We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Charming Cottage-Style Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Rama Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bangkok Rama Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bangkok Rama Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1546 Pattanakarn Road | between Pattanakarn 48 and 50, Bangkok 10250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #465 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Charming Cottage-Style Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We''ve been to BKK many times but this is a first for us, staying away from the city area.
It's only about 15mins from the airport and so, you will be very far from town or if you have tour trips going up north, your daily trips/journey will be long.

However, if you don't mind the long journey n fancy modern boutique hotels, you will love n enjoy the charming cottages (howbeit, a tad dated) n garden areas. Very quiet n homely, with free wifi to boot ! (er..if too crowded, n too many people logging in, your wifi connection may drop n takes a while to re-connect)

The kitchen area is decent n in the fridge, you get two bottles of mineral water, two bottles of Coke n another two bottles of Sprite FREE ! And this is a budget hotel ! Those 4/5 star ones require you to PAY for stuff in the minibar ! My kids enjoyed these free cold drinks each n everyday ! heee

Their toilets are very bright, clean n decent too (with hot water, if you must know)

Pool is rather plain, just a (50m ? ) pool with nothing else besides. If you have small children, the pool is only 1.3M across the entire length.

The breakfast is nothing fantastic. Certain days u get a mini buffet n other days you can order ala carte from the small menu.
The Sip N Surf cafe is right at the front of the hotel grounds (entrance n Security Guard Room) and they offer great drinks but as for food, there's only biscuits n bites.
Gotta say tho', the wifi connection at both the restaurant as well as at Sip N Surf are GREAT !

There's a Wash n Dry self service unit for those of you who need to recycle your clothes/laundry. There are 2 washers n 1 Dryer.....coins operated. If you do not have coins, just ask the Security guys (just almost next to this area) and they will gladly help you out.

I must add, most of the staff here don't speak much English but they are most friendly n helpful

As for the surroundings outside of the hotel : Walk out to the main road, turn RIGHT and you will come to a few local Thai eating houses. There one Chinese-Thai Restaurant with great foods !
Further down the road, about (200m ?) across the overhead bridge, there a big Tessco Supermarket. And even further down the road, (1km ?) there are MacDonalds, Pizza n a few other restaurants too.

Lastly, there are two big malls nearby. The one we went to was Secon Square Mall. As you would expect, 6 or 7 levels of shopping n dining, plus a basement full of handphone vendors !
Taxi from the mall back to the hotel cost us 70baht n and a mere 7mins ride.

So there you have it. A nice charming budget hotel with cottages but rather far away from the main BKK city.

As usual, just my sharing and hope this helps ! Have fun deciding.....

Cheers!
nick

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
8
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a little out from the city center, and is great if you are looking for somewhere to relax after a long day exploring the city. Has a great pool area which was quiet plenty of sun beds if you fancy spending a day relaxing by the pool. The taxi drivers in Bangkok didn't always know where the hotel was so I carried the address with me to make thing easier. Reception staff are great booked a great trip with them riding an elephant and visiting tiger temple, all in all a great 6 night stay at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet life in the city.

Room Tip: Choose a villa instead of a hotel room worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place has lovely quiet little units that are away from a lot of the bustle of Bangkok. The pool is great to soak in after a day of sightseeing. The restaurant has great meals and there is dancing as well for entertainment. Some of the staff do not speak English but they try there hardest. If you are looking for something on a small budget this is for you. It is decent as well as affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The rooms are old and not all the staff speak english but this place is grear for people on a budget, the staff really try to make sure you enjoy your stay. There is a train nearby to get into Bangkok and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantravadi K, General Manager at Bangkok Rama Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Kellyanne19741,

Thank you very much for your strait-forward lovely review writing and comment about Bangkok Rama Hotel and quite unique point of view in some way and the same idea as to some of our other guests.

If we can in our potential and the right time, we will certainly do our best to the guests' convenience to the advantage along with other hotel facilities that preference Bangkok Rama Hotel already have.

We really do thank you very much for your time again.

May your days always blessed with bright,blue sky, easy going and successful.

Your sincerely,
Chantravadi Kiangsiri
on behalf of the hotel management and staff
hotel.bangkokrama@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cha Am Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Bangkok Rama Hotel, an easy trip from the airport. A great place out of the hustle and bustle, and it is inexpensive.They have Hotel room type accommodation and also very well appointed bungalows, which are housekept daily. They are surrounded with well maintained gardens nearby. A lovely natural setting. If you ask politely, they will provide you with the essentials to self cater in these bungalows.
The staff are efficient and very friendly and are willing to go that little bit extra, which is not found everywhere these days.
The restaurant has had a new make over and looks good. The food is classic Thai, and they also cater for the locals and other Asian visitors. It is just being discovered by Australians and other Europeans. While I was there my breakfast was complimentary and I appreciated the value added benefit. Their food is all prepared fresh daily and it is not left overs as someone mentioned in another review. A point to note, Asian people usually have a main meal for breakfast. Bangkok Rama Hotel cater accordingly. My impression overall was very good.
I was there ten days and felt very comfortable. Reception can, should you choose, arrange day or longer tours for you.
There is free internet access, and computers in the lobby to use. All very good.

Simone

Room Tip: I would ask to stay in one of Bangkok Rama's Bunglows if you are staying a few days or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It was our first time to Bangkok Thailand and we picked up this hotel on Internet. It really was a good choice. Room was spacious, comfortable and soft bed. Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. They advised us where to see and where to eat that we highly appreciated. There wasn't plenty of choices for breakfast but that was ok for us. I will definitely recommend this hotel. If come back Bangkok, I will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, as it was cheap, the beds were comfortable and the view was pretty awesome (at night).
The breakfast was dire, if you don't mind sharing it with ants then eat till your hearts content as it's a buffet! It seemed to consist of the leftovers from the evening meals before (not western style) and a couple of eggs and toast.
There is free internet access in the lobby and the staff are very helpful, although their English is limited. You can call international, at a very cheap rate and there is a bar/restaurant (the food is pretty shabby and overpriced).
I would stay there again for sure, as even though it was a bit out of the way, everything we needed was close, like a supermarket, restaurants 7/11 and lots of taxi's!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bangkok Rama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Rama Hotel

Address: 1546 Pattanakarn Road | between Pattanakarn 48 and 50, Bangkok 10250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bangkok Rama Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation is valuable,make the most of yours.Welcome to the Bangkok Rama Hotel & Spa. Set away from the city noise & pollution, this charming 3 star is a resort with extensive facilities that include a swimming pool, cottages, lovely gardens, free welcome WiFi hour and pets are welcome(with extra charge implied).Unique tropical gardens with floral and fauna walk ways surrounding 64 well appointed cottages, an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Supremely comfortable individual spacious cottages, excellent facilities and all with private terrace. The cottages are a short walk to a swimming whirled pool, most interesting above 3 stars concept and restaurant with Thai & Chinese fusion menu. This concept of a resort style accommodation is unique to Bangkok City; attract discerning international guests year after year. Here, you are in the quiet tropical surroundings yet easy access to Suvarnbhum internation airport and about 20 minutes to the inner Bangkok. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and we also have especially fitted out cottages for the elderly or physical challenged guests and for those bound to wheel chair, the cottages have sliding doors and fitted with grab bars for toilet and shower. Cottages & gardens that offer real comfort and warmth with tropical style cottage set in stylish retreat from the world.Our hotel rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and have all necessary amenities required. We also provide excellent security service that patrols the property 24 hour a day and have CCTV that cover all the premises, hence, insuring our guest will feel safe and protected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bangkok Rama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Rama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.