We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent suite room, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Davis Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Davis Bangkok to your Saves list
Davis Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 849 Reviews
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent suite room, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A thoughtfully decorated room, good place to relax. Very close to sukhumvit main road and metro station, but yet awayfrom the usual histle bustle of bangook. The only drawback is restaurqnt is not upto the mark. It is better to step out and have food in places nearby.

Room Tip: Value for money. Eat outside, many good restaurants nearh6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    351
    128
    43
    27
See reviews for
78
261
97
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Wing, so not in the main building.
Upon arrival at around midnight i was the only one at the reception check-in counter, so i was looking forward to reach my room quickly after a long flight. Unfortunately, the check in process still took more than 30 minutes, because the young receptionist did not speak English at all and he was extremely slow!
The room was ok, it was spacious and clean, even though the entire building was smelling very old! I was with my 2 kids, they enjoyed it, specially when they found out that WiFi is available:). Later on, when others started to use the internet on the same floor, the connection became unusably slow...
Next morning i was looking forward to enjoy the breakfast downstairs. This was a great shock, when i discovered that at 9:15am the breakfast selection on the buffet tables was completely exhausted: except some rice and salad dressing, literally empty plates and reservoirs! I could not believe to my eyes: no more jus, no coffee, no bakery items, just dirty, empty plates and reservoirs everywhere!
I have never seen such a terribly bad service in a 4 star hotel!
Fortunately, there is a Starbucks around the corner, so my day was saved.
All in all it was a cheap experience and i do not think that i may ever return to the Davis Bangkok, unless i am forced to do so.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed in a main wing Davis Suite. Very nice room (seperate lounge/kitchen and bedroom). Very comfortyable bed. Very clean. Excellent Bathroom and maid service. Very Good Pool. Wifi a bit spotty. Not 5* international standard hotel but top end 4 star. Good Staff. Well located for highway into and out of centre. But not city centre (60 baht in a taxi). Hotel restaurtant very good but limited menu. Breakfast OK but ordinary. Good restaurants nearby esp Zagin (opposite) and "The Restaurant" 200m away."Does what it says on the tin"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at a Villa. Everything was much better than we expected. The villa was stunningly beautiful, the pool area absolutely gorgeous, breakfast was yummy…everything was shiny and spotless.
It got noisy at night with a generator near our villa so we asked for a more quiet villa, and they quickly arranged it. Over all, I loved the hotel, the staff and food. I don’t understand why the manager doesn’t reply to negative comments on this website. Reading those reviews we were so hesitant to stay here. I am happy we ended up doing it.

Room Tip: We liked villa # 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is actually a reasonably decent hotel though the location lets it down somewhat. Being a good 10 minute walk from the sky train Phnom Prong or 10-15 minutes from the MRT Queen Siskrit, you mostly need to get taxis to get around, especially during the heat of the day. Taxis are generally plentiful and cheap - make sure they are willing to use the meter!

The lobby is large and welcoming. My room was in the main building and was a good size though I had requested a double bed and got two singles pushed together with a sizeable gap in between. The room and the bed were comfortable with a large bathroom.

I was surprised to find there was a charge for wifi and internet usage. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in in Thailand which charges for internet. The cost isn’t that high, (if I remember around 200 Baht per day), but still unnecessary.

I had friends staying the villas which we very nice and If I were to stay at the hotel again would stay there. There was a nice pool upon the roof with a small gym area on the top floor.

The breakfast buffet was fairly bland with a made to order egg station. The rest of it was average quality.

I probably wouldn’t stay here again unless at a villa as I think there are better value and located hotels in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Get a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Davis never fails to impress us, since we first stayed there almost ten years ago. Located conveniently to restaurants, shopping, and the sky train in up-market Sukhumvit, it offers amenities that far more expensive hotels fail to provide.

It is quiet. Very quiet. Even though it is in a busy part of town.

Service is astounding. Call the desk for something, towels, ice, and the knock comes at your door sometimes in less than sixty seconds.

You get a cable to plug your iPod into the sound system. Sure you could walk away with it, but there it is, in a convenient little bag, next to the desk.

The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere, with teak and stone and warm colors and furnishings.

It's a very nice place to stay at a very reasonable cost in one of the most attractive districts of Bangkok.

Check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After two fantastic hotels in Koh Samui and Koh Phangan, we were unbelievably disappointed with the Davis. It was sold to us as a boutique hotel, however the Studio room in the Corner Wing in which we stayed, could only be described as akin to that of a Holiday Inn. The room was extremely average, the bed was hard, the pillows were hard and the water in the shower had zero temperature control.

In addition, the breakfast was poor with little choice, the levels of customer service were poor and there was no active bar or restaurant. We also had to pay for WIFI access and bottled water and the shift manager was extremely blunt and unhelpful when I voiced my concerns to him. He also mentioned that he did not know it was our honeymoon, which we later found out from our holiday company was incorrect.

The staff did nothing to make us feel welcome or to make our stay during our honeymoon anything other than businesslike. We have reported back to our holiday company and strongly suggested that they do not use this hotel again.

If we ever go back to Bangkok we will definitely stay on the river. There is much more ambience and activity by the river. We found where the Davis was situated to be rather dead and out of the way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Davis Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Bangkok

Address: 88 Sukhumvit 24 | Klongteoy, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Davis Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Davis Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Davis Hotel
Davis Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davis Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.