We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet near the chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Riva Surya Bangkok to your Saves list
Riva Surya Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Cambridge
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Quiet near the chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A nice new hotel on the banks of the river. It's one of the most expensive choices in the area but I found it to be worth it because of the quality of the room and general location.

Some rooms have a private balcony overlooking the pool and river areas. It's nice to sit out and watch the boats go by even though the river is very brown and polluted.

There is NO VIEW of any of the temples or historical sites from the hotel. There is just a big double condo complex across from the hotel that dominates the view.

The restaurant has some good food. Western and Thai dishes. The service can be slow but its a nice place to relax on the patio overlooking the river.

The hotel fronts onto a busy street with lots of stores and things to see if you go for a walk.

This is an overall good choice if you want some peace and quiet while in Bangkok and can afford the high rates that come with it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    167
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
277
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A very modern hotel located by the river. The staff are extremely friendly and greet you as you enter, leave and even when you walk from one place to another in the hotel. We were in a Riva Room which was located on the top floor at the river facing corner with good view of the river from two sides of the room. Though it had no balcony, this was no problem. The glass bathroom may seem odd to some people, but I liked it.

The bed was very comfortable, being not too firm as were the pillows. Coffee and a variety of teas were provided. The minibar was so packed with (high priced) drinks that it was difficult to find space to chill your water without a bit of 'rearrangement'.

After a morning of activities around Bangkok, it was not difficult to find a lounger by the pool in the late afternoon. These are very large and comfortable, and many are in the shade if you don't want to fry.

Breakfast is very comprehensive and is a pleasant experience watching the early morning activities on the river. Lunch and evening dining is very expensive, but there are plenty of good places to eat within 10 minutes walk.

The only fault I could find was lack of facilities for changing clothes after checking out. With most flights to Europe being late at night meaning many people needing to check out 8-10 hours before leaving, the only option is to pay for an extra night (an unnecessary expense in my opinion), or use the outdoor shower by the pool which is not private. A day changing facility as we have used elsewhere would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid urban rooms due to noisy bars. The Riva rooms give a more than adequate view of the river, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked this on a friend's recommendation and loved it. The reception staff were absolutely delightful; Thai politeness and hospitality are outstanding and the front desk could not have been any more helpful or charming. They leave you smiling after every interaction. We stayed a couple of nights with in a room with river views when we arrived at the start of our two week stay, and one night in a street view room at the end of the trip. Both rooms were outstanding in décor, function, and cleanliness, and included probably the most comfortable beds I've ever been in! There was a little noise in the street view rooms but frankly, in a big city that's part of the buzz. The river room was very quiet and with beautiful views. We had a couple of breakfasts and one evening meal there and they were good, but I actually prefer to get out and about to find different places to eat, especially in Bangkok where the street foot is insanely cheap and tasty. Very hand fro Khao San Rd (5 mins walk) and Pier 13 for travelling the rive (2 mins walk). Would book again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: River views a little more expensive but worth it... for the view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the start of our holiday and would definitely recommend. We had a room on the third floor which was large and had a lovely balcony overlooking the river. The bed was enormous and so comfortable that we didn't even wake up in the middle of the night with the inevitable jet lag - quite something!
Spent the day lazing by the pool which was perfect, a real treat in hot and dusty Bangkok.
Breakfast not included in room rate which annoys me a bit as the hotel is not the cheapest but they gave us a discounted rate and it was good and plentiful with lots of choice.
Location perfect - close to many bars and restaurants and the Kho San Road, if you like that sort of thing!
Staff were so sweet and helpful and arranged our transfer to the airport. Felt very welcome throughout our visit.
I can see that the roadside rooms must get noisy as there's lots of action in bars etc along the street so treat yourself and get a riverside room.
All in all a lovely gem of a hotel. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great location near Khao San Road, tons of restaurants, bars, etc, nearby. The balconies facing the river are wonderfully relaxing, watching the river taxis, barges, etc. go by. Pool is great, never too crowded. Food and drinks are expensive by Thai standards, normal by western standards. We've stayed here 3 times, and will return next year. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well-designed. We had issues one time with sound transference from an adjoining room, but no issues since the first time.

Use the river boats to get to the bts. Much more enjoyable and just as quick.

Room Tip: We would like to inform you that Deluxe Riva Rooms on 1st, 4th and 5th floor and Premium Riva Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

It took us quite some time to select this hotel of the many in Bangkok but we loved every minute of our stay. Conveniently located near pier 13 of the river boats it was our safe heaven after heating up during our daily trips to many tourist attractions nearby. Since the location is also close to the backpackers area, there is an abundance of many good and cheap restaurants in the neighbourhood. Nightlife is also great with Khao San Road a few blocks away. Metro and Skytrain are not to be found in the area, but a taxi, tuk tuk, river boat and longtail boat are just around the corner to get you everywhere. Great, clean luxerious hotel with enormous bed and very nice pool. I keep this in my favourite hotel list.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
704 helpful votes 704 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Bangkok is a crazy, busy city. The Riva is a simple, lovely and calm respite from the chaos. Conveniently located right on the river, this boutique hotel offers views of the ever changing channel. Lots to watch from your balcony or from the pool.

The rooms are large and designed with simple elegance. It was very clean and well appointed. Beds and linens are good quality and the rooms very quiet. Breakfast offerings were fresh and plentiful.It was great to come back to hotel to relax by the pool after a busy day of touring.

The staff is outstanding! So warm, personable and helpful. Great Thai hospitality!

We would highly recommend this unique, top notch boutique hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 765 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Surya Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.