We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dim sum, no frills cafeteria style atmosphere, neglectful service, slow food arrival, super value prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Canton House

The Canton House
530 _______, Samphanthawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand, Bangkok, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,236 of 7,317 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum, no frills cafeteria style atmosphere, neglectful service, slow food arrival, super value prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited the Canton House on a Tuesday afternoon for dim sum on the last day of Song Kran (Thai New Year Holiday). We got excited about this place as it was mentioned a few times in TripAdvisor's forums when the subject of good Chinatown dim sum came up.

This place is hard to rate because it's almost like having two totally different experiences depending on what is important to you as a foodie. See below for the way we broke it down.

FIRST PART: FOOD AND VALUE = 5 STARS
First, the food was very good and so cheap relative to other dim sum prices in Bangkok that I had to look at the menu a few times to believe it. Most items on the dim sum menu are 20 baht (~USD 75 cents) compared to 85-95 baht (~USD $3) at most other decent dim sum places in Bangkok . I was ecstatic, I even took a photo of the first page of the menu with the price highlighted on top (see posted images). For this first part of the experience, I give it 5 stars.

SECOND PART: SERVICE AND ATMOSPHERE = 2 STARS
Second, the place is basically a 2-floor no frills cafetera with neglectful service and moderate to long waits for food to arrive (see posted photo of main dining room). When we first arrived, it was busy and we put our name on the list. A party that was larger than ours jumped in front of us and grabbed our table so we had to wait for the next one. The staff seemed indifferent and too busy to be concerned. Once we sat down, the waiter arrived reasonably quickly and took our orders. Our water came but no glasses and we couldn't find the waiter so I ran up to the front and grabbed the glasses myself from the waiter station. The dishes took some time to arrive. The noodles and rice came out in about 10 minutes. But the dim sum took longer at about 25 minutes. They didn't bring any sauces including hot sauce or soy sauce so we had to ask for this as well but it did arrive reasonably quickly this time after we requested it. For thIs part of the experience, I give it 2 stars.

RECOMMENDATIONS
- Get table on ground floor, the upstairs room is even worse and feels like a prison cafeteria with no windows.
- Dim sum items we loved the most were the standard ones. Shrmp har kow, the other kind of shrimp dumpings, pork dumplings, deep fried rose shrimp dumplings, scallop dumpling, fried banana dessert - all fresh and very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    29
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Best Dim Sum in Bangkok. Cheap, tasty, quick and in a GREAT location amidst Chinatown. The ginger juice is a must along with pork dumplings, steamed buns with bbq pork, and of course the duck

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Chinese and Thai restaurant in Chinatown Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I dropped by Chinatown and found this restaurant frequently visited by the locals. I ordered the Canton juice which tasted very much like a strawberry ice shake with too much ice. The stir fried dry noodle with seafood had prawn. The spicy seafood soup had good amount of mushroom, prawn and seasoning. The food was made with good ingredient and well cooked. Unfortunately there where small roaches coming out of their cracked table so I had to do some bug squashing along the way. It opens at 11am which makes it very unusual for dim sum, but that is the usual time in Thailand for most restaurant except for food cart and stalls.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are passing the chinese area of BKK, at Yowarat road, don't miss this place. Its real full of thai and chines people, fod is good and price are lower your immagination. Is funny, it mix old style with modern service. It has a huge menu and most of choice comes in small dimension so you can have different possibility to try new food. Even you eat a lot your bill will be low. Try it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Its always a good sign when a restaurant is continually packed out with a local crowd and The Canton House in Chinatown Bangkok is no exception. You may wait a few minutes for a table as a result but it's a huge space so the turnover is quick and relatively seamless.
The service is friendly and generally efficient despite the number of young wait staff. They are well supported and supervised by an excellent head waiter who always aims to make the meal a great experience. Another plus is the excellent air conditioning which is a welcome relief from the sticky Bangkok streets.
The food is simple and tasty with incredibly cheap dim sum and some stand out large dishes such as the whole deep fried fish with tamarind sauce. I also recommend the scallops in XO sauce and any of the vegetable dishes which are fresh, crisp and tasty. The food arrives in record time and never fails to disappoint.
Highly recommended for a cheap and quick meal, especially if you need some respite from the hot and sweaty dining experience of Bangkok's street vendors in the Chinatown strip. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canton House also viewed

 

Been to The Canton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.