We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Save Saved
You added Eastin Hotel Makkasan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i had stayed in bangkok many times this is the best hotel. i have stayed in eastin over 4 times
The staff are very friendly and helpful.The hotel is very clean and hygenic.The food has a good spread and variety the family is safe ,children loves the place.Overall i guess it's the best place to stay in bangkok. We stated there for 10 days and it was really superb.We stayed on the 12 th
floor room no; 1211.

Room Tip: overall all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    274
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
107
196
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days during the Labour day weekend. Not impressed at all but okay enough to stay for a few days. Longer than 5 days you'll lose motivation to wake up for the same breakfast every single day.
Few pointers;
Pro:
1) within walking distance to pratunam, platinum & Big C.
2) nearby train is the airport link and bts phaya thai(one station away connecting with the airport link.
3) 7-eleven, massage parlour, cafes with free wifi are nearby.

Con:
1) Stayed at room 2422, so I can only comment the wifi connection in my room. It sucks, not consistent most of the time. And we keep having to reenter the password and login which we were given like coupons at the reception counter. Problem is, these coupons are not the similar.. It is like a lucky draw! Some would give you 1 day pass or 7 days. You will only know upon login! C'mon! It was frustrating!
Ps: Wifi in its lobby & coffee shop are wayyyyyy better.

2)Get the cab from airport instead of arranging it with hotel.
We were charged 1100BHT per way from DMK. Apparently it didn't happen upon arrival so we hired a cab from airport, cost us 800BHT and we got a Mercedes! Quite a new one and clean! We took the transfer from Eastin-DMK. Guess what it was just a Toyota Avanza. A total rip off. 300BHT difference!

3) If you are a Muslim, it's going to be a challenge to find Halal food nearby. I couldn't find any Halal Thai food.However, there are Indian & Arab restaurants. Compared to Malaysia, it is easy to trust but here in Bangkok I am not sure since there were no certificates visible except for the typical Halal signage.

So my point is, you can ge better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMB_General_Manager, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Makkasan, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Artfingers,
Greetings from Eastin Makkasan Bangkok.
I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is essential in ensuring that we rectify any problems as they occur and maintain our high standards.
It was a pleasure to read that you found our location convenient for both shopping and making Bangkok accessible with our proximity to the BTS and Airport Link.
May I sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations.
I regret that you considered our breakfast to be lacking in variety as other reviewers have mentioned the wide selection of dishes we provide, including western, Indian, Japanese, Thai and a large choice of bakery items, fruits, salads, yoghurts etc.
Thank you for informing us about the strength of the Wi-Fi in your room. Our IT department has now rectified the problem. Unfortunately we have no record of a complaint of this nature during your stay as we would taken care of this while you were in residence.
I must further apologize that you considered THB 1,100 to be a “total-rip” off for our new outsourced vehicle to take you to the airport as in many cases we are cheaper than our competitors in this regard. We also guarantee that the transportation we provide through the outsource company is fully insured and maintained and the driver fully licensed and regulated for the safety and well-being of our guests which is something we cannot guarantee with a taxi from outside the hotel.
I would like to end by saying that it was a delight to serve you and on your next trip to Bangkok we hope you reconsider and choose to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Chutima Kaewta Fortescue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

It's a very good hotel.Bit far from center bur for 100 baht per person cab gets you everiwhere.Very helpfull staff everytime helping me with tv problem . It's a good price and everything went ok.Stayed 3 nights

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Eastin Makassan in Bangkok for 3 nights. Our room on the 27th floor had a magnificent view of the city that never sleeps. Rooms were lovely and staff most accommodating, looking after our luggage for a whole day as our flight was only at 1 am in the morning. Hotel also located close to skytrain station to the airport.

Room Tip: Higher floors beautiful view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur (Trichur), Kerala, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at Eastin Makkasan.The rooms were clean and well appointed though not that spaceous.Breakfast was a delight.The hotel is in nice location and very comfortable for families.The swimming pool in tenth floor was big and well maintained.Overall a place that can be recommended to your friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a very good stay at the hotel. It was very quiet and neat. There was a lot of choices when it came to the buffet breakfast as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even looked after our luggage for an entire day after we had checked out and was waiting for our taxi and flight late that night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to Eastern Hotel Makkasan in Bangkok.We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel the Service was excellent the hotel can be recommended with all services and food. The only downfall was the reception that could not understand basic English this caused a communication barrier, the shopping at the flea market was outstanding only 20 min drive with a Taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#131 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#146 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#173 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Makkasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.