We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Diamond Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Cagayan de Oro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We were booking for another hotel but it wasnt available on the dates we wanted. Our agent booked us in this hotel instead. Upon arrival you get dismayed of how small the lobby is. It gets cramped with tourists once the vans arrive from the airport. But once we got inside our room we were happy. Our room was big. It had an ante suite with a receiving and kitchenette. The bedroom was big so was the toilet and bath. It was close to shopping. And in the evening if you get tired a massage establishment is available in the lower floor. Breakfast is very taste. Over all experience is great. Would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    601
    193
    60
    20
See reviews for
126
88
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

First impression of the Hotel was very run- down. However, the things impress me is that the location is very good and near a lot of major shopping mall and there is a 24 hours supermarts.
Report this review

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located near all the main shopping areas in central Bangkok so it is very convenient for shoppers. There are a lot of eataries nearby from fast food like mcdonalds and kfc to local restaurants and street food. The room is a little dated but the price is reasonable. If you only plan to come back to hotel at the end of day to rest, then a dated hotel shouldnt matter

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Diamond Suites on my first night in Bangkok and had a room on the 25th floor with two single beds, approx. 34 m2 in size. The room was very clean and well appointed; the mini-bar had a clear glass front so you could see what was in it, there was plenty of closet space and good lighting. The bathroom was spacious with a large separate shower and a bath tub on the other side of the room surrounded by windows from the tub to the ceiling so you could have a bath with a great view. All the staff are very pleasant and efficient and I appreciated the free Wifi. My room also had a set of scales which told me not only my weight but also my body fat percentage - good news, if you're trying not to overindulge while on holiday. I got the complimentary breakfast with this room and this was provided in one of the two restaurants on the eighth floor and was a quite extensive buffet with a very good multi-cultural selection of foods.

After a few nights away in the country, I returned to the Grand Diamond Suites for three more nights and this time I had a suite, approx 45 m2 in size. This one had a separate sitting room and kitchenette with a bigger fridge, a microwave and even two hotplates in addition to the usual cupboards and drawers. Interestingly, no crockery, cutlery, pots or pans were provided, only four drinking glasses. Also provided (like the other room) was a kettle and coffee mugs and the makings of tea and coffee etc along with two bottle of drinking water each day.

No bath with a view this time - the shower was in the window instead but with frosted glass (the citizens of the area are no doubt grateful to be spared the sight of me showering) and the bath tub over the other other side of the room. Again good closet space. The flat screen TV could be turned around on its credenza and watched either in the sitting room or from the king sized bed - this was situated in an open wall unit which separated the living room from the bedroom. This room wasn't quite as freshly decorated as the previous room - one of the roman blinds was broken and the carpet was stained near the bed but otherwise, it was a very pleasant room to stay in. There was a control panel next to the bed which controlled all the lighting in the whole suite, the Tv and the air conditioning - I want one for home, now!

I got room service from one of the restaurants for two of my lunches and one dinner - this cost an extra 100 baht for the dinner but no extra charge for either of the lunches. The hotel has an excellent massage service and you can either go to the very well appointed massage centre on the ninth floor or have them come to your room. I had no trouble with noise at night although the street vendors do crank things up fairly early and can be heard as far up as the 25th floor where I was the first night.

Halal food is provided by one of the restaurants and the other restaurant does very upmarket meals and also yum cha. The hotel is situated right in the heart of all the shopping you could possibly want - seven floors of wholesale shopping next door to the right, a huge computer and electronics plaza to the left and around the corner to the right several shopping centres with more upmarket retail shopping. Tuk tuks abound right outside, plenty of other dining options including a Starbucks right in the lobby and a McDonalds both across the street and up the street on the same side, to name just two of many.

I needed a late check out on my last day, an extra three hours, and this was no problem at all.
I'm glad I chose this hotel and would stay there again on future trips. It's also quite handy to transport.

Room Tip: I stayed in 1807 and there was only one other room down my end of that corridor so very quiet, didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Over the last 10 years i have spend many happy returns to this hotel.It is well situated in the shopping mecca of Pratunam, and in the lsat 2 years the building was converted into another shopping mall,with the Hotel suites on the floors above.The rooms are nice and spacious, with your own little kitchen for self catering. Breakfast is included in the very reasonable rates.Easy access to and from the Airports by meter taxi, (30 minutes). The staff at the Grand Diamond Suites Hotel all speak enough english for you to understand them.They are a friendly and happy lot, and always willing to help.The surroundings are wonderful, with lots of vendors for fruit and food, and take away cafes are a plenty around.The big bonus is...FREE WI-FI,in your room.They have had their normal problems to maintain the old section of the building, but they are approving,give it time.AND, tell the management about any problems, they appreciate it,and strive to rectify it.....don't just leave and condemn the Hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view and try for a corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The individual suites were fairly large with a separate sleeping and living cum kitchenette area. Wifi was free for 2 connections only within the room. However, it connected with all our mobiles, ipads and computers.

Unfortunately, they are alittle sticky on late check-outs, however we were accomodated till 1 pm.

Located just at the shopping belt in Prattunam. If shopping is your thing, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We are regular guests and frankly if not because of its location, we will stay eslewhere. The junior suites are old and poorly maintained. Hole in the wall. Carpets are stained, kitchenette counter and tap dirty and stained. The air con is dusty and the renovations done to the facade of the hotel and to add retail space just spoil the hotel image with cheap shops enroaching even the lobby. We have also stayed at their luxury room and frankly its not luxurious, even the shower mixer is spoiled. This used to be the best hotel to stay in pratunam.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Diamond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Address: 888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#192 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Diamond Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Diamond Suites Hotel Bangkok, is located on New Petchburi Road, with Platinum Mall and Panthip Plaza on either side. Other shopping malls in the nearby area include Siam Paragon, MBK, Central World Plaza, and Siam Square. The Bangkok hotel is also near the BTS sky train line, thereby providing guests easy access to the various shopping centers and markets that Bangkok is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Diamond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Diamond Hotel Bangkok
Grand Diamond Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Diamond Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.