We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with Riva Surya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riva Surya Bangkok to your Saves list
Riva Surya Bangkok
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleased with Riva Surya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend from Bangkok. I was impressed by this boutique hotel. A great location: on the Chao Phraya River with access to water taxis, walking distance to the Grand Palace, walking distance to Khao San Road. Very clean and comfortable with a refreshing pool looking out over the river. The staff was very friendly and helpful - always ready to help me as I head out to explore the city. My favorite of the 3 hotels I stayed in while in Thailand.

Room Tip: Get a river-view room; the street view rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    250
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
156
433
65
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location with rooms overlooking the river. The express boat pier is 2mins walk away which is a great way to move around the city. The Grand Palace is nearby either by walking or boat. The bars/restaurants and nightlife of Khao San road is five minutes walk away but this is a gem of luxury compared to the usual hotels of Khao San road. The hotel has a fantastic pool and friendly staff who are always happy to assist.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I haven't really heard of Riva Surya Hotel before so I didn't really know what to expect but when we got there, it was actually a really nice hotel. The interior of the hotel (lobby and the rooms) was really nice and it has very intricate details on the walls and ceilings. It's very different from the big chains of hotels in Bangkok that's why it stands out, in my opinion. The staff were really friendly and very helpful,the rooms are clean and nice and it has a very nice pool too. The food at their restaurant was fine and a little pricey, it's better to just eat out since you will get plenty of options outside the hotel. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the area behind the hotel (facing the river) was very filthy, there were dog and human feces everywhere on the path walk to go to the boat stations so I found that quite disgusting. You can visibly see the path walk from the hotel's poolside and from the restaurant too, it wouldn't hurt if the hotel management would assign someone to clean that area since their hotel guests use the boats frequently. The main road in front of the hotel has lots of restaurants, cafés and bars, also it is very near Khao San Road where it is nice to hang out at night to eat out, do a little bargain shopping or go for some drinks at the bars. By the way, this hotel is also located at the backpacker central or it used to be.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed in Bangkok for a little over 2 weeks. I decided to move around a bit staying at different hotels. This was my favorite spot! Staff was great. Walking distance to a ton of attractions. Also right on the river so you can take a water taxi places too. Very clean and comfortable. Food by hotel standards, was not bad. Staff spoke better English than most places. I would definitely recommend this hotel.It did get a little loud at night and the only fault I see with the whole hotel is that it has the loudest doors I have ever heard. Every time one closes it sounds like it was slammed. A small down to an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Riverside doesn't mean "view" I was on the 2nd floor and the trees blocked the view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Conrad Hilton 5 years ago, and it was like not leaving Miami; my home. I wanted to be near the old section without the long commute from the area of the Conrad Hilton; I found it at this Boutique one year old Hotel next to the river. We traveled to all places by river ferry located in back of the hotel. Service and food were excellent, and the staff competent and friendly; they spoke not only English, but French, Italian, and Spanish, as well as other languages I did not recognise. The Manager was superb, and came by daily to see if we were happy with his staff and facilities; we were there 10 days with no problems; conducted business, and were able to be close to all we wanted to see. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, as high as possible for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very friendly staff
Excellent location, quiet and less than 15 minutes walk from the Royal Palace, Wat Pho and the vibrant Khao San Road. Also less than 5 minutes walk from the local ferry station.
Booked a top floor room with river views and worth every penny. Private balcony with stunning views over the two bridges. Comfortable couch on balcony meant spent countless hours watching the river go by whilst relaxing with a cold beer.

Room Tip: Book room with river view, worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful riverside restaurant, top notch food and good service. I went to the Riva Surya with a group of 10 to celebrate Loy Krathong expecting it to be good, but it was really excellent. The chef pulled out all the stops with the buffet adding interesting twists to the selection of food. It wasn't just a seafood buffet, it was crab, lobster, king prawns with your choice of a variety of marinades. Not just pate but foie gras cooked in front of you. Not just a selection of fruit but a chocolate fountain with fruit to dip. Incredibly good value. To top it off there was a great live jazz band all night, free flowing wine and beer AND a boat tour along the river where we floated our krathongs. Looking forward to more events at this hotel as they did a such a beautiful job at this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Surya Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.