We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buddy Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Buddy Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra discount 25% OFF
Ranked #191 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I made a booking 3 days before the arrival, and got to the hotel at 6 in the morning when 2 pm is the customary time to check in. However, the staff at the reception was very professional and immediately got me a room to stay in, not to mention a bright, warm welcome greetings. There were several comments about the noise from nearby bars in the middle of the night. I got a double bed room on the 5th floor, and I hardly had problems sleeping through it. The room was very spacious, and cleaning staff does a wonderful job maintaining cleanliness on a daily basis. The roof top pool is not to be missed.

Solo traveler, Stayed in October.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear ItsJessiexd,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our boutique hotel on the busy Khaosan Road.

Everyone here really appreciates your kind words and recommendation to other future travelers to choose our hotel.

Our Management team place a lot of emphasis on providing good customer service and assistance to all our guests. We understand that arriving in a new country can sometimes be a little daunting and if we can offer a friendly face and good sound travel advice it will enhance the guests stay.

We truly hope you will return to the Buddy Lodge again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    305
    127
    41
    30
See reviews for
59
285
80
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've traveled to and from Thailand now for the last 5 years, so I think it's ok to say I've had my fair share of hotels in BKK.

Compared to them all - Buddy Lodge took the cake! There friendly staff and impeccable rooms made the final part of the trip absolutely amazing!! The rooms are spacious, beds were big and comfy, bathroom was modern and provided everything I needed. They also have nice balcony's in each room that most have nice views of the surrounding area.

You get full access to the facilities (gym, roof-top pool with a nice bar).
Location is prestige as well. My favorite bar is "Mulligans" which is open 24/7 and is directly downstairs haha!

The pool is a beauty and the gym is well-maintained and equipped. You can even learn Muai Thai if you have the time!

In summary, if you don't mind spending a little extra (compared to hostels as i'm a young solo traveler) and want a guaranteed, pleasurable experience - stay at Buddy Lodge! I urge you!!

Jay, 24
Australia

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the top floor - closer to the pool and away from the noise (even though it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear J Blaster,

Those are truly grand words about our hotel and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to share them here on Tripadvisor.

It was a pure delight to read that you were so impressed with our hotel and its facilities during the short time you spent with us.

Thank you for mentioning our friends at the nearby Mulligan's Irish Pub. This pub is open 24 hours and is a great place to catch many different types of live sport.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Buddy Lodge Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amphoe Koh Sa-mui, Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

the location is perfect if you want to be "in the thick of it" the hotel itself is on the popular kohsarn road over mcdonalds wich makes it easy to remember !!!!! although located on the busy streets once you are in the hotel itself its supprisingly quite offering you a good nights sleep . on check in the staff were polite and friendly and the bell hop took our bags in to the room, there is an secalator in the hotel so you dont need to walk 6 flights of stairs wich is usefull after a few drinks !!! the rooms were clean bright and airy and beautifully designed,,, thai style , with big comfortable beds and all amenities including a flat screen tv !!! you have access to the pool and weights gym which is really well equipt and kept clean.... i would highly reccomend this hotel if its within your budget, i have traveled to bkk many times before and stayed in ALL types of accomodation and from now on this is the place i will choose to stay !!! thankyou to all the staff atbuddy , esecially managers "jhon" and "eye" for making our stay comfy and worry free !!!!

Room Tip: this reveiw is of the delux room ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chaweng Stadium,

Thank you for your very nice review and for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel a number of times over the last few years.

Our whole team were delighted to learn that we are your hotel of choice when you travel to Bangkok.

It was a pleasure meeting you earlier this month and we are looking forward to your next visit, later this year.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

If you love Khao San Rd this hotel is just perfect. We arrived at around 10pm on 29/10 and there was a staff who checked us in who looked very tired. She gave us the cupons for swimming pool and the gym on which is said 'valid until:30 sept', which was confusing as it meant we can only use it for one day? We didn't use the pool nor the gym anyway as we were out enjoying Bangkok everyday.

Our room was ok, not big but comfortable enough with good air-con. Nice clonial style decorations but I personally didn't like the pictures on the wall. The terrace didn't mean much as there was no view. At nights it was very noisy until about 1am as Khao San becomes crazy. The cleaner did an excellent job each day kindly hanging our own laundry and cleaning up our mess. Wi-fi was excellent.

We didnt have breakfast option included in our rate but it was ok as the pad thai lady right outside the hotel makes delicious pad thais -although not consistent-and fresh fruits are available from the street stalls even at 5am. Conveniences store is very near, McDonalds is right under and the Coffee World downstairs makes good cappucinos.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Na Hyun K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel at the heart of the world famous Khaosan Road area of Bangkok.

We are sorry for any confusion caused on our part regarding the passes for the swimming pool. Our normal procedure is to issue a paper pool ticket for each guest on the arrival date and then inform everyone that on any subsequent days they can display the electronic key card to gain access to this facility.

Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping staff, our team work so hard to keep the hotel running smoothly.

We hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Buddy Lodge for 2 nights in September 2013. The staff were extremely helpful and professional and the location was perfect as I was travelling alone. I would highly recommend Buddy Lodge and will definitely stay here again the net time I visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Eleanor R,

Thank you very much for the compliments on our services, facilities and staff. We would like to express our appreciation for your positive review and everyone here was delighted you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Buddy Lodge Hotel, Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights altogether but split 2 nights/3 nights with 2 in the middle spent at Khoa Yai.
The first 2 nights were fantastic. Great room, very spacious and a/c was fine. The pool which was one of the reasons we booked was really good. It's it huge and there aren't loads of sunbirds but it's never crowded up there are stays open til 10pm so is great for a dip and to unwind at the end of the day. We were only on the third floor so it's was quite noisy but really not bothersome
The 3 nights after coming back we're quite disappointing, the room was smaller and this was fine but the shower never went above lukewarm and when we first got there the tap wouldn't work and it took quite a long time to fix. The pool was also closed for refurbishment which we weren't told about until we arrived in Bangkok (the first time, but we had prepaid so couldn't go anywhere else). The hotel did offer a free shuttle to its sister hotel to use their pool which after a day at the Grand Palace we tried to organise but after waiting an hour we have up.was very disappointing because the pool was the main reason we had booked Buddy Lodge.

We were a couple (age 21) staying end of May/early June. We booked through agoda which I would recommend as it saved a bit of money and I'd have been disappointed if we had paid full price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Amber M,

Thank you for twice choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your vacation to Thailand earlier this year.

We were delighted to read you had such a pleasant experience the first time you stayed with us and were happy with both your room and the hotel’s facilities.

Unfortunately, we like every hotel have to on occasion conduct maintenance work to update and improve the services we provide to our valued guests.

We chose to close and renovate the swimming pool area during June 2013 as this is traditionally a quieter month in Thailand. Before this work began we informed in advance all our online partners (like Agoda) that the pool area would be closed for refurbishment.

We also made the pool at the nearby Hotel De Moc available for our guests and provided a shuttle service between the two locations. We are sorry to read that this service failed to connect you whilst you were staying with us and we will try and investigate this incident.

The hotel's swimming pool has been reopened now for over 4 months and looks better than ever before. We have replaced all the wooden floor boards and also worked extensively on the pool itself. The new facelift really is fantastic and is a great place to chill out and enjoy a cold beer or cocktail on a lazy afternoon.

We truly hope that should you return to Thailand you will choose the Buddy Lodge again and see the changes we have put in place.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here as our first destination on a 2 month Asia trip! Hotel was lovely service was till isn't apart from us getting there a few hours early and had to pay to check into our room early (annoying). They have a brilliant travel agent company across from the hotel.

All in all brilliant stay. But quite pricey!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
SDB1991,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a few words about your experiences on Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately, the normal check in time for the hotel is 14:00 pm. We understand that sometimes this can be difficult for guests who arrive very early in the morning, which is why (if available) we offer an earlier check in for a small charge.

If the guest does not want to pay extra then we can offer free luggage storage and access to our lobby lounge area.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the BTA travel agency, the staff there were delighted to get an online mention.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.