We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Makkasan to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What an experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

I recently stayed at the Eastin and must report that although you do get an excellent breakfast, the rest of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. The rooms are old and tired and the carpets are quite dirty. If you don't like cigarette smoke then try to avoid getting a room on any floor but the 18th. This is the only non-smoking floor in the whole hotel. Avoid getting a taxi right outside the hotel as they tend not to use the meters and therefore you will definately pay more. The hotel itself could do with a repaint throughout and a change of carpet is well and truly due. The hotel supplies bottled drinking water but be very careful which one you use. You could be billed 100B per bottle if you use the one from the fridge. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in your room. Overall, there are better hotels in the same area and I would encourage you to explore other options.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    308
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
126
211
32
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bekgium
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

This place is a nightmare. It is right on a major traffic intersection. I counted at least 21 lanes of traffic from my room. I was put in a smoking room and could not change until the next day. The noise from the roads is hard to believe and lorries honk their horns all night.

It's not even that well located, not on the Skytrain and certainly not in a great neighbourhood. I would not recommend any of the hotels around there.

Taxi drivers don't want to put the meter on and will charge ridiculous amounts which is the first time I have ever had this in Bangkok.

I paid 2,200 baht and regretted every minute of it.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2005

Stayed there for 3nites. As my boyfriend and I did not wanna spend too much on a hotel, we trusted our travel agency's recommendation and chose Eastin

Nice lobby they have, faces highway. Location was not too bad though it faces the highway (but not noisy at all). The cab drivers I encountered knew how to get to the hotel. And the cab fare from Eastin to chatuchak is around 100 baht and from Eastin to Suan Lum is only 53 baht!

The lobby staff were very nice as well. There's a nice lobby lounge when the pianist would play music and sing. There's a 7-11 store opposite Eastin as well. The hotel is neither sleazy nor spooky.

If there's anything that I find unsatisfying would be the daily breakfast spread (always the same throughout) and the cab service at level 1 of the hotel is quite aggressive. Better not to take them and flag a taxi urself nearby may be cheaper.

I would choose Eastin again if I were to pick a 3* hotel for my future trips. Overall I really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

Stayed here from 3/23/05 - 3/27/05. The reception people were rude all the time. The room stunk and the drapes were dry rotted. The A/C had noises bellowing out and it did not keep the room cool. The bathroom was nasty. The Thai food from room service was good to give credit. The neighborhhod was not that great and the location s-----. The Asia near Siam Square was much better for the same price range. Email me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room I was given smelt as if 20 years of cigarette smoke had got congealed in one place. It took me 5 hours to get the room changed. The flush in the loo didn't work. I actually checked out of the hotel after 2 nights, although I had paid for 4 nights. In any case, the location is also extremely seedy and I will definitely advise people to stay clear of this hotel

  • Stayed February 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2005

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Eastin Hotel for 3 nights during January. Initially we chose the Eastin Hotel as it was close to our friends who were staying at the Bangkok Palace Hotel (which is next door).

We were glad we chose the Eastin as the rooms were very clean and spacious in contrast to the rooms at the Bangkok Palace Hotel. Although they were unable to accomodate a double bed for us, they offered to pushed together 2 queen/king sized singles for us-which proved just as comfortable.

The breakfast was definitely worth the early wake up as it was fresh and offered a variety of choices.

The staff were friendly and accomodating and as a bonus the hotel also offered a free shuttle bus to popular tourist and shopping areas such as MBK, Siam Square, Central World Plaza and Pratunam market which leaves 3x a day -which certainly takes the effort out to dealing with taxi and tuk tuk drivers.

The gym and pool were appealing too.

We felt that the Eastin offered better quality for the same price it would have costed to stay in other hotels in the pratunam area. Overall, we had a pleasurable stay and would not hesitate to come back to stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2004

The Eastin is a very modern hotel that offers excellent value for money. I would rate it a good 4 stars hotel. I enjoyed the location in Pratunam, an area with many small local shops and stalls on the streets. Cheap internet shops, THB 20.00 for one hour! For tourists more interesting however is nearby Thanon Ratchaprarop.

The hotel offers good facilities, I enjoyed the gym, sauna and pool (very cold!). Excellent dinner and breakfast buffets. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious with all the amenities you can expect from a hotel of this class.

But beware of the people that hang around at the bell desk on the ground floor. They seem to be working for the hotel and should provide you any assistance they can. But they are just interested in making any extra money by selling any tours to you or any service that you don't really require. Just ignore them and stop a taxi on the street.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#159 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#172 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Makkasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.