We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at ibis Bangkok Siam!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bangkok Siam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bangkok Siam to your Saves list
Ibis Bangkok Siam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay at ibis Bangkok Siam!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Totally enjoyed the stay at the ibis Bangkok Siam. The hotel is almost next to the National Stadium BTS and you don't need the cab if you are travelling light. The airport has a city train connection to Phaya Thai station...and from there, you can change to the BTS train direct to the hotel doorstep.

The front desk staff told me the hotel was opened in Dec 2012. I like the staff casual T-shirt attire and their friendly check-in process...so different from the fake smile & stiff upper-lip type of 4 and 5-star hotels.

The front desk staff gave me a room on the 15th floor with nice view of the sport stadium & MBK shopping centre opposite.

I was there on business trip but purposely choose this hotel to be away from the biz people & convention crowd. 3 thumbs up for ibis Bangkok Siam!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear BBlops,
Thank you for your 5 star review regarding your recent stay at the ibis Bangkok Siam. I am very happy to read that you had such a great stay and enjoyed the friendly staff and great view from your room.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    317
    109
    18
    8
See reviews for
102
195
94
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Walking distance to MBK and the train station. The room and bathroom is clean; although slightly small. They provide free wifi but it keeps logging off on its own. However, the signal strength is pretty acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Choose this hotel for its location and Wifi. Wifi was not working in our room and in the lobby. When we asked for help we were told to go to an internet cafe ....Very bad smell in the looby of Ibis....apparently recurrent issue as per the other comments...Front Office staff very rude and it is clear that this hotel needs a Manager in charge and a happy team to serve the guests .We tried to use the Wifi in the lobby of the Mercure but the Bell staff told us that its not working and that it is a recurrent problem.Will never visit here again ...Try the hostel next door with WI Fi and very helpfull and charming staff ( On your right hand when going out of the Ibis and just next to the BTS staircase... )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear philfrancleslie,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and I sincerely apologise.
Our staff are usually helpful and friendly and yes we have had some problems with our Wi-Fi from time to time that we are always continuing to try to improve, even now we increased our bandwidth to help with the connections.
Again, my apologies and I will share your comments with our team in order that we can continue to improve our standard of service and facilities.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay at IBIS Bangkok Siam via Agoda.com as I was told that this hotel was recently opened in December 2012. This hotel is reachable via the National Stadium BTS - just make a switch from Siam Station which is just about 2 stops from Phaya Thai if you're taking the Airport Link from Suvarnabhumi Airport. Therefore, if you'd like to do a great deal of shopping at MBK - I'd think that this would definitely be the most ideal location as MBK is just steps away - well, it's actually on the opposite side of the hotel! From here - it's also very convenient to take a slow stroll down to Siam Discovery Centre, Siam Square, Siam Paragon and even Central World. Actually, I've done a lot of mileages thru walking throughout my 4 days' stay in Bangkok!

Now, on the hotel room - it was relatively small but it was sufficient for me as I was traveling alone! The shower area though has a little problem as it's in the "shape of a diamond" and stretching yourself fully is not quite possible if you're on the bigger side. Wifi password was given during check-in so that was good although it's lagging at times. Breakfast is fairly OK just to fill the tummy for the start of the day. However, the only thing that bothers me was the bad noise isolation - it was really bad especially at night when some of the guests came back late and the doors got slammed really hard or else, I could hear the running of water - someone is showering late at night?!

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for its location and clean room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lift lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear singledigit,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us as it is always great to receive such positive feedback about our new hotel.
I am sorry that the noise caused you some disruption during your stay and we continue to look at ways that we can reduce this.
Again, thank you for sharing and I hope that we can welcome you back to the ibis Bangkok Siam on your next trip to Thailand.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Like most of the reviews this hotel is located in a great spot. You can walk to a lot of places and its also easy to grab a cab. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful, especially the ones assisting to get you a cab.

The rooms are small, so it's good for short stays in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stay 1 night in this hotel, the location is very strategic, i like to stay in this hotel very much. it is new, the furniture is modern, the bath room has the best shower. but during my stay i found many ants in the tables, also i found the water boiler (electric kettle) was full with water before i use it. i think may be they don't clean it properly. but when i travel to bangkok again, i will still stay in this hotel because of the location and the comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sudjana,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us.
I am sorry that you had some problems in the room and I will be sure to brief the housekeeping team to ensure that the water is drained from the kettle each time.
I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning on your next visit to Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Location.....location,,,,,location.....This is one of the best hotels to stay in BKK for shopping as the major shopping malls are within walking distance from the hotel ( Siam Centre, Siam Square,Paragon,Central World to name a few).For food lovers there are many famous eateries in these shopping malls too .The hotel is very convenient for guests to travel on the BTS rail line to other parts of the city as the hotel is located next to the National Stadium Station. There is a 7 / 11 store located next to the hotel. The layout in the room is typical of Ibis hotels worldwide...compact but functional. Wifi is free. The spread for the breakfast spread is average. As the hotel has just started operations a few months ago,the beddings and furniture are still new. Service in Ibis hotels are usually good but I would rate the service provided by the front desk staff as excellent.They are young but full of enthusiasm to serve hotel guests. This hotel is good value for money and I would stay in this hotel again when I am in the mood for a shopping spree.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneMI2, General Manager at Ibis Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear chan_pup,
Thank you for your 5 star review and it is so positive for the team to receive such comments about the hotel and the staff.
I hope that you can come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Simone Hansen
General Manager - Mercure and ibis Bangkok Siam Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bangkok Siam

Address: Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bangkok Siam 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Bangkok and only steps away from the National Stadium BTS Station, the 189 room ibis Bangkok Siam offers fully equipped facilities and contemporary dining options. Modern and well designed, all rooms feature a satellite LCD TV, functional bathroom, free WiFi internet connection and more. The lobby bar and terrace is open all day for light meals and refreshing drinks. Pet allowed (up to 10 kg) Modern and well designed, the Standard Room features all the usual amenities. A cozy double bed, a desk, LCD TV with international channels, free WiFi internet access, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bangkok Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.