We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Makkasan to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Having stayed at airport hotels in Bangkok and been stuck in the middle of nowhere for food and entertainment, I wanted a hotel that was close to the CBD but still easy to get to the airport. The Eastin Hotel in Makkasan was a 50bht taxi from the new airport express line and Makkasan station (15min from airport). Yet to try the other hotels also nearby but I was more than happy with the Eastin Hotel's service, friendliness and facilities. My room price of 2600bht included breakfast which was great. The location was also convenient to get to Siam Square and all the shopping districts.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    308
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
126
211
32
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We had 3 rooms and stayed 4 night. One room was unmade when we checked in but that is OK, we waited for a while as we want to be next to each other. The rooms are modern, nice and clean. Had to call housekeeping and room service, they're all fast and efficient. Communication is smooth as front desk and most staff speaks English well. Breakfast buffet spread is very good and nice.

One complain is the room service food. We ordered 6 different dishes for supper at around 11pm. All arrived hot but all of them are too salty! Seems like someone forgot and sprinkled salt a second time. Also the portions are small.

Another must act on improvement is the breakfast buffet settings. Forks and knives are laid on a rubber table mat. When they clear the table, they use the same cleaning cloth to wipe the table and the rubber table mat. This is most unhygienic.

For cost, comfortability and service I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights because it was included with our flight package.
The hotel was decent, clean, friendly and helpful personel and the location was a street away from the bayoke sky hotel for a nice view.
Taxis and tuktuks stop right out your door. We checked out at 4:30 in the morning and we had the counter call us a taxi. No problem since the lobby was manned 24/7.

I would recommend this hotel for a day or 2. It has all the basics and a bit more with a pool and a restaurant and such.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We planned to stay in this hotel during the first nights of our Thailand tour. We arrived in the middle of the night of 17-18th of December and what happened was really unbelievable. Although we booked the rooms for the night of the 17th, when we arrived at 1:30am they told us, the rooms are not ready. The staff was extreme unfriendly and they did not want to find a solution. The duty manager was even worse. They wanted to give our family of 5 people (we booked two rooms on the same floor), one suite with one bed, smelling like hell (sorry, no other word to describe it). Really impossible. Nobody in the hotel tried to find an answer. They said, the other guests had left the hotel at 20:30pm the evening before and they had not been able to clean the rooms in 5 hours. We thought, if they cannot clean 2 rooms in 5 hours, it can only get worse. They did not offer us any apologise so we left and stayed at the Hilton Millennium Hotel in Bangkok, a marvelous hotel with excellent service and staff.
Please warn everybody that wants to stay in this hotel, to choose another hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surapan, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Makkasan, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Home2308,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your comments and feedback.

The experience you described has caused us deep concern and we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the unfortunate incident that occurred upon your arrival regarding the difficulties of your room requirements and assignment.

We had planned your arrival but could not provide you immediately 2 connecting superior rooms for one triple and one twin on the same floor at the time of your arrival.

Please be assured that we take a serious stand on these matters and corrective measures have been taken to ensure that this type of incident is not repeated.

We seek your kind understanding on this matter and sincerely wish to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Surapan Somthai (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

stayed in this hotel on 15 nov. hotel location is very good, room has safe locker. and every room has lcd tv with free internet acces throug the key board provided in the room. breakfast is very good. It has spa, swimming pool , tour bookig services and good staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel is located on the outer edge of the city proper, but plenty of shops and street vendors just around the corner. It was neat to wander through an area the locals shop. The rooms were very comfortable and airconditioning worked great. You get a couple of complimentary bottled waters each day. The minibar was affordably priced. I had no problem with internet service. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. Room service was good and quick. We had great service.

No problem in getting into the middle of the city. A meter-taxi (ALWAYS tell them to turn it on), was less than $3, even though the traffic turned the ride into 20-30 minutes at times. Bangkok is infamous for it's traffic. We only paid $10 for the 45 minute ride to the airport...crazy cheap.

. My favorite thing here at the Eastin...the Spa! It was absolutely fantastic!! The individual therapy rooms were spacious and immaculate and the therapists are very skilled. It was a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

from the time we arrived which was early in the morning the service was above 5 star, as we were on honeymoon they offered us a free upgrade....
The room we stayed in was stunning after a nap we went out for a walk, the Eastin is so well situated walking around is interesting, on our return the staff had placed slippers next to the bed flowers in a bowl along with fruit and rose petals on the bed....
We spent 4 nights there, it really is the nicest hotel I have stayed in, in Bangkok. I have travelled to Thailand on and off over the past 15 years, and this was by far my best trip..
Breakfast amazing and until 11am, pool area clean and lovely poolside staff....
Thank you to staff and management of the Eastin for making our stay so amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#159 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#173 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Makkasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.