We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eastin Hotel Makkasan to your Saves list
Eastin Hotel Makkasan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Service was brilliant! Everyone was very helpful and friendly despite them not being able to speak English. The room was great , clean and spacious! Breakfast are of varieties too!
However,it would have been better if they could provide more tv channels without having to pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    337
    99
    34
    21
See reviews for
137
247
34
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

the hotel boasts its proximity to airport train. It's in between stations. it's close to some monorail stations, but just far away enough that you'd want to take the hotel shuttle. but the shuttle is not sufficiently frequent so be convenient. It is within 1-2 km of lots of things, but too short for taxi and too long for a hot grimy walk. There can be confusion in meeting people, since there is both a ground floor entrance/lobby, and a level 7 lobby for hotel check-in. The rooms are quite adequate, with free broadband (and not wifi), decent bed, functional bathrooms (with limited amenities). The buffet spread is substantial, but it is the same everyday, and indifferent quality in ingredients and taste. Lots of tour groups seem to stay here, so perhaps that is the market segment best suited. The view from the top floor lounge is terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very clean and good space to be in.
Situated on a potentially noisy street with highway and rail very close.....
I was so wrong to think we wouldn't sleep because of the noise, it was awesome!!
The hotel rooms are very well sound proofed and we slept very well with no noise at all, even the aircon was quiet!

The staff were very helpfull and friendly, always smiling and happy.

The Thai menu was the best by far and really cheap too! Fresh fruits and a large selection for breakfast!

A short walk to the markets and some of the bigger shopping centers was a pleasure, you Just need to be cautious of the TUKTUKS, as they will take you to places where they have friends and get Fuel credits for every passenger introduced to the local Taylors and restaurants! These are more often than not very far off the beaten track and will also cost you a lot of cash in fares!!
You have been warned!

Room Tip: The noisy side is the rail and city view, the quiet side has another hotel blocking the noise so a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

we stayed dere for 2 nights n our experience was terrible.most of the hotel staff didnt know english .apart from that the beds were uncomfortable n bed linens and pillow covers were torn.never seen such a hotel before......it is far away from famous shopping centres.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suratsawadee, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Makkasan, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear hrprt,
Greetings from Eastin Makkasan Bangkok.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor as it is only through feedback such as yours that we can rectify any problems that occur and maintain our high standards of comfort and service.
I must sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations and led you to consider Eastin Makkasan “pathetic” and “terrible”.
I have instructed my Housekeeping Manager to ensure that her staff inspect every item of bedding before placing it on the bed to avoid any damaged linen.
I regret that you found our beds to be uncomfortable as the vast majority of our guests say that they sleep very well at Eastin and the reviews on Trip Advisor seem to support this due to the positive comments we receive regarding the rooms.
I am sorry that you found communication with our staff difficult as most guests seem to have little problem with this issue. If you could kindly take the time to contact me directly outlining the specific areas of the hotel where you encountered problems I will take the necessary action to ensure it does not happen again.
I would like to point out that, with regards to the proximity of the hotel to the major shopping areas, Bangkok traffic permitting we are approximately 10-15 minutes by taxi from Siam Paragon, Central World and Terminal 21 and Platinum Mall is 10 minutes walking distance.
I would like to end by saying that we were delighted to serve you as our honored guest and that we hope that you visit Bangkok again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed one week in the hotel in late September.

The pros: Very clean and well maintained. Friendly and polite staff. Great view from the rooms (which are nice, of sufficient size and well equipped). Very nice buffet breakfast.

The cons: Location: 10 minutes walk to the nearest train station, which is the airport train so you need to change to another line; taxis are a convenient option though, unless you overpay them (always ask for a meter). No wifi in the rooms. Bad (though tolerable) wifi reception at the lobby (guys, place more routers!).

Overall: I recommend this hotel, unless you want to be closer to the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is in Makkasan area, which is a little far away from all the interesting things in the city, but that's it's only disadvantage.
at first, we were very happy to be welcomed by very friendly and nice staff who took our bags every chance they had, and didn't let us open the doors by ourselves.
The lobby is looking luxurious with high ceiling and tidiness.
the rooms are very nice, they got an interactive TV, hair-dryer, and all the good regular things.
The breakfast was very rich and had a lot to choose from.

in short, this hotel is a great value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor - the city view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just came home from my trip to Bangkok. I must say I was quite skeptical about this hotel when I first booked it. Reason is because I usually based on the pictures on the internet to gather how great the hotel is, and it's often not what it seems. However, when I reached there, I was surprised that it was very alike to what I see online, or even better. The place is really beautiful, and the staffs there were really helpful and friendly. The bedroom was also awesome, and they have all the necessary facilities here - swimming pool/gym/spa & massage/wifi etc. They also have a great chilled out area at the top level which has great ambience and really romantic for couples. The only problem I had here was the location because it wasn't near any shopping areas and we have to either walk long distance, or take cab (most of them don't want to on meter). Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastin Hotel Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Hotel Makkasan

Address: 1091/343 New Petchburi Road | Makkasan, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastin Hotel Makkasan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for all occasions hotel in Bangkok. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is designed with an emphasis on supreme comfort and style featuring a contemporary interior reflecting our international chain brand essence. Our 4 star hotel in Bangkok provides excellent in-room facilities, various dining options, fully equipped function rooms and all the amenities expected of a deluxe hotel including complimentary Wi-Fi Internet throughout the property. Eastin Hotel Makkasan Bangkok is the ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, providing family floors with child friendly facilities, a boardroom located on the 31st floor catering for small corporate meetings and The Attica Sky Lounge for private events featuring unparalleled panoramic views of the city skyline. Eastin 4 star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently located on Makkasan Road in the Pratunam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastin Hotel Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastin Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Eastin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastin Hotel Makkasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.