We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste of Thai Food from Thais opinion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joy Luck Club

Joy Luck Club
18 Prasumain Rd. | Chana Songkhram, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
0860814433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 8,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 56 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great taste of Thai Food from Thais opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm Thai and just found this nice Thai restaurant to dinner with friend. I live in Bangkok but not knowing much about which restaurant is having good Thai dishes near Pha Artit road. Accidentally, I walk passed Joy Luck Club and my friend told me that this restaurant is famous so we interested and just tried it out. We ordered two menus : Omelette Formula 1(special formula omelette by the owner and she also have Formula 2 we) and fried tofu with vegetables. Both menus are tasty and make we wanna try other menus next time. Also, lemon juice is great refreshing. It is the real Thai food I think.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and trendy,gorgeous cafe! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I had the massaman curry and it was one of the nicest curries I've ever had in my entire love. It came with sweet roti bread which was also delicious. So glad I found this place! Free wifi and the loveliest staff too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Bangkok.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for over six years, I'm very disappointed to have only recently found Joy Luck Club. What have I been eating all these years?!

The staff, who I believe are two sisters, are very friends, very helpful and more than happy to explain each freshly made dish in great detail.

The food is brilliant, the drinks are great... I can't fault anything.

This is my new favourite place to eat in Bangkok. It's a must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Full of endearing details...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stumbled on this quirky, charming little hole in the wall just a couple of blocks north of the Kao San melee. So happy I did--there's just so much to recommend here: tons of veggie options, relaxing jazz music, fried talon root for nibbles, lemon ice tea that is to die for, rice served in the shape of a teddy bear, perfectly seasoned food tailored to your tastes. I really wish I had discovered it earlier in my BKK stay--I'd be here every night. And the owners--(2 sisters from what I gather) are absolute sweethearts. Oh, and decor alone is worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on this little treat by accident. Had the best food of our trip so far. A tiny wee place, with a lovely lady who was waitress, chef and cocktail mixer; all whitest being adorable.

Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Luck Club also viewed

 

Been to Joy Luck Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy Luck Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.