygroupthailand.com and I am sure we will be able to assist you.

Thank you once again for the Trip Advisor review and we hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    269
    112
    34
    27
See reviews for
50
239
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My friend and I (two girls in our mid 20's) stayed here for 2 nights in the beginning of March. This was our second time back in Bangkok during our Southeast Asia trip. This hotel is in the heart of it all. It was so great to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Khao San Road. The rooms were immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. The rooms were also much bigger than I had anticipated. The bathroom was also spacious with great water pressure and good lighting at the vanity. We felt that you get a lot more here than what you pay for. The staff was very helpful and always attentive, they would even give us some extra free water when we asked. Unfortunately I can't say anything about the pool... Khao San road got the best of us and we spent a lot of time in bed with a headache. All in all, this is a great hotel with friendly staff in an ideal location, that is if Khao San Road and partying is your cup of tea!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Caroline R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our boutique hotel right at the centre of the busy Khaosan Road. Our whole team really appreciates your kind words and recommendation to future travelers to choose our hotel.

At the Buddy Lodge we place a lot of emphasis on providing good customer service and assistance to all our guests. We understand that arriving in a new country can sometimes be a little difficult, not to say daunting and if we can offer a friendly face and good sound travel advice it will enhance our guests stay.

We truly hope you will return to the Buddy Lodge again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the buddy lodge and were happy with our stay. The hotel is right in the middle of busy Khoa San road and with the restaurants, bars and shops steps away. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were very nice. Staff were also helpful with our questions about getting around and visiting the sites. There was no restaurant associated with the hotel, but they did have room service (which was delicious!). If you're staying on Khao San, you need to be prepared to deal with the noise, a few night we could hear the street noise and music in our room until about 2am. We had read about this beforehand and had brought earplugs which were helpful. I would recommend this hotel for travelers looking to experience the excitement of Khao San.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Gammay,

We are very happy to hear that our hotel provided you with a nice respite on your recent holiday to Thailand and we would like to thank you for your generous comments.

Our small team is very proud to work at The Buddy Lodge Hotel. Here we place a very high emphasis on creating a friendly, approachable atmosphere where our guests feel both happy and well looked after.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Buddy Lodge for a few nights and found it to be a good experience overall.

The hotel has a lot of things going for it: the staff is friendly; the manager at the front desk helpful; the rooms are clean (a bonus was the security box in the room); the pool looked nice (we never actually used it) and the fitness center is quite adequate.

The things we found that worked against the hotel are: it's located in this weird plaza (the Buddy Plaza I think it's called) and there's a nightclub right at the base of the hotel which can be quite loud; its location on Khao San Road means that you've got really loud music blaring until about 3AM in the morning (think club music) -- to add to that point, you'll often find casualties from the night before lying about on the road still in a drunken stupor or wandering around with beer bottles in hand at 7 in the morning.

Overall, good hotel if you're okay with the noise (it still does penetrate even if you've asked for a quiet room) and if you like late nights and parties, etc. I probably would think twice about staying here if you are traveling with a family or babies or if you want some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a room on a high floor towards the back of the hotel. If you get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Richardsmyname,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel, located right at the heart of the Khaosan Road.

We really appreciate you kind words regarding our staff's customer service and the style of the room.

We are sorry if the noise from the nearby Khaosan Road effected your stay and hope that overall it did not detract to much away from what sounds like a positive experience.

Once again thank you for staying here and we wish you pleasant journeys in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked on the internet without problems.
Checked in late in the night.
Fast at the reception, quick to the room, and everything without any problems.
We just booked one night, but want to stay one night more, and there was no complication.
Everybody speak perfect english here. It's in the middle of the party street, but on the room is no noise.
Room is clean, have good shower and comfortable bed.
Nice pool too
The room floor was not perfect clean, but Wasn't even a problem for my friend who is normaly really picky
All together: was perfect

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Pinofrick,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor for our hotel.

The whole team at the Buddy Lodge were delighted to learn that you found our hotel both accommodating and relaxing.

We truly hope you get the opportunity to return to Thailand and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed there on February 14,15,16 when arriving in Bangkok and stayed on our return to Bangkok on March 6,7,8. This place is not for everyone because of the busy location (Khaosan Road), but if you like the markets and lots of action, this is the place for you. It is within walking distance to the grand Palace and other attractions are very close by. The hotel is nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful with information. The pool is a bonus but could use new cushions for their chairs. The beers are expensive here but you can walk over to seven eleven and buy cheap beers. If you do prefer quiet ask to stay at the back of the motel away from the street. It is our go to place when arriving and leaving Bangkok.

Room Tip: Back of the motel, away from street and close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Gerry Sauve,

Thank you very much for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel on Khaosan Road.

We are pleased to read you were happy with your clean, comfortable room and felt we represented good value for money.

We are glad you also liked our roof-top pool which enables our guests to kick back and relax in a nice quiet location away from all the craziness below.

We look forward to your next trip to Bangkok

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thanks to a friend we booked 4 nights at the Buddy Lodge on Khaosan Road. We were pleasantly surprized.The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We meet the Manager John Pettengell who was an excellent host, he answered all our questions and even took the time to join us for dinner at your other retaurant a most enjoyable time.

Buddy Lodge also had a nice retsaurant, a Macdonalds was in the same bldg, and a very nice coffee shop for specialty coffees, drinks.

The location was excellent you could walk to a lot of the retaurants and sites.

Our room was clean, with fresh bedding and towels every day. Our room overlooked Khaosan Rd which was great however it was a bit noisy. We asked if we could move to a higher floor and the staff was very accomadating.

The rooftop pool was very relaxing with lounge chairs and a bar.

The internet worked well in fact better than I expected,

We went to Koh Samui for a week and rebooked back at Buddy Lodge again we were treated very nice by a very helpful staff. They couldn't do enough for us.

As a senior my wife and I would recommend this place to anyone, and would definately stay here again if we go back,
Again John Pat and I thank you and your staff for a wonderful stay

Shannon And Pat
Ottawa Canada

Room Tip: I would choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Pat and Shannon,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your recent vacation to Thailand.

All out staff were delighted to read your review and on behalf of everyone I would like to thank you for your generous and kind words.

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back to Thailand again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#148 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.