I spent only one night at Buddy Lodge in July of 2013 and I was not impressed. To start with, the room was in serious need of a paint job. What a difference a paint job would make. The room is looking really beat up. The bathroom was clean enough though the showerhead was stained with hard water type blue stains. In the middle of the night someone was smoking outside my room (whole hotel is supposed to be non-smoking) which stunk it up. The noise level outside my window was distracting though to be fair you are located on Khao San road. That being said, a set of heavy velvet curtains would dampen the noise from outside considerably. The rate I paid did not include breakfast which for whatever reason annoys me. I mean just give me a free bagel or something so I can start my day.
The worst part of my experience came at check out. When I booked the hotel online, I booked for three nights. I checked out after a very dissatisfying first night and they demanded I pay for a second night. I told them I'm not going to pay for a second night as I didn't stay there. They sited their cancellation policy as a reason for the second night. The way I read it, if I didn't show up or cancel within 72hours of showing up, I was on the hook for one night. And I paid the one night, but why they wanted a second is a mystery to me. RAther than get into a battle with someone in a foreign country, I decided to charge it to my mastercard and I disputed the charge. Waiting to hear back on that. Let me paste the cancellation policy here and you make the decision:
In case of cancellation less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in case of no-show, one night-stay per room will be charged to your credit card.
I can't say whether or not the other hotels on Khao San are better or worse but I went about 15 minutes walk down the road to the Roof View Inn and paid $20 for a single room that included a great breakfast and was in a really quiet area. Because I felt extorted upon checkout by the hotel, I am forced to give a Poor rating.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear The Guy In Kansas,
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel in Bangkok, we are sorry to read you did not have an enjoyable time during your stay.
We would like to take a moment and try and respond to some of the points raised in this review:
At our hotel we have tried very hard to enforce a non-smoking policy. We have put no smoking signs up in reception, all the hotel corridors and each guest room. Unfortunately, not all guests respect this rule and in the early hours of the morning it is very difficult to stop offending guests. As a direct result from this review we will instruct our housekeeping department to complete regular checks of the corridors at night time to try and stop this from occurring again in the future.
When a guest chooses to book through the hotel website they have the option of selecting whether they want the room to include breakfast or not. In this particular case the reviewer did not select breakfast as an option. They knew before they arrived at the hotel that breakfast was not included and this cannot really be validated as a criticism of the hotel.
If as the reviewer stated he was so dissatisfied with the room why did he not inform our Front Office Manager and give us the opportunity to assist him and solve the problems mentioned in the review above. All of the issues cited in this review as reasons for leaving could have easily been solved if they had been communicated to us the next morning.
When the reviewer contacted the reception and informed us he wished to check out 2 days earlier than scheduled the reason given was because he wanted ‘to catch a flight to another country’. He made no mention of remaining in Bangkok or changing to a better, cheaper hotel.
Our Front Office Manager informed the reviewer that if he wished to check out early he would incur a one day penalty clause. This is a standard penalty clause which most hotels would have in place, as each reserved room has been specifically blocked for each guest booking and we would have lost business as a result of the cancellation.
The Buddy Lodge is sorry if the reviewer felt coerced or pressured into having to pay the cancellation penalty, but the reasons given above are not in our opinion sufficient grounds to cancel an existing reservation.
We are disappointed we were unable to reach a compromise and wish ‘The Man In Kansas’ happier travels in the future.
Group Guest Services Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.