We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but needs sprucing up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald Hotel to your Saves list
The Emerald Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Din)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still good but needs sprucing up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times. It's location is convenient. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but its starting to get old.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    134
    71
    15
    7
See reviews for
26
17
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Emerald Hotel review

This is your typical budget hotel with a slight twist—it looks pretty good on the outside for a budget hotel. But once in the room, there is no question about the budgetness.

It doesn't have slippers. Not even those supercheap ones made of paper. The body lotion has uneven texture—one (half) bottle smooth and semi-fluid, the next (half) bottle lumpy almost like a gel. There is no toothbrush or toothpaste. The Internet is through a pre-paid system. Breakfast is rather limited if you don't want fried stuff.

On the plus side, it’s walking distance to a subway stop, near the Robinson’s mall, and in the entertainment district of Bangkok.

The location may be why it appears to have a buzzing conference setup. There is a large ballroom and then smaller meeting rooms. So, as happened in my stay, it is possible to have large groups traipsing through the hotel.

Room Tip: The elevators have got an annoying four-beat sound that at the dead of night when you are working on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have never seen a better hotel! Most beautiful place I have been to and I have travelled a lot. Went to Bangkok for first time last year, but stayed at another place, this time we chose the Emerald because it was recommended by friends of our – it is worth the price! Spacious, nicely decorated rooms, very convenient bathrooms with a tub. Internet in the room and around the hotel - worked flawlessly. Restaurants – went into 2 of them – really stylish and with good cuisine. Beautifully decorated lobby and a tremendous pool on one of the lowest building rooms with a view to the city. Also hotel was close to some big shopping centres in a central street with easy transport to use all around! Enjoyed it a lot and will return soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have stayed there 3 times over the last 4 years and I have seen each time the hotel is getting old.The floors which use to be so good are now cracked in many palces , Some of the staff are friendly while some just look at you while you open the door to the lobby. The rooms executive suite are plain and boring for the price .The hotel was empty compared when I was ther before and I could see why.It does not take long before people stay away , I wont be going back as it has dropped one star in my opinion. I use to love the Emerald , now I will go to the Grand Mercure Fortune which is only down the road from the Emerald.

Room Tip: Book through wotif to get cheaper rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

i dont know whether it was because it was the low season or the rooms were empty but we ended up being offered the executive suite for 5000 baht per night instead of the reccomended 13000 baht per night.

the executive suite was fantastic, decor wasnt my particular taste but each to their own.

immaculate, room service was wonderful.

DONT USE THE LAUNDRY SERVICE, we were expecting like, 100baht per kilo (most places outside of hotels charge 30baht per kilo) but they itemise each item so for about 1kg of clothes it cost around 2000 baht.

complimentary breakfast was ok, although most of the food was catered towards chinese guests (which make up a majority of the guests) but there were some good western options as well.

our room was on the 18th floor and views were SPECTACULAR. waking up in the morning and going to bed each night was gorgeous, such a beautiful way to view the gorgeous city.

i'd definately stay there again, close to the station, we got it for a FANTASTIC price and we had a really great time.

PS i chose the "family" option because it was my father and i, although i'm not sure this hotel would have enough to entertain young children.

Room Tip: bargain for the prices, chances are you can get a good deal. dont use laundry service!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Pros:
1. Very good breakfast buffet.
2. Very close to Huai Khwang MRT & Robinson.
3. Spacious room & spacious bath room.
4. Different varieties of in-house restaurants.
5. Nice spa & a gym with Jacuzzi, Steam & Sauna (which are charged extra).
6. Nice view of Ratchda skyline.

Overall a very good hotel for your business trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Review applies to my stay in Bangkok last February 2011

Pros:
- Rooms are clean, and not just large, but literally HUGE
- No problems with any of the equipment (i.e., TV, showers, LAN, Wifi, etc.) in the room, they were all in good, functioning condition when I arrived and left
- Large, impressive lounge/reception area
- Right behind the hotel, on the right side (if you are facing the hotel), there is an Automated Teller Machine (ATM) and a 7-11 store. Very convenient as you can quickly get money, and also buy food, snacks and drinks cheaply
- If you are male and going alone to Bangkok, lots of nice massage parlors right next door to the hotel.
- Also convenient in that the Huay Kuang MRT station is only about 15 minutes walk on one side, and the Carrefour and Robinson's Malls are also only about 15 minutes walk on the other side
- Breakfast buffet is pretty good. Large selection of food, and they also tastes quite good.
- All the staff were friendly, and undersand and speak good English
- Business Center was pretty decent, with a room of its own and


Cons:
- Design of the hotel and of the rooms are a bit dated. They look old, and just not very nice to me
- If you are going out with the family, the place is not really that wholesome as there are lots of massage parlors right next door to the hotel.
- A bit expensive at my corporate rate of USD 70 per night (plus breakfast), while a much cheaper hotel, the Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel, is just a couple of hundred meters across the street.
- Dishes at the hotel restaurants are relatively expensive at USD 7 per dish at their restaurants. Better to get meals from the 7-11 store, or from the nearby malls to get less than half of that price


Summary:
Nice hotel with large, impressive lobby and rooms. Design is a bit dated or old, though. ATM and cheap convenient store very near, while the MRT and malls are within tolerable walking distance. I found it a bit expensive at the price I paid for it because of the antiquated feel of the hotel, but I have to admit my stay was comfortable, no hassles, and everything worked.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Hotel

Address: 99/1 Rachadapisek Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 625
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in new development district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.