We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms a bit dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Diamond Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rooms a bit dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Its our 2nd time staying at this hotel for me and my sister. Though the hotel is dated (so is the room), we dont mind as what we wanted was the location. The location is great! Great for shopping! The only con I find that the breakfast. We stayed for 4 days and the food is the same, EVERYDAY! If you are looking for hotel that have a great location in Bangkok, then this is it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    562
    175
    51
    15
See reviews for
96
70
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a good shopping spree with friends and the location of the hotel is just fantastic!
The hotel is a bit dated but overall the stay there was great for shopping.
The staff is friendly and very accomodating when we ask for additional amenities.
The directions and recommendations given by the staff to us were accurate and even the transport to the airport is well arranged for all of us.
We managed to try the thai massage in the hotel and it was good and the place is very clean.
Will definitely stay there the next time when my friends go there for another shopping spree.
Recommended for ardent shoppers!

Room Tip: For twin beds, go for Room 1302 . There is a comfortable lounge with a separate television
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

SHOPPING!! This is the main reason you stay in this place. This is why i give 3 stars overall. No doubt the location is fantastic just beside the platinum mall, in front of pratunam market. Siam city and MBK mall is in walking distance (a bit dangerous though, feel not safe on the street).

Room is big and has living rooms. But we had a hiccup the first time we check in, they give us the room with bathtub still dirty and the bath towel is dirty. We went downstair again ask to change room and guess what, they said we are the one who use it! Really?! Webl just less than 5 minutes away from time we check in and complaint. We argued for half hour until they gave us new room. And they are very strict with how many people enter the room. It showed.

Breakfat is beyond expectation. But service is terrible, no thailand hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location near all the shopping, kitchenette is small and there were no utensils or crockery provided. Room service did provide us with plates etc on request, but have stayed in better suite hotels in Bangkok for similar price. Nevertheless the location compensates for minor deficiencies

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Take the City-Link from the airport B2, grab a Rail Map and drop off at the station right beside Baiyoke Sky Hotel. Grand Diamond Suites is just a short 10 mins walk away.
Located right beside the infamous Platinum Fashion Mall, this hotel's location is ideal for people who are just in Bangkok for the main purpose of shopping.

Upon entering the Grand Diamond Building, the small lobby is located on the right side, 'Blink & you could Miss it.' Just look out for the Starbucks. Check-in is efficient and the reception staff are all able to speak and understand English well. My requests via the booking website Booking.com for a high floor and a double bed were met as well, Room 1508. Free Wifi code is also provided for two electrical appliances for our stay of 4 days.

The door opens to a small but comfortable living area with a two-seater couch, a small dining table, 2 chairs, a 32-inch flat panel TV, a fridge and a sink but no cooking stove =(
My friend claimed there is a stove at her last stay here, perhaps its only if you request for it when booking.
Bedroom is large with a cupboard and plenty of space to store our bags, with bathrobes, safe and the usual assortment of toiletries in the bathroom with shower in tub. There's also a dressing table with another 32-inch television. There are large bayview windows in both the living area and bedroom.The view is nothing to scream about, overlooking the side of the hotel at the traffic.

Air-conditioning is individually both in the living and bedroom areas, abit noisy but bearable. Extremely efficient and powerful, the entire suite gets cold very easily. In the end, we just turned up the aircon in the living area to HIGH and LOWEST temperature and left the bedroom open; that is even cold enough to warrant the thick blanket when sleeping!

WIFI is extremely unpredictable and painfully slow most of the time. If you have an Iphone or a device which allows you to access 3G using the dtac sim card which gives you free 3G for 7 days at 299Bhat (can be bought at airport), do use that instead of the Hotel WIFI.
The small swimming pool on the 8th floor is perfect for soaking in after a sweltering hot day walking in the city.

Makeshift shops line almost the entire street of Pratunam and a mini night market springs up right outside the hotel at night. Be warned though, most of the shops in the buildings and even lining the streets close very early about 8 in the evening.

Do NOT use the taxis & especially the Tuk-Tuks in the daytime as most of them tie up with ridiculousy expensive Indian/Middle East Tailor shops and will send you there first before anywhere you wanna go. You are almost held hostage and feel obligated to buy something, cuz if you did, the drivers get free fuel. Our tuk-tuk driver got angry and did not send us to our final destination, dropping us off at his convenience, when we did not purchase anything.

The Sky Train or BTS stations, SIam & National STadium, are located about a 10 mins walk away from Grand DIamond just up the hill where Central World, Siam Centre (Ocean World), SIam Discovery Centre (Madame Tussauds) and MBK Centre are. If you utilise the rail map, you will not need to use overpriced taxi or tuk-tuk at all. The Sky Trains link to MRT and even to the River Taxi at Central Pier. If you cannot read the map, Just enquire at the COntrol STation and they will point out the right direction.

Food is everywhere, if you are not fussy. Halal food, however is quite a quest.
KFC is halal, the best Halal Food is found in MBK centre, on the Fifth Floor, a Marche-style kind of food court with a good variety of Halal Food. Avoid the Indian stall, too over-priced.

Overall, this hotel is Good Value-for-Money in a great location for shoppers. Our request for a late check-out was only extended for an hour at 1pm. However, the hotel does stow away your bag for your convenience at no cost.

Room Tip: Make your requests when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location as it is very near the main shopping districts.
Overall friendly staff too. But I guess due to the age of the building, certain areas/amenities might need a bit of a touch up already.
For example we had issues with the air-conditioning during our stay there.Wifi was a bit cranky at times
plus point is that it has a mini kitchenette so u can do some light cooking too

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're a hardcore, self-professed, absolute shopaholic, Grand Diamond Suites is an absolute godsend for you.

Location-wise, Grand Diamond Suites Hotel is smack-dab right beside the Platinum Fashion Mall, which boasts a staggering 2,000 over shops selling wares from clothes to stationery. Should you(or the minion who got assigned to hold your wares) get too tired from holding loads and loads of ridiculously cheap clothes and knick-knacks, you could just stroll back to your room, catch a breather and then head right back to Round 2 thereafter. The convenience also means you don't have to fight a crowd on the BTS or pay horrifyingly expensive taxi/tuktuk fees just to get to Platinum Fashion Mall.

However, if you wish to shop somewhere fancier, the CentralWorld mall is right round the corner from Platinium Mall (literally, just cross the bridge and ta-da! You're in the world of high-end brands and posh restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Diamond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Diamond Suites Hotel

Address: 888 New Petchburi Road,Rajthevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#188 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Diamond Suites Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Diamond Suites Hotel Bangkok, is located on New Petchburi Road, with Platinum Mall and Panthip Plaza on either side. Other shopping malls in the nearby area include Siam Paragon, MBK, Central World Plaza, and Siam Square. The Bangkok hotel is also near the BTS sky train line, thereby providing guests easy access to the various shopping centers and markets that Bangkok is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Diamond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Diamond Hotel Bangkok
Grand Diamond Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Diamond Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.