We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs, it is a disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tongtara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tongtara Hotel to your Saves list
Tongtara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9/99 Charoen Krung Road | Bangkoleam, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #434 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel at all costs, it is a disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for four nights and our stay was absolutely appalling. The staff were extremely rude from the outset (with the exception of the doorman who was very friendly) but the reception staff, room service staff and housekeeping were all exceptionally unfriendly and made no effort to make us feel welcome or make our stay pleasant. After our room was cleaned on the first day, we returned after a day out to see that empty glasses and bottles had not been cleared away, there was no new toilet roll which made things slightly awkward, to say the least. The rooms were incredibly dated, the bathroom was dirty, the staff could not understand a word of English and did not make any attempt to understand what we were asking for, whether it be directions or a coffee on room service. We ate in the restaurant once and had to wait 35 minutes for our lunch (a salad and a club sandwich). The sandwich was inedible - it was cold and tasted as if it had just been taken out the freezer. They then charged us 10% service charge even though we nearly missed our plane as we had waited so long for our inedible food. The location is completely undesirable with no useful amenities close by. The river taxis are around a twenty minute walk but these stop at 10pm and the roads are heavily congested so it takes hours to get anywhere. All in all, I would not wish a stay at Tongtara on my worst enemy. Unfriendly, dirty, rude staff and terrible location. It might be cheap but there is a reason for that.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    64
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
13
40
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've just returned from Bangkok & found the staff good humoured & helpful, the hotel was very clean, the shower terrific & we had a great veiw. My friend got gastric enteritis & they sent us down to the government hospital, she was put on a drip for four hours, given 5 medications, excellent advice & the total charge was around NZ $23.00!!! An enormous Night market has just opened 5 mins walk from the hotel called Asiatique open 5pm til midnight, we enjoyed getting the river boats otherwise 50baht taxi to catch the Skytrain. We were not charged for water or local calls.

Room Tip: Ask for a river veiw, they also have some rooms without carpets for people with allergies, there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. As others have mentioned, the online booking did not work for us as the reception did not know about our booking at all. Other than that irritant, the other aspects went fine for us. Staff were polite and helpful in guiding us where to go in the city, even provided us with free Internet for a while. The rooms were nice and well taken care of. The amenities in the room (beds, bathroom, sheets, blankets, furniture, tv etc) were all of good standard. The view from our room was awesome, Asiatique was few mins walk. Bit far from the city centre, but makes up for that with the ferry service and quiet, easy surrounding. Definitely recommend to anyone. We did not feel we were overcharged, instead we felt we got our money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

rooms were better after a new painting
and the water from the swimmingpool is too cold by this weather

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

far from central of bangkok a little.
but, room and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I have stayed here my past 3 visits to Bangkok. This is a no frills room, but clean and adequate. Staff was friendly, room service also nice, but you get extra special service if you tip them well, but by US standards, a bargain. We have family nearby, within walking distance, so the location was good. Our room included breakfast, which was another bargain. Lots of choices. You will do better to call this hotel for reservations, online it always says no rooms available. Our family usually handles that. All in all, a decent hotel,cheap but not scary.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

room very nice and good servce.
thank you for your kindness.
no commend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tongtara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongtara Hotel

Address: 9/99 Charoen Krung Road | Bangkoleam, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongtara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongtara Riverview Hotel is located within the old historical Bangkok Chinese community on Charoen Krung road and lies next to the Chao Phaya River, locally known as the River of Kings. Well located for business, shopping, and entertainment together with easy access to The Sky Train, River Boats, and local busses for your transportation requirements.Enjoy breathtaking views of Bangkok's city skyline and sunsets at the end of an exciting day from your room and the Sky Pool on the fifth floor. With easy controlled room lighting controls and air comfort, you will enjoy a peaceful night and wake up refreshed for another day of activities and new memories to take back home.The hospitality of the Kingdom of Siam, as it was known before, is offered by our hotel to provide comfort, security, and satisfaction for your stay. Centered within the old area of the former riverside Chinese business centers and shipping port, Tongtara has a local ambiance, style, and traditions which will provide you with different experiences as you walk along the streets meeting the local people and trying some of the local foods sold by the street vendors.Down side streets and pathways will take you to the Chao Phaya, River of Kings filled with ships coming in and going out of the main port area and local river barges carrying supplies to other cities outside Bangkok, together with public taxi transport boats which will take you up and down the river while enjoying the different scenery along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tongtara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongtara Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tongtara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.