We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German beer and Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G's Bangkok

G's Bangkok
Soi Patpong 2, Silom Rd. | Next to Foodland Pat Phong, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
(+66)2 632 9513
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7,375 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“German beer and Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

G's is outstanding in every way. Good is great. They have Thai and German. The owner (from Germany) is fantastic with an excellent sense of humor and quite hospitable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    63
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Super impressed. Chef Guido was here as well and helped us pick our dishes. The food was delicious and we will definitely visit here again!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Most welcoming experience in Bangkok so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Walked in an immediately greeted by a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Food was amazing, we have Thai but German looked amazing too! One of the few places I could get a nice cold glass of white wine and my husband many beers! Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Culinary ecstacy with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have just finished a meal at this lovely restaurant and I can honestly say that quality and quantity go hand in hand. It has left me wholly satisfied with a traditional German dish crafted to deliver impecable flavour.

A very worthwile visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, you can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Don't be distracted by this restaurant's more peculiar traits. Yes, it is a German restaurant in Thailand. Yes, it is one of Bangkok's red light districts. Yes, it only has 10 tables. All of that said, the combination of well-prepared German comfort food (housemade bratwurst, schnitzel, roulade) and an owner-operator (Chef Guido) that loves what he does makes this restaurant a worthwhile culinary encounter for both locals and those passing through.

Guido did a fantastic job of reading my wife and I incredibly well and recommending one of the umpteen specially imported German beers for each of us. He then set to work helping to deconstruct an extensive German menu that will take you back to the old country. We shared the greek salad for an appetizer as many other reviewers have suggested. I had the bratwurst with creamy cabbage and mashed potatoes, and my wife had the roulade with red cabbage and roasted potatoes. Both food and drink were very reasonably priced and well-proportioned. Both of us cleaned our plates and then rolled ourselves out of the restaraunt, past the strip clubs, and into a cab to our hotel.

G's is worth a visit. Don't be too dissuaded by the odd location. If you get lost, on Patpong 2, the restaurant is immediately to the brightly light Foodland Market.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G's Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to G's Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G's Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.