We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallop Dragon Roll - Best Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zagin+sake

Zagin+sake
95 Sukhumvit Soi 24 | 1 FL president park hotel, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
02-661-0119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 8,069 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Japanese, Californian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scallop Dragon Roll - Best Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Seriously Super Sushi - And I've tasted a lot of Sushi from globally acclaimed restaurants - So, Kudos to the team of Zagin - Their Spanish Manager is very attentive and service is good. Bar concoctions could be improved. Ambience is relaxed - No fussy decor etc... laid back, casual and chilled dining experience. You can find cheaper sushi yet most definitely not the same quality.... Money and time very well spent at this laid back sushi restaurant that casually sits on an upscale residential lane. Will go back for sure!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Towards the end of our trip to Thailand, we were looking to try a sushi restaurant and chose Zagin+Sake based upon the great reviews. Zagin+Sake truly is a great find. Everything we had, we loved! We started out with a few different appetizers. I also had a few sushi rolls, while my husband had a steak. Although the steak was great, I would stick to the sushi because it really is fantastic. Everything tasted so fresh and well-prepared. The restaurant was quite quiet as well, so it was nice to have the personal attention from the staff. Finally, the prices were very reasonable, especially for the quality of food. All in all, this was one of our favorite meals in Bangkok.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best modern Japanese I have ever tasted. Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant was pretty much the highlight of our third trip to Bangkok!! After a recommendation from a friend who’d been there 10 months ago and given it rave reviews we couldn’t wait to see what all the fuss was about. Turns out this was hands down the best Japanese fusion we have ever eaten! It gives all the modern Japanese restaurants at home (in Brisbane) a run for their money. I wouldn’t call it traditional, and I say that with some authority having travelled throughout Japan earlier this year. It’s more of a modern, innovative take on Japanese cuisine and if that’s what it’s aiming for then boy does it deliver!

We loved it so much we ended up ordering about 8 plates between us! The tuna sashimi, deep fried udon noodle sticks with sesame mayo, the sashimi scallop cocktail and the tempura avocado sushi were our top picks. But the seared wagyu and edamame with garlic and chilli crumble were both to die for as well! The menu is so creative, it really is like nothing I’ve seen or tasted before.

The service was really friendly with quite a few international wait staff who spoke perfect English and were very knowledgeable about the menu. When we arrived at 7.30pm on a Friday night we were the only ones in the restaurant but shortly after it was nearly full, so the atmosphere was nice as well.

The location isn’t too difficult – if you’re staying in Sukhumvit just jump in a cab and ask them to head to the Davis Hotel on 24 Sukhumvit Rd. Zagin + Sake is right across the road from the Davis’ lobby!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Japanese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner after a recommendation from a friend and was not disappointed. The general layout of the restaurant is great, right down to the fitout of the rest rooms. The food is of a very high quality and is a exciting twist on modern Japanese cuisine. I eat Japanese alot and must say this is the best I have eaten. A definite must in Bangkok and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A lasting impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Absolutely amazing! We stumbled across this place by accident as we were staying across the road at the Davis Hotel. The manager greeted us at the door and we had an amazing time reviewing the menu off an ipad and having a chat with the manager and the cheeky staff. The sushi was the best sushi I've ever eaten and the cocktails were devine! This isn't a cheap restaurant by any means, though it's excellent value for money and I definitely recommend trying this place, it'll be on your list for whenever you return, as it is on mine :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagin+sake also viewed

 

Been to Zagin+sake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zagin+sake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.