We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the commercial area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bangkok Siam to your Saves list
Ibis Bangkok Siam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 611 Reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to the commercial area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The biggest good point of this hotel is close to the commercial area. Room is small but clean, bathroom is small and lack of shower kit. Toilets paper is under the washbowl, difficult to see and reach. Staffs are doing their jobs. Breakfast was okey, like average.
This hotel is economic hotel, suitable for those have short stay in BBK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jovirus,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.
I take on board your comments and as always we continue to listen to our guests in order that we can find the common areas for improvement.
I hope that we can welcome you back again to the ibis Bangkok Siam in the future.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    319
    110
    18
    8
See reviews for
102
195
94
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located right at BTS National Stadium, you can get anywhere easily.

Food: Limited breakfast spread. But you can't complain much for such affordable rooms.

Wifi: Free. Every 2 devices share 1 login. Get your password from counter.

Lift speed: Not bad. Quite fast.

Staff service: Excellent

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

the location of the hotel is very very good, within 5min walk to BTS National Stadium and 10 min walk to the Siam. Staff there is friendly. Breakfast was good too.
We stayed there for two nights (seperate time). However the second time was not that happy because of the water heating system. When you took shower, the water was sometimes very hot but sometimes very cold.
The bed is small for one adult and one child, my child even fell down on the ground in the mid night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed with friends and family.

The room was sufficient for a shopping trip. And the bed is comfy enough to stretch out after a long day of shopping and sightseeing.

The location is very good as it is near the Stadium BTS station. However, if you are carrying huge luggage bags, it may not be so advisable to travel by train to the hotel as there are few lifts to accomodate your journey down the train station. We needed to take the stairs down. As a suggestion, travellers with bulky luggages can take the airport express train to Phaya Thai station then take a cab. Or maybe take a cab directly if the cost difference is not too big.

The service was great as well as we had smiling staff. Even the cleaning lady was nice enough to ask how our day went as we bumped into her in the corridors. Reception staff was courteous and helpful as well.

Overall an enjoyable stay as the rooms had basic amneties and are just right if you want to shop at Siam Centre, Siam Square, Paragon etc. Would recommend my shopaholic friends to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear occo1136,
Thank you for your recommendation of our new ibis Bangkok Siam.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff.
I will pass on your comments to the team to act as encouragement to keep improving to be the best.
I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed twice at Ibis during my family trip to Bangkok in May’13, along with my wife & 4 years old daughter & thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Ibis, Siam. Though the room & bathroom was small (around 17 sq. meters), but the location overshadows it. Do ask for a king size bed if you are a family of 3, with a child under 10 years, for a good sleep. The bed was cosy & is good after a full day/half day tour.

The restaurant was located just at the entrance & the breakfast is served between 6 am to 10:30 am. The food option is varied, with toast, scrambled egg, Rice, steamed vegetables, Pork sausages, Fruits, Juice etc. For kids, they have corn flakes, chocos etc.

The free wi-fi internet is provided at the time of check in, though the connectivity is good at the reception & restaurant area only.

There is a one terrace restaurant at the 8th Floor of the hotel.

Swimming pool facility is chargeable.

They also have a luggage room for the guests & is quite a good option, if someone has a flight in the evening/Night, can keep the luggage at the hotel.

Location:
The hotel is located around 35 kms from Suvarnabhumi International Airport & around 27 kms from Don Mueang International Airport. The public taxi can be taken from the ground floor from Suvarnabhumi Airport & charges between 325 - 350 THB & from Don Mueang taxi charges between 300-350 THB & is easily available anytime. Always take metered taxi & the charges starts from 35THB for first 1 kms & then 2THB for every 400 meters.

BTS skytrain is just outside the hotel – BTS National Stadium Station

If travelling solo, travel by skytrain as it’s a cheaper option & if traveling with family opt for metered taxi.

Main Attraction near Hotel

MBK Shopping Mall: 100 meters, just across the hotel (just take a foot over bridge to enter the mall at 3rd Floor)
Siam Discovery (Madam Tussauds): just walk/ take foot over bridge to left from the hotel & it’s within 150 meters.
Siam Paragon (Siam Ocean World): Around 200 meters from hotel, next to Siam Discovery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked 3 rooms and stayed at Ibis from 2 - 5 June 2013 with my in laws, kids and spouse. As mentioned in my title, Ibis is a 'no frills' hotel, so one may have to manage their expectations when they booked Ibis. That being said, My family and I enjoyed our stay throughout.

Check-in
We arrived Ibis in the evening and check-in was neither speedy nor slow. Had a bit of confusion when the staff couldn't find my booking but the problem was solved promptly upon further checking. Only grouse I had is that the security of the hotel is rather lax. You do not need card access to operate the lift and IMO, anyone who is confident enough can just simply stroll in and take the lift up.

Room
As mentioned by some other reviewers, the bed is simply superb! However, parents with young kids may wish to take note that some parts of the bed frame have protruding edges and kids may knock into them if they are careless. Room size is moderately small, but it does not project the feeling of claustrophobic. Room has a small electronic safe, electric kettle, sachets of coffee/tea and 2 bottles of complimentary drinking water.
The only problem with the room is the sound proofing. We can actually hear the tv sound of the opposite room and its definitely not a good idea if you are an extremely light sleeper.

Toliet
Ibis only provide show caps and fresh towels daily. Guests will need to bring the rest of the needful items themselves. Shower area has a 2 in 1 bath/shampoo dispenser. Do note that there is no lock for the toilet door.

Location
Ibis is wonderfully located next to National Stadium BTS and MBK. Think the main selling point of Ibis would be the location. Should you need any food or daily itmes, there is a 7-11 stall located just next to the hotel. If you need more stuff, you can try walking to Tesco Lotus, which is located on the right of the hotel if you are coming out from the main lobby. Its a good 15 to 20 mins walk if you are not in a rush though.
Do try out the fishball/pork beehoon soup if your package doesnt include daily breakfast. The stall is located on the left side of the main lobby. Costs 40bht per bowl.

Verdict
My family and I have stayed at different hotels in bkk. Ibis can be considered to be one of the few that I will definitely return. No frills means no extra costs in terms of hotel accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Soulwind,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at the ibis Bangkok Siam, including lots of handy tips for travellers.
I am very happy to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and that it met you expectations and I do look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bangkok Siam

Address: Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bangkok Siam 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Bangkok and only steps away from the National Stadium BTS Station, the 189 room ibis Bangkok Siam offers fully equipped facilities and contemporary dining options. Modern and well designed, all rooms feature a satellite LCD TV, functional bathroom, free WiFi internet connection and more. The lobby bar and terrace is open all day for light meals and refreshing drinks. Pet allowed (up to 10 kg) Modern and well designed, the Standard Room features all the usual amenities. A cozy double bed, a desk, LCD TV with international channels, free WiFi internet access, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bangkok Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.