We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great evening in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining

Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining
Charoen Krung Soi 20, Chinatown | Talad Noi, Samphanthawong, Bangkok 10100 , Thailand
85 904 6996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8,044 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $100 - $150
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nang Gin Kui is a private guerrilla dining lounge at Bangkok's amazing River Front spoiling guests with a million dollar river view.We serve thai fusion full-course dinner set menus including flowing beverages and wine pairing on selected evenings. Please email us if you are looking for a truly one-of-a-kind experience for special dinners and events. ** Reservation ONLY **
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great evening in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Florian was kind enough to arrange a last minute experience on a day when usually they do not serve. And Goy, although not explicitly requested made sure that none of the 15 courses contained red meat, which meant that my wife was able to enjoy the entire experience (this was done with only a couple of hours notice).

I strongly recommend that one experiences dinner at least once when visiting Bangkok; it is a dinner with a genuine difference that will not leave you disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous company, deservedly holds the number one spot on tripadvisor for a year now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

An experience not to be missed. Menu has now been extended to 15 courses with free flowing wine, beer and sparkling. Great value for3600 baht per person. The 180 degree view of the chayo river, exquisite thai fusion food, charming hosts and interesting other guests from around the world made for a memorable night. Book early to avoid disappointment! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The overall experience and idea of this private dining was rather charming. You begin by meeting your host and other dining companions at a given location. After that you take a short walk through a fun/authentic neighborhood which leads to their apartment. The chef and her team are very gracious and hospitable, really made us feel comfortable. The food is good, but definitely not great. I say this based on the pricing of the experience. I feel like there are a ton of restaurants in this city that offer much better food for this price. I'm kind of surprised by all of the 5 star reviews. Also, it was fun sitting on the floor for an authentic meal, but it was rather uncomfortable and sticky in their apartment. They do not have air conditioning. Overall the experience gets a 4, and the food gets a 3. I'd call it a 3.5. Our host and chef were really nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian_Gypser, Owner at Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear highly valued guest!

thank you very much for your recent visit and detailed review about your dinner at Nang Gin Kui !

it is truly a pity to learn that the overall experience did not live up to your expectation especially since several friends of yours highly recommended it to you.

we took your review very serious and hence would like to share following adjustments:

- as for the food you mentioned in your attached image that the seafood platter was somewhat cold and lacked flavour.

we realised that many guests have been overwhelmed by the presentation thus taking pictures which led to the fact that the squid cooled down before even served (you took a picture as well ; ). further we were serving a very tasty seafood sauce on the table in order to give a flavour to the seafood which was often not recognised therefore not eaten by our guests.

our improvement: we changed the seafood platter serving the seafood in separate dishes including the sauce, hence the food arrives warm/hot and the tasty sauce is attached to the food.

- Aircon: its a fact that food tastes better in a warm environment and i would feel awkward to serve dinner with closed windows not enjoying the breeze from the river.

our improvement: ever since studying your review we are offering hand fans to our guests, which is very well received.

We are sure you would truly enjoy your next visit at Nang Gin Kui and hope that you and your wife had a great honeymoon in Thailand !

thank you very much in helping us to improve our service!

yours sincere team @ Nang Gin Kui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It´s just amazin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been at Nang Gin Kui for the second time now and i just can say that it is an unique, amazing dining experience. Don't expect a restaurant...this is different. The atmosphere, the location, the view and the food combined with the personality and attitude of Florian and his crew make this lifetime experience happen....if you are open minded and willing to experience something different .... this place is a must.
Thanks Florian for another great night!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Night to remember :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

we started the night by meeting florian and the other guests at royal orchid hotel, it was a meet and greet dinner me and my girlfriend and two other couples. so it was us 2 from norway and 4 from the US. the Food was great, lots of fun things to eat which tasted really good. but the athmosphere we made during the night was excellent probably the best dining experience of our life. we came in as strangers went out in the end as good friends. it was the perfect match of people, and of course Florian really set the mood, he is a really good host. please Keep this at number one in TA:)

Stunning View as well, bring your camera it is a night to remember!! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining also viewed

 

Been to Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nang Gin Kui - Bangkok Private Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.