We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooftop bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Speakeasy

The Speakeasy
55/555 Soi Langsuan | Lumpini,, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
026304000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 7,182 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent rooftop bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just visited the speakeasy. The tapas was delicious, and reasonably priced. But limited range of single malts (my thing). Otherwise a very nice rooftop bar with a prohibition era ambience. Definitely worth a visit. Service was good

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseBangkok, Resident Manager at The Speakeasy, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Wolfain

Thank you very much for choosing The Speakeasy. We are delighted that you like our tapas new selection. great time with us.
Thank you for your kind note regarding to list of the single malts. Your feedback is very important.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Caroline Trichet
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    50
    12
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, decent place for a drink, average service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We tried three dishes: tuna tartar, a pasta and a risotto. All three were very poor. Specifically, the tuna was fishy (not fresh), the risotto was incredibly bland, and the pasta was soggy (very overcooked). My wife had a chocolate martini that she liked, while I had a below average mojito - supposedly one of their specialties. We decided to check it out since the Muse is a 5-minute walk from our condo on Ratchadamri Rd, but probably won't be back unless it's for a quick drink. Heavy cigar smoke nearby was also somewhat bothersome.

We far prefer Scarlett (also balcony dining, but far superior experience) or Above 11 (true rooftop dining). Also of note, Speakeasy is a very small place, only a few tables, but we did manage to "walk in" and get a table at 9:30 on a Friday night. A number of men were wearing casual shorts, so not really an upscale experience either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseBangkok, Resident Manager at The Speakeasy, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Eppic_sing

Thank you for taking the time & trouble to write a message on Trip advisor.

I am of course sad to hear that you did not enjoy The Speakeasy’s food.I spoke with our chef and he will review your feedback with our team.

In the meantime ,if you decide to give us another chance, please let us offering you a couple of our best seller ,I’m sure this would not be any longer a disappointment for you and your wife.

As The Speakeasy is an open air outlet, our guests are free to smoke, saying this, I’m sure the team could have accommodate a different seat for you, maybe another time.

Scarlett is also one of my favorite place, it’s a different style and in fact a different setting compare to Speakeasy which is divided in 2 levels..
I guess it’s down to our readers to decide by themselves where they would go next..
Saying this, if you decide to give us another chance ,I would be very happy to do the arrangement for you.

Please contact me directly on H7174-GM2@accor.com
Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards,
Caroline Trichet
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Planned my proposal here and it was amazing. The staff and service there was perfect. I had a great night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseBangkok, Resident Manager at The Speakeasy, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jeremy N
Thank you very much for celebrating your special day with us.
Your comment on trip advisor was well received with our Speakeasy team.
The fact that you had an excellent experience made our day.

Congratulation & Sparkling wishes.

Best regards,
Caroline Trichet
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Not a roof top bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Remember being very pricey - we ordered a jar of mojito costing us a hefty price but was barely able to share among 4 people - service is ok - food is ok - the average rating I have given is because of the value - if the same place can be had of for even 3/4 of the price i would give this place an above average rating - other thing that is slightly misleading is that they appear under as "roof top bars in Bangkok" (that is why I went there) – not sure if they advertise it that way other people mistook it - but the bar sits on a balcony (not on the roof top) of a not too tall building with view of the street down below for the most part - if you sit close to the ledge that is!!! For roof top dining experience with that king of price there are at least 15 other places in BKK that would come ahead of this. Still – if you are in Langusuan area and looking for something different ambiance this could be an option.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseBangkok, Resident Manager at The Speakeasy, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear neupaneaj

Thank you for your comment on the Trip advisor comment.
Sorry to hear that The Speakeasy is not part of your favorite list of the roof top bar. By the comment you’ve raised, I am not certain if you have been up to the 25th floor, as we do have 2 levels.

We do have a lot of good comments regarding the Bangkok view that the Speakeasy offers ,I’m just sad that you’re not thinking that way.

I hope you will take the opportunity to come back one time and maybe experience it on another point of view.

Best regards,
Caroline Trichet
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service from staff especially K Pensri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooftop bar serving food as good as the best Michelin star restaurants in Europe. The cocktails were absolutely amazing. We really enjoyed the French tapas. The vibe I would just sum it up in one word ' luxurious'

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMuseBangkok, Manager at The Speakeasy, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear ken_gulwani
Thank you very much for your valuable time taken in giving us this review on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure to have learned our food as good as The Best Michelin star. In fact, Jean Baptiste Natali, Michelin Star chef our chef came especially from France to create an exciting new brasserie dishes. Our new menu concept is to bring Forgotten French Dishes with an Asian Twist to our roof top bar. We are delighted to know you that K. Pensri looked after you so well. Looking forward to welcome you back when you near Bangkok.

Best regards,
Dhid Boonsombat
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Speakeasy also viewed

 

Been to The Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speakeasy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.