We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nantra Sukhumvit 39

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nantra Sukhumvit 39 to your Saves list
Nantra Sukhumvit 39
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1/46 - 49 Sukhumvit 39 (Prompong), North Klongton, Wattana, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Not bad for short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went for this budget hotel as I only needed a one-night stay, because I flew in to Bangkok a day before my official business trip, to do some mad shopping, so I just needed a decent and cheap as hell hotel to sleep. I booked it via Agoda and paid like only S$40 or lesser. Really cheap!

Its location is unbeatable, it is so close to Phrom Phong BTS Skytrain station, and it is opposite the Emporium Shopping complex, where my office and my business trip accommodation (Emporium Suite) is situated. So all I needed was to cross the overhead bridge and viola, I reached my office already.

There is this "Wat Po Massage School" located along the same row of shop-houses as the hotel which offers good and cheap foot massages. And it closes very late at night so it is really good to drop by after one whole day of walking and shopping to relax and unwind.

Overall, the hotel is quite nice and I do feel quite comfortable staying for the night, but for a relatively new hotel, a number of the furniture and fixture are breaking apart. My hotel room’s door doesn’t open quite well, the wood laminates of the table is peeling off and there are stains on the hotel’s towels. But, for $40 a night, I wouldn't complain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
5
19
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is hard to find since it located inside a corner, make sure u note down the phone number and call the receptionist when you can't find it. The location is very good because is very near to BTS station , many places we can go just by BTS train. The bedroom is clean and toilet is very nice,I like it overall but just they don't have hot water provided. The receptionist is very friendly , we out of time and need a cab to airport , they help us call taxi and the taxi reach within few minutes,
Besides, they borrowed their samsung charger for us also due to we forgot to bring so we return it every morning. Overall ,the price is affordable and breakfast is okay and healthy. Nice !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a hotel were you want to return to sleep, the room are as basic as possible with a bathroom squeezed into these, the location is good all around you will find restaurants, supermarkets and so on it close to the Emporium Shopping Mall.

What got me was that the morning staff lack motivation to go out and buy milk for breakfast when the ran out the second night i stayed in the hotel. Stupid this must leave the place in the lower range of hotels, as staff did not try to ensure the guest were taken well care of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked this hotel for 2 reasons: first we were staying with a group of people who wanted something decent for as cheap as possible and second, close to the BTS line to get around easily. This hotel fulfilled both.
It is recent and clean and with its convenient location (it is also very close to the Emporium) that's pretty much all its advantages.
The rooms are quite small, which I usually don't mind but the bathrooms are especially tiny; the toilet seat is practically in the shower, without any curtain or any form of separation between the 2! No hair dryer included.
There are also no drawers or dressers to leave your clothes in.
The staff, while friendly enough is quite inefficient and barely speak enough English to communicate efficiently with guests.
The included continental breakfast is a bit sad.
If you travel light, on a budget and just want somewhere clean to crash, that's a good place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My friends and I were planning for a vacation in Bangkok and were looking for a reasonable cheap but clean place to stay. We came across Nantra Sukhumvit 39 in Agoda.com and reviews provided by previous travelers on Tripadvisor was pretty good so we decided to book our accommodation with Nantra Sukhumvit 39.

We booked two standard rooms for 1,000 baht per night per room (prices subjected to change). Breakfast included. Here's my review based on a five day four night stay at the hotel:

Rooms:
- 1 double bed with 4 pillows
- TV, Fridge, Air-conditioned
- Towels, soap and shower cap provided

Amenities:
- 3 computers with internet available at the lobby
- WIFI in the room
- Breakfast is from 7:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (simple menu: bread, milk, orange juice, fruits and cereal)

Location:
- 2 minutes walk to Phrom Phong BTS Skytrain
- 5 minutes walk to Emporium Shopping Centre
- 30 minutes from Don Mueng International Airport (1 hour and 15 minutes during rush hour with traffic jam)

Pros:
- Near to BTS Skytrain
- Have lots of street food / restaurants in the area
- Can easily access public transport (tuk-tuk and taxis)
- Near shopping areas
- Helpful friendly staff

Cons:
- Uniquely weird design of room with washing basin outside the bathroom
- The whole hotel has a strong chemical smell (like industrial cleaner), including the rooms
- Hard to find the hotel as it is located in a corner, taxi drivers might not know the location
- The first night I was there, there was no water from the taps and I was unable to shower. Called the reception and the problem was quickly resolved. However the front desk people speak limited English.
- My friends' room's air-condition had water dripping from it.

Notes:
- To find the place, just tell the taxi driver Phrom Phong BTS Skytrain station, opposite of Emporium Shopping complex. It is the same row as "Wat Po Massage School"
- Just outside the hotel there is a "Thai Food Very Cheap Very Good" restaurant that serves really nice Thai food. If you are sick of eating toast and cereal every morning, this would be a good place to try
- Just around the corner from the "Thai Food Very Cheap Very Good" restaurant, there are street vendors selling nice food like Thai papaya salad, mix rice, fruits, fried omelet etc.
- Has a lot of Japanese restaurants near by

Room Tip: Try to get a room which does not face the construction site... and corner rooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is difficult to find a similar budget hotel so near to the BTS station, Phrom Phong, The room is clean but needs a little upgrading. The breakfast is basic. The staff are very courteous and allowed me late checkout. Please note that the hotel is a No Smoking hotel. At present there is a big contraction site (Emporium 2) located next to it and so it is noisy in the day time if you are in the room and if you stay at end of the corridor next to the construction site.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel's location is quite convienent as it's only 2 mins walk to Phrom Phong BTS which gives you easy access to the Bangkok city.

I stayed on the corner room on 2nd floor which near to the stairs. (p/s: although there's an elevator in the hotel, but it doesn't takes you to 2nd floor, and yes, you need to take stairs)

The room is really basic, room size is ok, quite clean but the shower room is slightly small. I had a king-size bed and it's quite comfortable.

The room wall is quite thin, it doesn't equipped with any sound-proof equipment. Sometimes you'll be annoyed in the morning, as you can hear the noise from 1st floor during the breakfast time.

The room was cleaned everyday and 2 bottles of free water will be provide daily even there's a bottle inside the fridge.

There are construction sites around the hotel, one is just beside it. But i was lucky as it was quite ok as there's no noise from the constrution sites during my stay.

Forget about the breakfast unless it's included in your booking. The breakfast is super duper basic continental breakfast which offers bread, cereals, fruits, coffee, tea, ginger tea and that's all. So, you can just skip it and try to look for local breakfast which available along the streets.

Emporium shopping mall & Naraya are just opposite the road, you can do some last minute shopping before you leave.

For food, the nearby Im Chan food stall will feed you authenticThai food at cheap price. you can count on this stall for all your meals. As it's in the Japan district, you will find a lot of japanese restaurants in this area. Also, 7-eleven & Family Mart stores are around the corner, you can get some late night snacks or quick bites here. there's another food stall operates during daytime in front of the Family Mart.

For those who wish or love spa/massage, there are plenty of massage parlours available here. You may try the authentic thai massage at Watpo Massage School which is jusr beside the hotel. It operates daily from 9am, and the price is unbeatable where it only cost 300baht for 2 hours. The service is quite good and the receiptionist speaks Japanese, so it's always crowded and filled with Japanese.

Also, the Urban Retreat is in this area too! It's located near one of the BTS exit, you can easily spot it! The spa is really worth a try, and the price is friendly too.

Overall, it was a good stay. If you're a budget traveller, this hotel might be your choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located on 2nd floor during weekends, as you can hear the noise from 1st floor during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantra Sukhumvit 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantra Sukhumvit 39

Address: 1/46 - 49 Sukhumvit 39 (Prompong), North Klongton, Wattana, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nantra Sukhumvit 39 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nantra Sukhumvit 39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantra Sukhumvit 39, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.