We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a mish mash!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Rama Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bangkok Rama Hotel to your Saves list
Bangkok Rama Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1546 Pattanakarn Road | between Pattanakarn 48 and 50, Bangkok 10250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #435 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 42 Reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A bit of a mish mash!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

What can I say..... the Rama or Baan Siri or 4 Dance Studio or Restaurant Live Band Bar... ?

As with most things Thai, this simply did not know what it wanted to be. Was it a Hotel, a Dance Studio, a Bar and or Restaurant or, whatever, we didn't know?

Be warned, you are outside of Bangkok Central and as such you are cut off from the world. You have to pay for the internet and it isn't cheap at 500 Bht for 500 minutes, it isn't fast either! The views are frustrating, especially if you are facing Bangkok Central. We stayed within the Hotel itself, not having the courage to try the huts (cottages) on site, given the reviews on here.

On a plus note, it is very near to Hua Mak City Line Station and until the end of 2010 all trips on the line are 15Bht, both ways. Sadly, the hotel does not provide shuttles into or out of Bangkok Central and as such you are left to fend for a taxi home, which can cost more than it did to get into the city.

There are no Western restaurants in the surrounding area and, if you do want to eat, you have the overpriced aforementioned restaurant. The food is nothing special and costs quite a bit. My advice, walk out of the complex, turn right and keep walking for 15 minutes, there is a McDonald's, Pizza House, Supermarket, KFC and others to choose from. But, it is not the real Thailand that you might want or expect.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly. Although, why they employ four people to chaperone breakfast when not one lifts a finger is beyond my comprehension? There is a limited egg station, whereby the eggs happened to be undercooked every time I ordered some. And make sure you check the expiry dates on the dairy products. Some of the yoghurts were out of date.

The room was spacious, so much so our voices echoed and the air-con noisy. Keep it on mid, that way the drone doesn't eat away at you all night. The bathrooms were clean-ish but the showers were a little on the pathetic side.

TV was a no go, there were very limited English channels and the reception was laughable.

The decor was terrible, circa 1970s.

The pool was OK, but full of bugs and needed a clean, .... scum around the edges etc. The gym was hot and under kept and overall tatty, to say the least.

The only plus point was the laundry option. At 50Bht, you can do you own laundry and hang dry your clothes. Make sure to check the hotel folder for details if you are staying.

Whilst all these things niggled us, it was a comfortable stay on a budget. There were no bed bugs and the bed was big and comfy (note: we prefer harder beds to soft). It simply wasn't the best choice given our circumstances and requirements.

For an overnight airport stop, it would do. For anything else, check elsewhere and move your focus towards the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
8
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Have been 5 times now, Thim the manageress and owner is a wonderful woman and all the staff are fantastic. The food is amazing, the restaurant comes very highly recommended and is used by locals. Rooms are very large and airy, pool is fantastic, couldnt fault at all. Just love it there. We stayed there for 6 weeks a few years ago and we now class it as our second home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel is old and have the typical "Soviet 1970 style" over it. The air condition works well but is awful loudly. Don't bet too much on the hotel restaurant, the food there wasn't too good. However, there is plenty of good restaurants nearby. All in all a well below average hotel, however there is one reason I might actually stay here again: The service. Room maids, front desk, security, all was extremely helpful and service minded, all the time and they all made you feel very welcome and gave you a touch of personal service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Just returned from a month-long holiday in asia. This was by far the worst place we stayed. We couldn't sleep because the dirty and smelly atmosphere and when the night had finally passed we had bites all over us. I'm guessing it's bed bugs.

The service was great but that doesn't do much when the facilities are so disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok Rama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Rama Hotel

Address: 1546 Pattanakarn Road | between Pattanakarn 48 and 50, Bangkok 10250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #435 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bangkok Rama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation is valuable,make the most of yours.Welcome to the Bangkok Rama Hotel & Spa. Set away from the city noise & pollution, this charming 3 star is a resort with extensive facilities that include a swimming pool, cottages, lovely gardens, free welcome WiFi hour and pets are welcome(with extra charge implied).Unique tropical gardens with floral and fauna walk ways surrounding 64 well appointed cottages, an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Supremely comfortable individual spacious cottages, excellent facilities and all with private terrace. The cottages are a short walk to a swimming whirled pool, most interesting above 3 stars concept and restaurant with Thai & Chinese fusion menu. This concept of a resort style accommodation is unique to Bangkok City; attract discerning international guests year after year. Here, you are in the quiet tropical surroundings yet easy access to Suvarnbhum internation airport and about 20 minutes to the inner Bangkok. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and we also have especially fitted out cottages for the elderly or physical challenged guests and for those bound to wheel chair, the cottages have sliding doors and fitted with grab bars for toilet and shower. Cottages & gardens that offer real comfort and warmth with tropical style cottage set in stylish retreat from the world.Our hotel rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and have all necessary amenities required. We also provide excellent security service that patrols the property 24 hour a day and have CCTV that cover all the premises, hence, insuring our guest will feel safe and protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bangkok Rama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Rama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.