We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Hotel to your Saves list
The Emerald Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Din)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by chance as I hadn't pre booked. Walk in price was expensive for superior room. 4.520 baht. Thank goodness for smartphones with internet as we got a room for just under$71.00 AUD. Large light filled room, no noise and spacious. Nice bathroom but tap fittings badly need changing especially shower head! As it was an overnight stay we ate out with family who live close by(hence the reason for staying in the area). Close to many shops and nightlife also Chatuchak weekend market. Well appointed hotel and location, staff have limited English and could do with a bit more friendliness otherwise couldn't fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    134
    71
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
17
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for vacation with tour and travel... I got deluxe room, so it was huge so was the bathroom.. There were shower and bath tub also..
Wooden floor, nice lobby. But sadly, the staff were not so friendly.

Opposite the hotel there were reflexiology place.
The hotel has 2 different restaurant. Western and international (japanesse). I was having breakfast in japanesse hotel. It was not too special there..

Menu was not so many.

Swimming pool: it's huge but windy..
I tried their massage service in my room. The therapist was so professional but sadly there's no special massage oil. They only used baby oil.

Overall it's nice hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and easily accessible via MRT Huay Khwang
food the spread was good and delicious
too bad no free wi-fi :(
for budget travelers this will do . but not on peak periods i.e school holidays as the hotel will be full of local and non local tourist and will be crowded and noisy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter and i travelled to Bangkok to get some dental work done at Bangkok International Dental Centre. After some research i booked us into the Cha-Da Hotel. We spent 3 very noisy night's in a very creepy hotel. Then we found the Emerald! Wow! It was fantastic! We got a great deal through Agoda. The Emerald is beautiful. The room we stayed in was a little dated but very elegant and comfortable. Great gym and pool facilities. But it's the staff that really made our stay great. A big thank you especially to Chief Concierge Aswan Mendez. He went above and beyond the call of duty to help us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For last 12 years The Emerald didn't change the style and quality. The value for money: price location and service - I would strongly suggest this place whoever has to stay at Ratchadapisek. In details: the pool is fine, the staff is professional, unfortunately they shut down disco (which was really great 10years ago) but there few things I still like about the Emerald: breakfast and Japanese restaurant on the second floor. If you're for business or just passing through the Bangkok to the South - I think the Emerald is right place.
Btw, we had great friendly parties at that Japanese place for last 10 years, and I would say: Yes, the Emerald is very reliable for that. Anytime you'll feel nice and comfortable there. And, common, the price is good too. I wont go into details about the area, that's another subject.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed from Sun to Thur (08 to 12 Sep). The staff is SUPERB.They are extremely friendly and ready to help. No eye contact avoidance hence all staff display eagerness to assist. The rooms are excellent and breakfast (good selection). Location is unique at Huay Khwang MRT. NO JAMS compared to other areas. Nearby, there is a Night Market and good local delights await you. My 8th visit to BKK and shall make Emerald my official stay. Loving Emerald for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good breakfast n food.Good location for nightlife and entertainment joints.Popular seafood restorant at the end of the road- Somboon.(5 mins walk) and massage parloor along the way-Subway.Tight security which is good to prevent unknown visitor enter lift after midnight.Stayed at least 6 times for the passed 5 years but only once did encountered water leak at bathtub ,

Room Tip: if you are not satisfy with your room,ask for a change immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Hotel

Address: 99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in new development district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.