We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best known, but........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Telephone Pub, Restaurant & Karaoke

Telephone Pub, Restaurant & Karaoke
114/11-13, Silom Road, Soi 4, Bang Rak District, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
22343279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #643 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best known, but........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Telephone Bar is probably the best known gay bar in BKK, but it is now tired (like most of the farang patrons and all the bar staff. Having said that it is still the place to go to people view and have a drink, but watch out for the money boys and those smoking strange substances.

I rate it as average, but it could so easily be changed to five star by a little more effort from Ownership and Management.i

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    23
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Ate our first dinner in Thailand here, and had a few drinks as well. The server was alright, but nothing special. The menu includes photographs of some of the food so you can pick out what you'd like without being too risky. We ate fairly early, and there were several other tables of westerners having dinner. Everybody was friendly and having a good time, and the food didn't make us sick (always a plus).

Drinks were good, and service was friendly.

My guidebook talked about there being phones on the tables to ring another table, but this didn't exist any more. Still a fun place.

We're still smiling about the setup of bars in Silom, with tables being lined up for everybody to watch the crowd walking the streets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I love this place, cant wait to return again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Im in love with this place, its like coming home. All the staff are so so so so friendly, our one waiter we always have "Art" would always have our bottle of jagermeister waiting for us at 10pm every night, lol. no attitude in this place at all, like in many gay bars/clubs around the world. Everyone talks to everyone, young/old gay/straight thai/non thai, cant wait to come back.

Drinks are reasonable prices, the food is also ok quality, bot the best, but to be honest its all about the drinks and having a merry time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cold beer and good cheap eals...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A bar in need of a makeover like all those in the area...but staff are polite and cheerful...service is good and the beer is cold...Mel's are quite well prepared...and for the few dollars they cost,great clue...even suitable for straight purples to visit...not a flappy queenly scene...you can sit out front to enjoy the passing trade, but we prefer the dimmer inside area...we always have a few meals each time we go!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for LGBT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Its a fun place if you are a member of the LGBT community or if you are a friend. Fun way to eat dinner outside on the sidewalk, with crowd watching and checking out who's new! A very welcoming place for LGBT.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telephone Pub, Restaurant & Karaoke also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Telephone Pub, Restaurant & Karaoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telephone Pub, Restaurant & Karaoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.