We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & bad location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W Bangkok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Bangkok to your Saves list
W Bangkok
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 North Sathorn Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE NIGHTS AT W BANGKOK
Ranked #34 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
942 reviews 942 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 296 cities Reviews in 296 cities
1,341 helpful votes 1,341 helpful votes
“Dirty & bad location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Yes, this is a really hip hotel with excellent breakfast, BUT:

- we stayed at the W Bangkok already twice. First time the rooms wasn't cleaned well, even had a huge dead cockroach in the bathroom. The second time we've given a room which wasn't cleaned at all after the previous guest left, food standing around, used towels laying in the bathroom etc. So from two visits 2 failed. This hotel has a real service issue!
- the pool is very sterile, not relaxing to lay down
- the location isn't good. To reach BTS you've to pass through another office building. In case you want to go to Sukhumvit, where life takes place, you've to take BTS to Siam, then change the line. I'm used to the Sheraton Grande on Sukhumvit where you have direct BTS access (very convenient, especially when it's raining).

So, even the W Bangkok is hip, the rooms have a good style, it's a NO GO. I prefer hotels with good service, where the rooms are clean, with a relaxing pool and direct BTS access. Bangkok offers many, many nice hotels - so there's no need to stay at the worldwide worst W hotel.

Room Tip: At the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi HONkiev,
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience. I apologize for my team as you are correct, we moved you to a bedroom that was not ready to sell as it still needed to be cleaned. I will be stressing your comments to my team to ensure we will not have a repeat of your experience. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the breakfast.
If you do return to Bangkok we do hope you will try us again or we do have other Starwood properties which you may like to try.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    229
    69
    18
    6
See reviews for
68
294
88
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

W Hotel was simply fantastic ... Rooms are clean, comfortable, customer service is simply amazeballs! Everyone are so into pleasing guests at all times. We were there with the family and we all had a magnificent time in Bangkok. Although the hotel is new, the entire staff are fully aware of excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi johanne2228,
Thank you for a fantastic review. It is good to hear that you had and amazing stay with us. I am glad that our Talents looked after you so well and I will be sure to pass on your comment to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great facility and hospitality. Exceeded the expectations we have of W. In fact it is one of the better overall experience we have had of more than 5 W hotel and resorts we have stayed in over the last 2 years. The room and common areas are comfortable and trendy as with all W hotels. The only thing to note is the location (in the business district, a few min by cab to main tourist areas); there are no convenience stores to grab something urgent you have forgotten to bring along and it is not walking distance to a nearby mall if you have an hour to spare. Having said that, it is located just a few min walk from the BTS. While it is really comfortable for families with friendly staff, it lacked facilities for families with young children (only adult pool and hardly any area for kids to run around). Food in the hotel is commendable.

Room Tip: Spectacular room is simply spectacular. If budget permits, upgrade. Spacious and comfy for couples t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Yeannie,
Thank you for taking your time sharing your stay experience with us. I’m pleased to know that you like the design and ambiance of the hotel. There are a few convenience stores across from the Sathorn Square building which is 5 minute walking distance from the hotel. We will be happy to point them out on your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to W Bangkok in the near future,
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

One of the best hotels I stayed in my life.. Rooms are amazing, super comfy and very soundproof, pool, the food and gym are great, service is perfect.. cant say a bad word about it, only maybe that its not located super central, but BTS is around the corner and taxi's are very affordable in Bangkok ;) My advice: Go for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Sander B,
You just made our day.
Thank you for the amazing review. I’m glad that you feel W Bangkok is the best hotel you’ve ever stayed at and that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel. The Talent is definitely an asset for us and I will be sure to make mention of your comments to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to have the same experience at W Bangkok.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The W is yet a year old, but is offering professional and gracious service like it's been in business for years. The rooms are nicely appointed and large for a W. Great city views. The higher floors are quiet. Be sure to stop by the elegant pool area. The Woobar is a great spot for inventive cocktails and some fun bar appetizers. We are also wary of breakfast buffets, but this one knocked our socks off. Our server, Em, was the most gracious. Highly recommend a stay here. It's minutes away from the SkyTrain that will get you all over the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi CampNapa,
Thank you for your amazing review.
I am happy to know that you liked the room design and ambiance of the hotel and enjoyed the convenient location to explore the fun and excitement Bangkok has to offer.
Next time you are at the pool, don’t miss having a detox foot massage in the cabana or on a sun lounger and enjoy a retox cocktail afterward. I will be sure to pass on your comment to the Talent you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really like W Hotels anywhere I travel and would give the hotel 5 stars instead of 4 if only they provided steam room and shower facilities for free. I don't think any true 5 star hotel in Asia can have a pool and gym but not offer proper change, shower and steam facilities for free. After speaking with the manager, they offered to make an exception but this would stop me from coming back if not fixed. There are too many other great hotels in Bangkok that cater to travelers to charge for standard 5 star services.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Shawn158,
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
We have limited facilities in our AWAY Spa which is used for the complete Metamorphosis treatments for our Spas guests. We do apologize for this but when you next come back, try one of our treatments.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you travel to Bangkok in the near future.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Congratulations,Starwood has most successfully realized the W conzept with its impressive designs combined with local Thai materials now in Bangkok.Rooms are very nice and high tech equipped.Hotel building is newly build.Location of the Hotel is fantastic at north North Sathorn Rd with adjacent BTS access.A big plus the Hotel staff is mainly very young,most friendly and highly motivated.My 2nd.stay and I noticed that more guests then mainly the W target group were present.I am pretty sure to return and that then all guests will receive at their restaurant an obligatory free coffee refil when they ordered any kind of breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Bangkok H, General Manager at W Bangkok, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Torkian,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel.
With our location, we provide our guests convenient transportation and the access to what’s New/Next in the city. I am glad that our Talents looked after you and I will sure to pass on your comments to them.
We look forward to welcoming your next visit to have another wonderful W experience.
All the best,
Nick Heath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bangkok

Address: 106 North Sathorn Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city’s prestigious Embassy Row and pulsating commercial district is the W Bangkok, a stylish icon of Asian chic. Welcome to the new playground of ambassadors, jet setters and fashionistas, a hot destination by the coolest shopping and dining. In our 407 rooms, you’re dreaming sweet in the signature W bed, or lazing in plush bathrobes as you enjoy state-of-the-art entertainment and fully wired technology, the fabulous Munchie Box and our wonderful Whatever/Whenever® service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your W Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.