We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI Mid Bangkok

HI Mid Bangkok
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HI Mid Bangkok to your Saves list
HI Mid Bangkok
481/3 Victory Monument, Ratchawithi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Close to the BTS Victory Monument, shopping malls around and nice staff. The dorm room is airconditioned and has a curtain for privacy. I didn't like the fact that I had to put the bedsheets myself but I guess that assures cleanliness. The showers don't drain that well. Overall it was a good stay for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
5
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here twice: about two weeks ago and a few days ago. The first time we really enjoyed staying at Hi Mid. This past experience was not nearly as good. Our room was worse and for the same price. We looked at several other rooms and the rooms were just as bad. Our room was dingy, the bathroom smelled like garbage, and the windows did not completely close and lock. We left our bags at Hi Mid on the day we left when we went to the zoo, and one of the hotel employees broke the chest strap off my girlfriend's backpack while moving the backpack. The employee refused to accept responsibility for the missing strap. Hi Mid is in a good location, and is a decent hostel, but definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mid Bangkok for five nights in a double room. The room was like a hotel room :-). Cleaning is done every day, if you wish and you get also two bottles of water every day. There is a washing room available, where you can wash your clothes yourself. The breakfast was not too good (toast, cornflakes, tea, coffee, milk). The people at reception are friendly and helpful. The location was good - very close to Victory Monument Skytrain-station, from where you get everywhere (weekend market, shopping centers, river...). You don't get annoyed by any sellers outside the hostel and you have direct busses to Khangsan Road (Backpacker Area). It is a little bit pricy but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

1. Good luggage storage service.
2. Clean bathroom
3. Nice bed
4. got evaluator :)
5. Provide hot water and coffee all day long.
6. Simple breakfast is a plus point
7. Best~ Nice staff at reception.
8. i like the cozy lounge. Nice for reading and hanging around.

A bit pricey... for what you get... I stayed in private double room.

Room Tip: Maybe can try the dorm room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This little hostel is blessing for people who do not want to go on steps up and down. It is very near to shopping, victory monument and mass transit system. The staff was very helpful and knew English very good. We stayed in room for 3 (lower beds) and en-suit. Rooms were clean and checking-in as we came to hostel around 9.30am. We did not have to wait for 2pm, check in time like others. The BF was basic. cornflakes, coffee, tea, toast w Jam and Banana (if ripe). They helped us to get our luggage in from taxi and to up the rooms. We were 6 ladies with lots of luggage for 20 days trip and 5 countries. Staff helped us to find Veg food and help getting taxies also. we stayed 2N/3D starting our trip and again 2D/1N on our return. THey also stored our extra luggage. Even AC was working very good. Great small place at right location.

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 305 and 306. Nice size room and no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

HI Mid Bangkok is a little gem near the victory monument. Transportation using the airport line or BTS line is very convenient. The service and staff are professional, friendly, and helpful. When checking in, you get your sheets and blanket so you know that you are getting fresh and clean sheets. The dorms are small but have build in safes and curtains to give the feel of having your own space. The bathrooms were very clean and the convenient washers/dryers made doing laundry very easy. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3D/2N in a double room. It was clean & tidy. I had a queen-size bed all to myself. Air conditioning was great & refreshing from the hot weather. The drawbacks were (1) ants seem to turn up from nowhere, (2) you could hear just a bit of the traffic outside from time to time, (3) my bathroom had a partially clogged drain. Water would pool when one would use the shower but not to the point of overflowing, (4) they change sheets & towels ONLY if you request them to (Reason: Save water, energy, etc) & (5) you feel the building shake especially when in bed (My guess is passing buses & trucks). Apart from all these, it was safe even for a solo travelling lady like me. Staff was friendly & accommodating. Free breakfast in the morning (Your basic toast, jam, butter, coffee & chocolate). Location was also excellent since it's just a 5 minutes walk to the mrt/bts. The malls are just next door & opposite. The best part is, at night, the whole stretch of the street turns into a night market selling really cheap clothes, bags, shoes, etc. No need to tread off to Pratunam Market or DMK. There are also food stalls on a certain stretch nearby selling authentic yet cheap Thai food. No food poisoning nor upset stomach on my part. Wifi is available too in all areas of the hostel. Fast enough but can get disconnected when you become idle. They can also arrange for you a cab to take you to the airport. The staff can speak english just enough to communicate which is a relief. I'd definitely stay here again if I'd be out the whole time. Oh by the way, room I had did not have a tv nor small fridge. I didn't mind since I was out most of the time. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI Mid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Mid Bangkok

Address: 481/3 Victory Monument, Ratchawithi Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your HI Mid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI Mid Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.