We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bolognese

Il Bolognese
139/3, Sathon Soi 7, South Sathon Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Sathorn)
2 286 8805
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #65 of 7,695 restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Description: traditional Italian Restaurant with wide menu from pizza pasta meat and seafood
sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Another restaurant reviewed by Tripadvisor readers, and it really is execellent. We've been twice this week and both times the food was excellent.
The best way to get there is by taxi, and your if you get the hotel doorman to explain the location to the driver, it will save you a lot of stress.
The service was attentive from the start. When we were ready to order, the owner came as we asked for recommendations, and he gave suggestions which we loved. We ordered a starter between us, which was Salumi (aged parma ham, speck, salami & mortadella) with Fried Gnocchi and olives. The fried gnocchi was light and non greasy, and we ate them with the salumi wrapped around or stuffed inside the gnocchi as the owner suggested.
For mains, we ordered a Pizza with Gorgonzola and Speck - delicious, and Spinach Ravioli with Spinach and sage butter. This was light, tasty and the ravioli pasta was thin and velvety. Then we finished off with a Tiramisu - very good and light.
At the end of the meal, we were given complimentary Lemoncello grappa - that was a perfect end to the meal.
For what it cost, it was really not too pricey (about Bt1800, considering we had wine and drinks).
I will definitely go back the next time we're in Bangkok.
One tip - if you go for dinner it is best if you ask the restaurant to get you a cab and explain to them where to take you - the area is very quiet at night, and it is not recommended that you walk to the BTS. Thai taxi drivers will tell you they understand where you want to go when they really don't, and always carry your hotel's address in Thai on you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    102
    38
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Italian restaurant in Bangkok !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I though I still was in Italy!
The food is cheap and delicious!
The best compromised between quality and prize in Bangkok !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as great as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I like the atmosphere, it was homey with friendly staffs and manager ready to help you and recommend the dishes. The pizza is very good, the parma ham, and the vegetables are fresh and crispy. However, the seafood dishes and soup was quite bland.
I have to said that their chocolate moose was one of the best thing i've eaten in ll Bolognese

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Believe what others have written about this restaurant-it's great dining. We were staying at the Banyan Tree and wanted a good restaurant close-bye after sunset cocktails at the Moon Bar. A quick search on trip advisor and we were off on a short taxi ride to Ill Bolognese without any great expectations (after 3 good cocktails, expectations seem to disappear!). In brief, the service and food were excellent. Having visited Italy on two occasions recently, I can say that this is authentic Italian cuisine. Not much point in recommending particular dishes because that's why they have a menu-so you can choose the food you like...I can certainly recommend that you go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Easily best Italian for the price in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I too was a bit dubious when told of an "amazing" Italian restaurant in Bangkok (and automatically assumed Zannotti), but this place is quickly establishing itself as a heavy contender in the Bangkok restaurant scene. Not only was the food and service exceptional, but the price was inline with quality European or American restaurants rather than the sometimes exorbitant prices seen at other high-end restaurants in Bangkok.

We had the burrata appetizer which was amazing and left me trying to figure out how one would even source the ingredients in Southeast Asia. I woud also strongly recommend the Pizza di Andrea which is an aged pizza dough that is baked in a brick oven sitting in the corner of the restaurant. The toppings are prepared to order by a well trained pizza chef with Parma ham being shaved before your eyes. The wine exceptional is lengthy and seems much more reasonably priced than most other restaurants we visited in Thailand. The service is on par with the very best hotels and restaurants in the city. We did not have dessert or pasta but nearby tables had both and we almost regretted our decision when spying their plates.

The worst thing about the restaurant the is its near-hidden location and lack of visibility by high-end hotels in the city. Our concierge and our taxi driver were wholly unfamiliar with it which meant a rather stressful number of turnarounds and late arrival. From the main road, just look out for the stand up roadside signs every 100m and trust the arrows more than your sense of direction.

Definitely a downtown gem that you should give a try next time in Bangkok.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bolognese also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Il Bolognese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bolognese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.