We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddy Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Buddy Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Buddy Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel room was average and clean. Nice decor and big queen size bed. The pool was wonderful. The location was great, but as expected,it was noisy from the bar downstairs. I was allowed a late check out, but it cost 1000 baht, a bit extreme, but made things easier for me. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Amber 123161,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a on-line review of your recent holiday experiences.

We are glad you had an enjoyable time at the Buddy Lodge and liked our newly renovated rooftop pool area.

At our hotel we understand that many of the flights and buses out of Bangkok tend to leave in the evening, which is why if requested we do offer the late check-out service.

Should our guests choose this option all hotel facilities are made available to them, such as the swimming pool, fitness centre and free WIFI, during the agreed time period.

Thank you once again for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    269
    112
    34
    27
See reviews for
49
239
69
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Buddy Lodge was a great place to stay along khao san road, lovely room and facilities, clean and modern. Great location, away from the noisier end of the road! Staff were brilliant and really helpful in giving advice about attractions and travelling arrangements. Geat price aswell, stayed at a different hotel along this road for the same price without all the same facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear NCaiquo,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for writing a Trip Advisor review of your recent hotel experience.

We were delighted to read you were impressed with our large colonial style rooms and would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff's high level of customer care.

Take care and hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Beautiful clean rooms, helpful friendly staff. Right in the middle of the madness of khaosan road bangkok. Stayed there at the start of our trip and decided to go back at the end with more friends. Will definitely recommend to others and will be staying there again when I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jasmine M,

Thank you for your kind words, it means a lot to everyone at the Buddy Lodge when we receive such a good positive on-line review.

We also really appreciate your recommendation to fellow travellers to stay here and hope you will have the opportunity to return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great room, great location and even better service, as the manager kindly allowed me and my friend to overstay our checkout when his flight was delayed. Then he was kind enough to take us out to a meal right by the hotel we were staying at. Definitely recommend buddy lodge as it is also very well priced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Acknb,

Thank you for staying at our hotel on the world famous Khaosan Road area of Bangkok.

We would also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff’s high level of customer service and it was nice to get the opportunity to catch up with you and your friend again when you returned for a 2nd time to our hotel.

Everyone at the Buddy Lodge looks forward to your next holiday to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Buddy Lodge was the first hotel we stayed at during our seven week journey through Southeast Asia. We arrived in the morning at about 10 AM and even though they didn't have a room ready, since we arrived hours before check in, they helped us get settled in by letting us freshen up and use the shower in the upstairs gym. They also stored our luggage and gave us very helpful tips to start our day. Their helpful staff made the transition into Southeast Asia very comfortable and relaxing. The manager John truly went above and beyond to make sure everything about our stay was enjoyable. On the last day of our stay he even sat down with us at the bar outside the hotel and gave us helpful tips and suggestions for the rest of our journey. The room was the perfect size and very clean. Its an older hotel, so don't expect for it to look like your standard American style room, but that made it even better because the room was unique and had character. The location of the hotel is amazing. You can find great places to grab a drink and do some cheap shopping right outside your door. Also, if your like us and still getting used to the time change its a great place to be because their is always something happening and somewhere to get food in an instance. Also, if you're interested in trying muay Thai fighting the gym upstairs has classes available if you have the time. If you're looking for a five star hotel, the Buddy Lodge isn't it, but if you want a clean hotel on Khao San Road that is a definite step up from the many hostels on the street with the luxuries and conveniences normal to the Western world than Buddy Lodge is the best option. I highly recommend staying there due to the very helpful staff, great location, and overall amazing atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Ascianna,

Thank you for choosing the Buddy Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that on your arrival at the hotel you felt our staff went out of their way to assist you after your long journey. The Buddy Group understands that many of our guests have travelled very long distances to get to Thailand and we like to try and make their transition as smooth as possible.

Thank you for also mentioning our Muay Thai classes. We have two professional trainers based at our hotel, they are well versed in working with all levels of trainees interested in learning this important aspect of Thai culture.

Everyone at the Buddy Lodge hopes you have a great holiday throughout South East Asia and that you come back and visit again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lovely clean hotel. When arriving in Koh San Road it's nice to have somewhere comfotable to stay!
Friendly staff. Room was large and very comfotable, had everything you need, was all a very clean hotel.
Perfect location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Lizzie Mannerings,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Lodge Hotel during your recent vacation to Thailand.

We were delighted to read you had a good, relaxing stay here and were impressed with our large spacious bed rooms.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you want somewhere that's right in the thick of it but comfy and quiet then this is the place. 10 minutes after I arrived I found myself sipping a beer with the manager out front. He gave a quick run down on the surrounding area and I was set. I was only going to stay in Bangkok a couple of days but ended up spending 5 nights at the Buddy Lodge. Swimming pool on the roof and easy access to everything this part of town has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear AndyB75_13,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Lodge Hotel in the heart of the ‘Old Town’ of Bangkok.

All our staff appreciate your kind words about our hotel and your praise for our customer service.

We are glad to know you enjoyed the pool area during your stay. Since your stay last month our rooftop swimming pool has received a brand new facelift and now looks better than ever.

Our whole team are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddy Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Lodge Hotel

Address: 265 Khaosan Rd. Taladyod Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the shopping and entertainment streets of Khaosan Road, Buddy Lodge is your best refuge of a cozy hotel where guests can return to a quiet relaxation away from the entire bustle of the tourist street market. The historical core of Bangkok where most of the tourist attractions are found just around the corner and one can walk to visit Bangkok’s most popular tourist attractions, The Grand Palace, The Golden Mount, The Temple of The Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew), The Temple of The Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), The Democracy Monument, and many other cultural sites in the Bangkok City Old Town. Buddy Lodge offers the most convenient location and comfortable facilities for travelers to the popular Khaosan Road and visitors to the famous historical places of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buddy Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddy Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.