We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and fab experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar

Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar
2 Soi Sukhumvit 57, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
+6627970000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 234 Reviews
Cuisines: Asian, International, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view and fab experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Was in Bkk for 36 hours for a medical checkup and decided to visit a rooftop bar for the first time instead of doing the usual laid back bars. Service was good, drinks were of expected price considering you are paying for the view. Ordered two cocktails for myself and it did not disappoint. The staff were attentive but at times a little clueless when it came down to clarifying how much a taxi back to my hotel would cost since there was a high chance the driver wasn't going to put on the meter. Although it was still drizzling when I got to the bar and I wasn't able to sit out on the patio, it was all worth the trek down! The music was kinda weird, playing techno?!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Food & Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear AngelDanger

Warm Greeting from Octave Rooftop Lounge & Bar!

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us great feedback with regards to your experience with us, We have taken a note of the local knowledge issue which will be addressed shortly.

Your feedback is not only great testimony to our associate but will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards we are known for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Octave again hopefully very soon.

Thank you and Best regards,
Carlos Netto
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    50
    16
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gets 3 stars just because of the views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Let's be honest, we (like most of the people that go there i imagine) only went out of our way to try octave because of the views. And the views are superb. However, it was very busy and not easy to get near to the sides with the very best views. The overall feel was quite cheap and nouveau riche, the music pretty mainstream and the drinks menu expensive and uninspiring. The service really wasn't much to write home about either. If you're nearby it's definitely worth the ride up the lift to check out the views but I wouldn't bother staying for a drink! Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on that.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Food & Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Teamlines,

Warm Greeting from Octave Rooftop Lounge & Bar!

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to your experience on your last visit. I do apologize for the inconvenience you faced, this is certainly not how we wish our guests to feel, More seatings are available at the rooftop now as well as we are timely reviewing the training standard in place. Music theme for 7 different nights have been introduced to give a better experience overall.
We are look forward to welcoming you back to Octave hopefully very soon.

Thank you and Best regards,
Carlos Netto
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Revisit was enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

friday evening scene at Octave rooftop bar, I was accompanied by a guest staying at the hotel. we reached at 6.15 pm to the 45 th floor bar and the staff recommended that we enjoy happy hour specials on the 48 th floor, great suggestion, the place was quiet , hardly 10 guests, but as time passed by , the place got packed , but the service level was still good and we enjoyed the drinks.
My guest was very pleased with the ambiance and great view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Food & Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Suresh M,

Warm Greeting from Octave Rooftop Lounge & Bar!

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us great feedback with regards to your experience with us, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Sundowner promotion which continues until 30th November,
Your feedback is not only great testimony to our associate but will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards we are known for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The District again hopefully very soon.

Thank you and Best regards,
Carlos Netto
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Place To Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite spot.The view was great you could over look the view of Bangkok...Views to die for...
We had a great time and cocktails were extremely awesome.I strongly recommended : )

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Food & Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear LaabMoo,

Warm Greeting from Octave Rooftop Lounge & Bar!

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us great feedback with regards to your experience with us, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Cocktails & service, please be informed that we will introduce our new cocktail list by 1st of November.
Your feedback is not only great testimony to our associate but will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards we are known for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Octave again hopefully very soon.

Thank you and Best regards,
Carlos Netto
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok Thailand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“To Sirocco Or Not Too Sirocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

For a completely new and different view of Bangkok one should try the new Marriot on Sukhumvit Octave Bar.

While Sirocco is the first choice for many one should make sometime to visit this bar, 49 floors up a open air bar that gives a sensational view of Bangkok's skyline and the views stretches as far as the eye can see, seating is ample with plennty space for all, the staff are friendly and cheerful, great music, great atmosphere

The one plus is the big area this bar occupies, unlike Sirocco which gets very crowded the Octave Bar allows for ample room to view all points of the compass.

A tip if you go between 6pm to 8pm happy hour is on so two cocktails for the price of one, all drinks on their menu offer this but the coctials are very good.

Octave Bar at Marriot on Sukhumvit is a must to see and experience, will be going back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKKMS_Marriott, Director of Food & Beverage at Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Peter O,

Warm Greeting from Octave Rooftop Lounge & Bar!

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us great feedback with regards to your experience with us, Please be informed that "Sundowner promotion" continues until 30th November, also we will introduce our new cocktail list by 1st of November which will give a greater choice in beverage selection suiting different moods and personality.
Your feedback is not only great testimony to our associate but will also serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards we are known for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Octave again hopefully very soon.

Thank you and Best regards,
Carlos Netto
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octave Rooftop Lounge and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.