We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the enitire Tokyo celebrating in my mouth!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mugendai Japanese Restaurant

Mugendai Japanese Restaurant
Soi Sukhumvit 55, 7th Floor, The Glass, Thong Lor, Sukhumvit Road, Khlong Toei Nuea Subdistrict, Vadhana District., Bangkok, Thailand
27269222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,206 of 8,519 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like the enitire Tokyo celebrating in my mouth!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were a huge party of 10 and were seated in a private room. The restaurant is on a rooftop and gives you a wonderful sense of Japan with its nicely decorated bamboo interior. The food here is amazing!!!!!! The Aburi seven (fish belly sushi) was so divine, the fish were so fresh that they just melt in my mouth. The whole experience was like one you would get in Japan. The prices were on the high side but I wouldn't regret paying for anything this delicious. Love it and would say that this could be the BEST Japanese restaurant in Bangkok!!!! Thank you Mugendai for such a wonderful meal!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Some incredible items on menu in a simple well located location at premium prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If I could have done it all again, planned better my expensive Japanese dinner at the famed Mugendai on Thonglor in Bangkok, I would have gotten more advice before heading in there. Dining here is an exercise in contrasts as you will see below:

Atmosphere - Totally unhip and very ordinary middle of the line Japanese restaurant decor

Sashimi (specifically salmon and tuna) - Incredible, never had anything as good

Rolls and Everything Else - Good but when compared to the sashimi, don't bother

Prices - Very high. It's worth it for the sashimi, probably not worth it for the rolls, etc (Honmono is probably a better option for high quality yet reasonably priced cut rolls).

Service - Very good, they are clearly accustomed to serving a well-heeled expat and Thai crowd.

Other - The lights went off for about 5 minutes when we were dining. It wasn't a power outage, they explained that is was some technical lighting problem inside the restaurant.

Yes we will return when we feel like having the best sashimi in Thailand. But for more routine meals, we'll have rolls at Honmono. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Most dishes are quite pricy compared to the average Jap in BKK, but you get quality food. The sushi with crumbs is my all time favorite and I keep coming back for it! Nice outside seats on the rooftop as well and free valet parking. Also open until late!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Premium Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I always want to come to this place when I first saw this place on TV. When I came to eat, I am impressed their freshness of sashimi. The price is a bit higher than other regular Japanese restaurants but it's worthed to try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“One of the top japanese in Bangkok.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is one of the best Japanese restaurant in Bangkok with an unbelievable variety of Sushi and Sashimi.
The atmosphere is cosy and simple. This place clearly focus on the quality and freshness of the ingredients. Fish arrive regularly from the famous Japanese fish market.
Service is good.
A place of choice for people who want a true Japanese experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugendai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Mugendai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mugendai Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.